• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League

with saunders brothers harry and joseph signing to heywood, could heywood keep fred at the club. anybody got any news on what aaron barr is doing? i keep hearing his at heathmere then at heywood. is johnny bell staying at heywood cos the diamond valley league starts this weekend and no second clearance has been put through?

is bayden dodd going to be leaving the cats who have lost so much already?

what are portland and western boarder followers thinking about jamie cammaranno's decision to stay in adelaide after the good news on his shoulder?

is north and east gambier the teams to beat in 2008?

how did steve duldig go as a coach in the preseason cup?

how'd jon copping going at south?

i know too many questions, but keen for discussion

Gday horsey's mate. Don't know which darren kelly your talking about but believe me, The one i'm on about is an absolute gun and will be more than a handful for opposition players, let alone his missus! Expect big things from the imperials this year with porno running rampant!

Right on the money there yippa. Porno could do anything on the footy field and his time at parky was littered with highlights. And as a former amatuer boxing champ there were few that would dare to mess with him too....
Should slot in anywhere for the imperials, my guess is down back. Very, very handy pick up.

With all the above said how'd the tigers go today in the pre-season cup? Any stand-outs? Did they debut and recognizeable names? How'd their young-ones go?

How about the other teams? From what was displayed today, meet their own expecatations? Give a recap for folk that couldnt make it over? :D
It was a good day of footy and all clubs played some young kids portland went through the motions and tried a few different things don`t worry about them they will still be around the mark as Winnis was just having a play around with a few players, Imps will be very strong as they did not play a number of recriuts but put some kids in and Jason has them very fit, Casterton have a lot of kids playing I think they will be competitve for awhile then fall off, Hamilton hard to say looked as though they still might have some on field problems, Heywood Look as though they will push sides but lack of experience will cost them, North look OK but also may struggle in defence if what I have heard a couple of their older defenders have retired but they did move the ball well and Tyrrell seems to be smart coach listening to him talk, East we had a few senior players out but the young kids did a good job and I think we will be about the mark, South played nearly all the under18 and reserve players hardly any senior players so hard to tell with them but Mick Ryan did play, Millicent have a good bunch of young players and Steve Duldig has got them moving very well but i think they will be like Caterton struggle later in the year and West by the look of things played nearly their full strength side with the exception of Ellis they don`t look to bad but a couple of thier recruits look as though they have been visiting McDonalds a fair bit over the off season and one is a major recruit from Penola.

with saunders brothers harry and joseph signing to heywood, could heywood keep fred at the club. anybody got any news on what aaron barr is doing? i keep hearing his at heathmere then at heywood. is johnny bell staying at heywood cos the diamond valley league starts this weekend and no second clearance has been put through?

is bayden dodd going to be leaving the cats who have lost so much already?

what are portland and western boarder followers thinking about jamie cammaranno's decision to stay in adelaide after the good news on his shoulder?

is north and east gambier the teams to beat in 2008?

how did steve duldig go as a coach in the preseason cup?

how'd jon copping going at south?

i know too many questions, but keen for discussion

isnt it cammaranos choice to move on if he likes he put in two years for the club and from what have been told from current players is he wasnt on any more money than others players so it sounds as if he doesnt owe the club anything it would be pretty harsh if anyone had any bad feelings about him wanting to go home

settle down guido. you sound like your flying off the handle there mate. i wasnt saying his dogged the club at all. i was just asking what peoples thoughts were over the reason he left portland as assistant coach was because his shoulder and couldnt play this year and now his playing in adelaide because his shoulder isnt as bad as first thought.

i heard cammarano had a run in with his housmate. wasn't happy that he was getting beating at guitar hero all the time!!

sorry mate didnt mean to give the impression i was flying off the handle just trying to piece it together as to why he may have left and just thought surely people couldnt be upset that he did

Football nut (or others that were there), how did darrren "porno" kelly go in the elastoplast cup on the weekend?

darren was very good, he started at chf and looked a bit lost, he then moved to chb looked move comfortable and finally moved into the ruck and proceeded to smash the opposition, he becomes another onballer when the ball hits the ground and was strong in the air, probably still finding his feet, but watching you could tell he is a very very good player.

Will be very interesting how Portland go this season. Have lost a lot of quality players, but were a long way ahead of the pack last year. Where they finish may depend on how the young players go. Cammarano is the huge loss, would have backed the tigers in had he stayed. Winis will lead from the front and if he brings the young ones with him it could be very interesting.

What young ones do they have coming through excatly? and did they play at the preseason cup?

cameron mather is an exciting one saw him play some under 18s last year and he missed some games with injury but when he played he was very good he is tall and quick and backs himself just needs to put a bit of weight on also lucas atchison played a bit of senior footy last year and under 18s very hard worker and puts his body on the line all the time

ward, very good
neeson, solid showed he could play senior footy
keilar, didnt play
darroch, excellent probably the best player over 3 games.
I heard that Matty Dunn didnt play for Imps on the weekend. Where is he at ? Still in the best 18 ? Did either Ewing play ?

Who will play midfield given the loss of Dore and maybe Thomas ? Are Darroch or Neeson up to an on-ball spot ?

I heard that Matty Dunn didnt play for Imps on the weekend. Where is he at ? Still in the best 18 ? Did either Ewing play ?

Who will play midfield given the loss of Dore and maybe Thomas ? Are Darroch or Neeson up to an on-ball spot ?
only guessing Old Doggy, but mat dunn has been training and he would still be, in my reasoning still be in the best 18, coaching staff my see it differently.

no either wally or noah ewing played in elastoplast cup, either would you expect them too... imps are suppose to play learmonth in a p match at melville oval this weekend, i would imagine they would both play in that game, think muldoon will go with a near full strenght team.

dore has not left yet, i think they are trying to talk him into playing first couple of games, brad thomas has reassured the coaching staff that he will play.

looking at transfer list imps have picked up dustyn williamson fron nihill, he trained last year with the doggies but travelled back to nihill to play, seems like he has signed with the bulldogs, very classy mover and would slide into a midfield role with great easy i would imagine, he would more than cover the lose of dore if he does eventually go??????

darroch it seems would handle a role in the midfield,very clever in traffic, seems a lot fitter and hungrier than in the past couple of year, could be the team environment he is in. Neeson was used as a back man in elastoplst cup and seemed to provide plenty of run off half back, he will play senior footy, and could be a suprise packet.

these are just my thought Old Doggy, muldoon may see things differently, he does tend to think outside the square sometimes, he does some weird things sometimes. HOPE THIS KEEPS YOU IN TOUCH OLD DOGGY, LET ME KNOW IF YOU NEED TO KNOW ANYTHING ELSE.

cameron mather is an exciting one saw him play some under 18s last year and he missed some games with injury but when he played he was very good he is tall and quick and backs himself just needs to put a bit of weight on also lucas atchison played a bit of senior footy last year and under 18s very hard worker and puts his body on the line all the time
got to agree guido, portland do have some talented young players coming through, they may need a full year of senior footy to fully hit there straps, considering who they have to replace, jefferies, squires, cammarano, niemann and edwards, these are 5 of the best players in the comp last year, probably not fair on the young blokes to heap to much expectation on there shoulders, but thats the thing about young players you never really know what you are going to get............if anybody can get through to them it will be winis.

only guessing Old Doggy, but mat dunn has been training and he would still be, in my reasoning still be in the best 18, coaching staff my see it differently.

no either wally or noah ewing played in elastoplast cup, either would you expect them too... imps are suppose to play learmonth in a p match at melville oval this weekend, i would imagine they would both play in that game, think muldoon will go with a near full strenght team.

dore has not left yet, i think they are trying to talk him into playing first couple of games, brad thomas has reassured the coaching staff that he will play.

looking at transfer list imps have picked up dustyn williamson fron nihill, he trained last year with the doggies but travelled back to nihill to play, seems like he has signed with the bulldogs, very classy mover and would slide into a midfield role with great easy i would imagine, he would more than cover the lose of dore if he does eventually go??????

darroch it seems would handle a role in the midfield,very clever in traffic, seems a lot fitter and hungrier than in the past couple of year, could be the team environment he is in. Neeson was used as a back man in elastoplst cup and seemed to provide plenty of run off half back, he will play senior footy, and could be a suprise packet.

these are just my thought Old Doggy, muldoon may see things differently, he does tend to think outside the square sometimes, he does some weird things sometimes. HOPE THIS KEEPS YOU IN TOUCH OLD DOGGY, LET ME KNOW IF YOU NEED TO KNOW ANYTHING ELSE.
heard a whisper both will be at the Rams intra club practice match tonight........apparently if noah wants to return to imps he may have to fight the club......gave so little to a club that gave so much is the word from the committee!:eek:

let me know if they turn up!!!!!!!!!! i'm sure imps will fight!!! he has apparently signed a contract at imps, history suggests that tribunals tend to uphold binding contracts.

not sure their talking tribunals......he agreed apparently to a new deal with the Rams three weeks ago is what I heard only to apparently have changed his mind..........no clearance in yet and the club has said it will be in no hurry to help him out.
IMO I hope they forget about him.....he is past his best, mainly due to lack of committment and training, leading to soft tissue worries, especially hammys.....money would be better spent elsewhere1
A pity his attitude because he is/was a freaky talent at best!

will find out for you if they graced the dunkeld turf!........concrete!!!

not sure their talking tribunals......he agreed apparently to a new deal with the Rams three weeks ago is what I heard only to apparently have changed his mind..........no clearance in yet and the club has said it will be in no hurry to help him out.
IMO I hope they forget about him.....he is past his best, mainly due to lack of committment and training, leading to soft tissue worries, especially hammys.....money would be better spent elsewhere1
A pity his attitude because he is/was a freaky talent at best!

will find out for you if they graced the dunkeld turf!........concrete!!!
gday thebloods85, i didnt get to imps training, did the ewing boys turn up to the rams, if so how did they go in the inta club, how did all the other imps boys go,eg bubb,clark,macleod, rush,templeton etc....

Whats the word on McCaskill and Ward who are applying for transfers to Imps. Are they A graders. Coming from good leagues.