• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region FL - Divy 1 2018

Great article,

The comp has 8-10 health divvy 1 clubs. not in 20 years has this been the case. We had years where spotswood played off in 6 or so in a row either against colts or albion and you would have the bottom 4 sides getting flogged by 40+ goals. Finally the comp has levelled out and we are still complaining.

The facts is some clubs can generate lists by having a good junior program re hoppers, werribee, altona and top up. But Look at the Yarra Eagles in DIV 2 good junior system yet the seniors are no where near making an impression at Div 1.

Some clubs like Albion and DP have to spend as mentioned before there in an area where its hard to pool together juniors.

The concern for the league and really its probably got to do with a lot of factors but you have the sunshine/footscray area where theres to many clubs, Sunshine, sunshine heights, braybrook, north sunshine, DP, Albion, North footscray, west footscray all trying to get sponsorships and juniors in an area which is quite old. some of these clubs may struggle to survive over the next 5-10 years.

Good post buddy.

Do we think the merger of Yarraville/Seddon is a success? It’s an interesting one but as mentioned they have a good junior program, decent sponsors and some past players still involved at the club so it’s going reasonably well. Only negative is I thought they might be a stable div1 club by now..

So my point is leading to mergers! Yes clubs are still hanging in there but to survive longer term around the Footscray/ Sunshine area I think mergers are the way to go..Not easy to do but it must happen..

I would even go as far as suggest one day that Spotswood might consider merging with Yarraville/Seddon Eagles.. Not in the immediate future but if leagues were to merge that would surely be an option. Ok yes this sounds silly but who knows.
They wouldn’t merge with neighbor Newport and are rivals of Altona. Plus Altona are fine in that area..

Good post buddy.

Do we think the merger of Yarraville/Seddon is a success? It’s an interesting one but as mentioned they have a good junior program, decent sponsors and some past players still involved at the club so it’s going reasonably well. Only negative is I thought they might be a stable div1 club by now..

So my point is leading to mergers! Yes clubs are still hanging in there but to survive longer term around the Footscray/ Sunshine area I think mergers are the way to go..Not easy to do but it must happen..

I reckon Yarraville/Seddon are happy being a top 2 Div 2 side, spending what they can afford and winning games. I reckon if you asked all junior parents and players what division there senior side played in a large percentage wouldn't even know or care.

Agree with your comment about mergers, look at the U19s, 7 sides in 2018, kids aren't sticking with football and the pool of senior players available will shrink dramatically over the next 10 years. This will be the big issue facing clubs as current lists get older where do we get our players from. Average reserve Div 1 players can get $100+ playing Div 3, a half decent u19 player can get cash playing div 2 or 3 rather than bust a gut trying to get a div 1 game.

How is the under 19s only a seven team comp ? No yarraville , whydhamvale dp or st albans . Real worry for the future , I remember a 16-18 team comp in the mid 2000s

Good post buddy.

I would even go as far as suggest one day that Spotswood might consider merging with Yarraville/Seddon Eagles.. Not in the immediate future but if leagues were to merge that would surely be an option. Ok yes this sounds silly but who knows.
They wouldn’t merge with neighbor Newport and are rivals of Altona. Plus Altona are fine in that area..

I would say purely on how there junior system is its been a success. They are a stable Div 2 club and if they can keep there junior system healthy which by all reports is they could potentially come up and stay up a couple of years but IMO with 8 clubs fairly strong I cant see them jumping into the bracket. Unless they can get someone to tip some serious dollars in to compliment there junior program they Will always be that fringe div 1/ powerhouse div 2 which is still something to be happy with thats for sure. No need for them and spotswood to merge both clubs would lose there identity and neither club would gain anything really IMO

Agree clubs in the sunshine area would need to merge one day, its tough to say but the reality is clubs need to find a way to survive. the League will have to look to growth areas like tarneit, wyndham and point cook to see clubs develop which will take time.

Deer park have put a complaint into the wrfl in regards to points of players at other clubs. They believe some players should be a lot more than what they are and want league to investigate.

Lol Deer Park should be ashamed of themselves if thats the case. what a joke of a club, ive previously said who cares about deer park and money, for them to now sook about other clubs! they need to take a good hard look at themselves. I have had mates play at the club and win flags, they dont love the club, they did it for the money and they got paid well above what they would of anywhere else. great players but incentives and what paid was ridiculous, they dont look back on it like they love the club, previous clubs they hadnt even won flags at they call there club! Hope Deer Park get investigated harshly through money and lose points and premierships! Dogs.

If the points system was in place before deer park paid for flags, they would be well over the points and struggle.

True words. Cannot compare a club like Marby Park to Deer Park, pretty simple. However I personally don’t have anything against DP other than they pay overs and raid some clubs talent with these excessive payments. However I do admire the work of some people at that club to have turned it around and achieved success. Not sure if it’s sustainable though, but as they say “enjoy the moment”

Will Deer Park be around in 10years to celebrate reunions? I guess it depends if GA stays there however the Deer Park Club do throw in a bit as well.

Didn't afl vic set up a template that leagues follow to letter across Victoria? You would think the data base or system would update this information yearly ? The Minnows are narrowing the gap to the Millionaires maybe why the call was made

Yes, there's a calculator at http://aflvic.com.au/player-points-system/ and the policy is pretty clear on how it's calculated.

Clubs can apply for modifications based on :-
(a) The age of the player especially if the player is looking to play at a higher level
(b) The injury history of the player
(c) The recent playing history of the player
(d) The living, schooling and work arrangements of the player; or
(e) Any other relevant consideration.

If a players point total is recorded on their myfooty record, you'd think it could be included on selected teams sheets.

Yes, there's a calculator at http://aflvic.com.au/player-points-system/ and the policy is pretty clear on how it's calculated.

Clubs can apply for modifications based on :-
(a) The age of the player especially if the player is looking to play at a higher level
(b) The injury history of the player
(c) The recent playing history of the player
(d) The living, schooling and work arrangements of the player; or
(e) Any other relevant consideration.

If a players point total is recorded on their myfooty record, you'd think it could be included on selected teams sheets.

There is a calculator and I believe the points are listed on the Seniors team sheet, however, it is up to the club to load the points into the system once they have worked them out, not the AFL or WRFL

My understanding is that DP are appealing points allocated to about 3 recruits based on the premise if 'relocation'.

Will be interested in how that one goes.....

There is a calculator and I believe the points are listed on the Seniors team sheet, however, it is up to the club to load the points into the system once they have worked them out, not the AFL or WRFL
This is just a diversion from the Deer Park President. No one cared what they spent before the salary cap but now there are rules in place & they are simply cheating.
More importantly they have no respect for any other club OR the WRFL. $215,000 divided by 18 rounds = $11944 - they would have 12 players getting $1000 a game.

It’s pretty straight forward what DP are doing. The club pays all players within the salary cap and the bloke funding the club tops up those payments away from the club. So technically as the delusional president has stated the” club “ is actually paying within the cap.
The money man did the same at an EDFL club.
And as stated in recent posts there is no way the list they have fielded in the last 18 months is under the cap and the more DP people on here and the president in the paper carry on about being under the cap, the more idiotic they look.
One thing is for sure though, DP will be hoping to hell the mates of the players that have already been sharing the clubs payment meathods don’t start mouthing off to too many people.
Could be a long 5-10 years for the club otherwise.

It’s pretty straight forward what DP are doing. The club pays all players within the salary cap and the bloke funding the club tops up those payments away from the club. So technically as the delusional president has stated the” club “ is actually paying within the cap.
The money man did the same at an EDFL club.
And as stated in recent posts there is no way the list they have fielded in the last 18 months is under the cap and the more DP people on here and the president in the paper carry on about being under the cap, the more idiotic they look.
One thing is for sure though, DP will be hoping to hell the mates of the players that have already been sharing the clubs payment meathods don’t start mouthing off to too many people.
Could be a long 5-10 years for the club otherwise.
Too late for that Tom . Some of the “Money Man’s ” verbal offers have been ridiculous. Players these days talk .

Caro are taking the piss with the player points. Mellington 3? Jordan Doering 3? Give me a spell

Mellington is a 4, they are trying to put him up another mate.

They are also saying a guy was 3 games short at another club so he has to go to 4 instead of being 3 even though technically he was at the previous club for 2 years.

Also a development league player, who is young and a caroline junior who didnt even get a game at development league, deer park are trying to say he should be more points than is. Its pretty funny they are worried about Caroline though. Absolute flogs at deer park.

Doering would be a 3 at a guess. Mellington probably a 4

Yes that what I’m thinking. Where has Doering been playing since Strathmore? Surely Mellington is more than 3 at a guess but I’m not sure.

Seroiusly it’s a big document with to many ifs and butts.. No one should be more than 3 points unless they have
-played more than 5 AFL games. (5-6 points then I reckon)
-won a VFL B&F in the the past 3 years (4 points I reckon)
-transferring clubs in the same competition.
-extra points for regularly changing clubs is a good rule.

Players Over 30 years and been with previous club for more than 3 consecutive years and wish to move clubs should be 1 or 2 points max unless moving clubs in same competition. Make it 4 consecutive years before you can move clubs in the same competition without occurring points added if over 30.

How is the under 19s only a seven team comp ? No yarraville , whydhamvale dp or st albans . Real worry for the future , I remember a 16-18 team comp in the mid 2000s
All playing soccer or basketball. Soccer has huge support in the West, and not enough grounds to support them.
Perhaps Gillon McLachlan would like to spend a little money on developing the game in the Western Suburbs, instead employing 200 media consultants to gag the press on any negative stories. Football Victoria are about as useful as an ashtray on a motorcycle.

What
Mellington is a 4, they are trying to put him up another mate.

They are also saying a guy was 3 games short at another club so he has to go to 4 instead of being 3 even though technically he was at the previous club for 2 years.

Also a development league player, who is young and a caroline junior who didnt even get a game at development league, deer park are trying to say he should be more points than is. Its pretty funny they are worried about Caroline though. Absolute flogs at deer park.
What happened to Deer parks mantra of minding your own business and worry about your own clubs?

All playing soccer or basketball. Soccer has huge support in the West, and not enough grounds to support them.
Perhaps Gillon McLachlan would like to spend a little money on developing the game in the Western Suburbs, instead employing 200 media consultants to gag the press on any negative stories. Football Victoria are about as useful as an ashtray on a motorcycle.

Under 19s certainly a worry, but overall team numbers are up by 30 this season across the league, and only half of these relate to women / girls grades. Not all gloom and doom, but certainly a drop off with U17s and U19s.

Why dont they make it an u18 comp like they do in the country then and have an under 16 underneath that.