Scotland
Simpson
Sporn
Teague
Thornton
Waite
Whitnall
Walker

Now, who do you see voming in and going out of this team for round 1, 2007?

I think:

OUT
Deluca
French
Jackson
McGrath
Sporn
Teague

IN
Murphy
McLaren
Kennedy
Bentick
Stevens
Gibbs

Giving us a team of:

B: Carrazzo Thornton O'hAilpin

HB: Scotland Whitnall Bower

C: Simpson Bentick Gibbs

HF: Stevens Kennedy Lappin

F: Waite Fevola Betts

Ruck: McLaren Murphy Walker

Inter: Blackwell, Fisher, Wiggins, Koutoufides

Tough team to make, reckon that looks pretty good on paper.

Thoughts?

Looks reasonable on bark, though even though I wouldnt delist them this year, guys like Wiggins and Carrazzo would want to take their game to another plain next year to survive. Bentick needs to win considerably more ball out of the guts- made to look too slow this year because he didnt do it enough. Lappin too, has dropped off the AFL pace, and so one would imagine that he would retire or be chopped after next year (or possibly 2008) Would take McLaren out of first ruck- primarily an insurence player, and add a PSD ruckman.

Ideally (in a dream world with Goddard, I know)- Goddard in for Carrazzo, and Keating in for McLaren.

Other than that, its just about getting as much gametime into those kids.

Depends on PSD.

Can see Russell pushing for Lappins spot (although he didn't set the world on fire today). Jackson pushing Stevens and Bentick for a spot.
??Polak in PSD to take Whitnals spot at CHB, Whitnal to push forward and Skinny out?

Bluebear said:
Depends on PSD.

Can see Russell pushing for Lappins spot (although he didn't set the world on fire today). Jackson pushing Stevens and Bentick for a spot.
??Polak in PSD to take Whitnals spot at CHB, Whitnal to push forward and Skinny out?
Can't see Lappin being replacved by Lappin, and definetly don't see Stevens missing. Both guys, although had ordinary years, are both in our best 22. Not saying that Russel/Jackson can't work they're way into the 22, but there are other guys who will be left out.

On another note, do people think that Setanta will be able to be a secondary ruckman / defender. Because if not, I don't think its too smart to go in with one mediocre ruckman - and if we opt for a young ruckman in the draft rather than an experienced one, (also considering Setanta won't be used in the ruck) it could save Deluca or Bryan's careers until the young ruck matures.

lappin is our playmaker off half back along with scotland. he had a form slump in the middle of the year but was sent 2 the vfl and came back as strong as ever. lappin is in our top 10 players and we also need the experience in the side

Would definitely have Kouta in the starting 18.His last 4 weeks showed exactly how good he still is when he plays with mind freedom. Also would have Houlihan in the starting 18. He is highly skilled but needs to take note of Kouta's change in attitude and resultant performance lift.

Lappin physically can still play good footy, but mentally he could be gone. He came to Carlton to play finals and escape the basket case that was the Saints. Now we are the basket case:( Hopefully the improvement in the young blokes can fire him up again:) I can see Mcgrath still playing as we need a tagger and he has a real go. Wiggins and Teague are probably on their last legs. Someone needs to teach Deluca how to mark. Soft hands son..cushion the ball:D I know it will not be popular, but we probably need to develop either Waite or Kennedy as a centre half back. Going forward we don't need two centre half forwards and either would be a waste on a forward flank or in a pocket. Big Red had a great year after I thought he was gone as a player, but his lack of pace even with his footy smarts could still be liability in years to come with the way the game is developing. Wouldn't it be great if he had some of Setanta's athletic ability:) Oh well....

Jeremias said:
Giving us a team of:

HB: Scotland Whitnall Bower

C: Simpson Bentick Gibbs

Ruck: McLaren Murphy Walker

Inter: Blackwell, Fisher, Wiggins, Koutoufides

Tough team to make, reckon that looks pretty good on paper.

Ok, first of all i know as a collingwood supporter im more than likely going to get a bad response from anything that i write. But ill open by saying that im hating football at the moment because 2 of the greatest teams this sport has seen have not had epic battles against each other for far too long. When i say epic battles im talking about games that actually mean something in terms of the season. I for one cant wait until both teams are a force at the same time, and i cant wait until we get to meet on that last saturday in september, **** knows we are due to beat you sometime.

Ok, now that my introduction is out of the way, i have a few questions about your team above. When Murphy starts getting tagged next year (was already getting tagged in some games this year) who will be your main extractor? Ill agree that Scotland occasionally puts his head over the ball, and has had a really good year this year, but i wouldnt want to rely on him as my number 1 hard ball getter. From that list you seem to have 2 very outside midfielders in for centre bounces and players that i would consider to be accumulators (from all reports gibbs is a player who knows how to find the ball) out on the wings?

Ive been thinking pretty hard about from the limited time that i have watched carlton (when your in canberra you watch whatever football is on) and i think that your midfield is lacking a genuine extractor, and some genuine polish on the flanks.

So with that in mind i post a trade idea, with some theory behind it.

Collingwood have a few inside mids coming through now, have had an apprenticship with williamstown, and should be ready to step up into the senior team. Also, thinking from a carlton point of view, will pagan really go 100% on youth when his a$$ could be on the line at the end of the 07 season. Having picks 1 and 17 will get you the top line midfielder in Gibbs (personally id take a tall this year, some of those young KPPs are looking fantastic) but you should still be able to find a good KPP talant at 17 if thats the route that you want to take. Anyways i digress, point of that was to pass on the idea that Pagan might trade off their 2nd round pick (19) which is still a good pick in this draft, for something more stable and will add to the team instantly.

SO here is the trade that i present:

Licuria and Lonie for pick 19

An instant hard ball getter in the midfield, and a genuine winger with some of the best skills ive ever seen. Now naturally the first thing to think is, he is suggesting it therefore it must be favouring his team. But i honestly think it is a fair trade, and both players would enhance your team for 07

HB: Scotland Whitnall Walker

C: Lonie Licuria Gibbs

Ruck: McLaren Murphy Simpson

Inter: Blackwell, Fisher, Bentick, Koutoufides

I think thats a much better team on paper, and you are adding some much needed experience to a young line up, and players that will still offer years of service, lonie is 24 next year, and licuria is 29. So by the time that licuria hangs up the boots your 2 top midfield draft picks will have 3/4 seasons into them.

Hells K1tch3n said:
I think thats a much better team on paper, and you are adding some much needed experience to a young line up, and players that will still offer years of service, lonie is 24 next year, and licuria is 29. So by the time that licuria hangs up the boots your 2 top midfield draft picks will have 3/4 seasons into them.
Lonie won't be in anyone's midfield, or team, or list. Licuria is too old and not good enough for us. Just another B- midfielder. I'd rather have pick 19 than these two. Infact, I'd rather have pick 35 or 51 than these two.

I think it's likely that Gibbs (he seems to be the popular #1) will be pushed into the middle from round 1. He's been playing against big bodies in the SANFL. We'll still be a gun on-baller short, but we'll get there eventually.

Hells K1tch3n said:
Ok, first of all i know as a collingwood supporter im more than likely going to get a bad response from anything that i write. But ill open by saying that im hating football at the moment because 2 of the greatest teams this sport has seen have not had epic battles against each other for far too long. When i say epic battles im talking about games that actually mean something in terms of the season. I for one cant wait until both teams are a force at the same time, and i cant wait until we get to meet on that last saturday in september, **** knows we are due to beat you sometime.

Ok, now that my introduction is out of the way, i have a few questions about your team above. When Murphy starts getting tagged next year (was already getting tagged in some games this year) who will be your main extractor? Ill agree that Scotland occasionally puts his head over the ball, and has had a really good year this year, but i wouldnt want to rely on him as my number 1 hard ball getter. From that list you seem to have 2 very outside midfielders in for centre bounces and players that i would consider to be accumulators (from all reports gibbs is a player who knows how to find the ball) out on the wings?

Ive been thinking pretty hard about from the limited time that i have watched carlton (when your in canberra you watch whatever football is on) and i think that your midfield is lacking a genuine extractor, and some genuine polish on the flanks.

Collingwood have a few inside mids coming through now, have had an apprenticship with williamstown, and should be ready to step up into the senior team. Also, thinking from a carlton point of view, will pagan really go 100% on youth when his a$$ could be on the line at the end of the 07 season. Having picks 1 and 17 will get you the top line midfielder in Gibbs (personally id take a tall this year, some of those young KPPs are looking fantastic) but you should still be able to find a good KPP talant at 17 if thats the route that you want to take. Anyways i digress, point of that was to pass on the idea that Pagan might trade off their 2nd round pick (19) which is still a good pick in this draft, for something more stable and will add to the team instantly.

An instant hard ball getter in the midfield, and a genuine winger with some of the best skills ive ever seen. Now naturally the first thing to think is, he is suggesting it therefore it must be favouring his team. But i honestly think it is a fair trade, and both players would enhance your team for 07

Personally I think Koutoufides is still worth time in the middle and that he can still be a great clearance player next year. Would certainly value him far more than Licuria. The other thing to consider is that whilst Licuria can win the ball he doesn't damage you with his possessions and is not overly quick. We already have someone like him in Bentick who is hard, can win the ball but is not quick or damaging with his disposals. As for Lonie just don't rate him at all.

On another matter would Collingwood be interested in Stevens and if so what would they be prepared to offer?

whippersnipper said:
Looks reasonable on bark, though even though I wouldnt delist them this year, guys like Wiggins and Carrazzo would want to take their game to another plain next year to survive. Bentick needs to win considerably more ball out of the guts- made to look too slow this year because he didnt do it enough. Lappin too, has dropped off the AFL pace, and so one would imagine that he would retire or be chopped after next year (or possibly 2008) Would take McLaren out of first ruck- primarily an insurence player, and add a PSD ruckman.

Ideally (in a dream world with Goddard, I know)- Goddard in for Carrazzo, and Keating in for McLaren.

Other than that, its just about getting as much gametime into those kids.

I dont know what u got against Carrazzo mate, but he definately isnt a fringe player, automatic selection in a team that cant win a game.

Good to see a Pie realise that a strong Carlton is good for the AFL Hells K1tch3n:) Good to see mate.Too many Pies seem to enjoy us being down rather than Collingwood doing well. Very negative:D Personally I would rather beat Collingwood in a final rather than see them at the bottom of the heap. Much more satisfying:) Although any chance of that is a long way off. It has been awhile since both clubs have been flying at the same time:thumbsdown:

Hells K1tch3n said:

What about Licuria and Lonie for Pick 19 and Chris Bryan

Dale Didak #134 said:
What about Licuria and Lonie for Pick 19 and Chris Bryan

If noone was warming to the idea of Licuria and Lonie for pick 19, do you really think pick 19 and Bryan for Lonie and Licuria will we accepted? :rolleyes:

Not a hope in hell. Lonie is as soft as they come and is not wanted. Licuria is slow and too old for what we need. Pick 19 may get us a very good player in this draft. If you want something good, you have to usually give up good, so there is no way that trade will even be considered.

sharpy36 said:
carrazzo he is all class
If he can't improve his kicking, he'll be gone in two years. Can't mark overhead either.

If he could fix his set shots, I'd play him out of the goal square as a Mark Williams foil to Fev. He is unbeatable on a lead.

My "Dream" team for next year:

B: Carrazzo O'hAilpin Thornton

HB: Goddard Whitnall Lappin

C: Simpson Stevens Walker

HF: Fisher Kennedy Murphy

F: Houlihan Fevola Betts

Ruck: McLaren Scotland Gibbs

Inter: Blackwell, Koutoufides, Bower, Bentick

Aussie Joe said:

Unfortunately i cant see us getting Goddard.

Aussie Joe said:

what about Watie he has to be in the blues best 22

Hells K1tch3n said:

if murphy gets the best tag, it will ease things up on steven so 'in theory' we should see an improved stevens
stevens is not a hard ball get player but he is a much better players than his 2006 performance

walker and scotland should spend some more time in the midfield, especially if we get saddington fit or bower steps up

blackwell put his head over the ball and he will only improve

i suppose the player we really need to take the next step is bentick, he has been in the system for a while now and has shown glimpses of what he can offer.

if we draft gibbs we would hope he has an impact like murphy had this year

all these should give us a better midfield rotation and more options, so we are less reliant on a couple of players to carry us.

lonie is an outside player and we have plenty of them and licuria is getting on, he may be the tyoe of oklayer to chase if you were seriously challenging for finals

What changes to this team?