What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

I always got the sense that Tom Boyd only played the game because he could and that he didnt really have the want or the emotional attachment necessary to drive him to fulfil the promise that saw him become the highest rated kid in the land. Once he summited the mountain he only saw the pointless void it all on the other side and then he walked away.

I suspect that his contract was neither here nor there to him.

It was just a convenient means of getting himself out of a situation that wasn't of his choosing. One that had the serendipitous advantage of being the catalyst for what was the most important sporting moment of his life. I reckon that if he hadn't grabbed that opportunity and the stars hadn't aligned like they did in 2016, then from the wider football worlds perspective he'd be considered one of the biggest busts of all time. Fortunately, for all of us. History will record him as a recruiting masterstroke and a bulldogs immortal who was almost singularly responsible for the greatest month we have experienced as supporters.

The club was at rock bottom at the time the Tom Boyd deal was made.

We’d lost Griffen, then McCartney got the ass, and a bunch of other senior players had walked out and a bunch of others wanted out.

Not to mention another rubbish season in 2014.

All the supporters were rightly depressed and angry about the state of affairs.

What the club did with signing Boyd was ballsy but I absolutely commend them for it - they should be celebrated for doing it, not tsked tsked because the contract was so big.

It provided hope for supporters and turned a s**t situation (Griffen leaving) into one that could provide supporters with a bit of hope.

It also showed the competition that we weren’t going to be pushed around - GWS (the ****s that they are) were laughing themselves silly when Griffen announced he wanted out.

They thought they were getting a very good player and because he was so desperate to leave us, that they had the advantage and could screw us over in the trade.

Offering Boyd that contract shoved that right in their face, showed we wouldn’t be screwed around and demanded a fair trade.

Good on the club for having the balls to make the call. It may have been a huge contract to offer a 19 year old, but given the circumstances it was a shrewd move by the club.

Also, it plainly isn’t true to say that the 2016 GF was the only good game Tom Boyd played for us.

He was enormous in the prelim (rucked virtually all game by himself), contributed well in the other two finals, and also played some good home and away games.

If he’d had a bit more luck with injuries, and not had supporters and the likes of Caro and Barrett jumping on him if he had so much as a hair out of place, he would still be playing for us and more than likely playing very well.
It was important that the Club threw a punch back in amongst all the shit that was hitting the fan. For me signing Boyd was an important moment for the Club, not just because history proved it so, but right then and there it was a real line in the sand. As a fan it felt like PG stood up for us and said "hang on a minute, we've been kicked about for years, some of our own doing, by other clubs, but there is no ****ing way we're taking this shit from you campaigners." Set the tone for the relationship between the clubs and it was needed if we were ever going to break a drought.

It was important that the Club threw a punch back in amongst all the s*t that was hitting the fan. For me signing Boyd was an important moment for the Club, not just because history proved it so, but right then and there it was a real line in the sand. As a fan it felt like PG stood up for us and said "hang on a minute, we've been kicked about for years, some of our own doing, by other clubs, but there is no ****** way we're taking this s**t from you campaigners." Set the tone for the relationship between the clubs and it was needed if we were ever going to break a drought.
This.

Given Sheedy was involved with the Giants at the time, it was vital that we struck back. The old attitude that the smaller clubs were there to be used and abused by the bigger clubs (Sheedy was the poster boy for that) had to stop.

That was why it was soooo sweet to beat them in the 2016 PF, then to win the flag.

Hopefully, other clubs now understand that you come at us ''at your own risk''.

Hopefully, too, we are becoming a somewhat bigger club now. Perhaps the WO redevelopment is a step in that direction.

At
This.

Given Sheedy was involved with the Giants at the time, it was vital that we struck back. The old attitude that the smaller clubs were there to be used and abused by the bigger clubs (Sheedy was the poster boy for that) had to stop.

That was why it was soooo sweet to beat them in the 2016 PF, then to win the flag.

Hopefully, other clubs now understand that you come at us ''at your own risk''.

Hopefully, too, we are becoming a somewhat bigger club now. Perhaps the WO redevelopment is a step in that direction.
The cheer squad banner at that Preliminary Final was perfect and spoke volumes and with few words hit its mark and set the tone

Is it a stretch to say that without Toyd we wouldn't have won the flag?

As a few other posters have effectively said; We wouldn't have even made the GF without him.
I suspect there aren't too many players in history who were in the best 3 on the ground in a Prelim and a GF in the same year.

At

The cheer squad banner at that Preliminary Final was perfect and spoke volumes and with few words hit its mark and set the tone
Can you imagine the narrative if we’d lost that game? The amplification of the “tragic history” trope, the eternally not-quite-good-enough battlers from the western suburbs, the mockery of Tom Boyd leaving GWS to play for us, the stories of Ryan Griffen’s epic troubled journey to a GF (and probably a flag), the sneering of Sheedy, the triumphalism of the “lost Dogs”, etc etc etc.
It would have been unbearable.

Instead we were vindicated. Winners. A new breed, casting off our history and the weight of expectation and decades of just falling short.

It was one of the most important wins in our entire history. So glad I made the anxious trip up for it.

Thank you to all those Bullgods.

Can you imagine the narrative if we’d lost that game? The amplification of the “tragic history” trope, the eternally not-quite-good-enough battlers from the western suburbs, the mockery of Tom Boyd leaving GWS to play for us, the stories of Ryan Griffen’s epic troubled journey to a GF (and probably a flag), the sneering of Sheedy, the triumphalism of the “lost Dogs”, etc etc etc.

Instead we were vindicated. Winners. A new breed, casting off our history and the weight of expectation and decades of just falling short.

It was one of the most important wins in our entire history. So glad I made the anxious trip up for it.

It was the best, and the plastics still couldn't sell out their 24k shithole stadium, 20k attendance by memory, 80% were Bulldogs fans minimum.

We STUCK IT RIGHT UP 'EM!!!!

hqdefault.jpg

I still get emotional when I think about the final minute or so of the Prelim, and the last 15 mins or so of the GF, and the aftermath!
When that siren went on 1st October 2016, I've never wanted to hug so many total strangers in my life.

WE STUCK IT RIGHT UP 'EM!!!!!!!!!!!

Is it a stretch to say that without Toyd we wouldn't have won the flag?

I think without him our only option would have been to continue playing Campbell and Roughie, barring a KPF recruit the year after.

Toyd was not much of a contributor stats wise for most of his career with us, so in that situation we probably still take down the eagles and hawks. Hypothetically if Campbell gets the eye poke in the prelim and Roughie replaces Toyd, outcome probably the same?

But those 3 GF goals and the contested marks were absolute gold and we’re not getting that production on the day from a Campbell/Roughead setup.

It’s also possible Bev cracks it, drops BTC 2 games in to 2016, and Jong is our fwd/2nd ruck for the rest of the year.

Still an interesting what if because we didn’t get much from Boyd on the journey, but when it was all on the line he stood up like few could.

Yeah, but the hair! That was there every game!
(Also Tobias making position and ready to mount his steed!)

4331064829405fb2391582cc5e37446c

Edit: and then - even more hair!

d3c17ebff1a4b238a9367f33f94d1b26

We STUCK IT RIGHT UP 'EM!!!!

hqdefault.jpg

I still get emotional when I think about the final minute or so of the Prelim, and the last 15 mins or so of the GF, and the aftermath!
When that siren went on 1st October 2016, I've never wanted to hug so many total strangers in my life.

WE STUCK IT RIGHT UP 'EM!!!!!!!!!!!

The last 5 minutes of the PF were almost unbearable, weren't they?

I had never been in physical pain watching footy prior to that; I could barely hold it together. But as Tory took that greatest of Bulldog marks, I had never been in such bliss over footy.
The sheer relief - and elation - was like being taken off the rack and smacked with yippee beans! :p
Obviously still emotional...

When Picko kicked the sealer in the Granny, tears were welling in my eyes. Slightly embarrassed, I looked around to see if anyone had noticed. To my surprise, everyone around me was the same! So I just let it all out, like everyone else!

Still do occasionally.

Like right now :$

almost singularly responsible for the greatest month we have experienced as supporters.

Singularly responsible? He wasn't even best on ground in the best game of his career. We had many heroes in that finals series, Tom is just one of many. Picken's final series as a whole was the best of any of our players. Clay Smith's prelim was the best single performance. Tory Dickson had an amazing finals series as well.

Shane Biggs. Never forget. :D

The last 5 minutes of the PF were almost unbearable, weren't they?

I had never been in physical pain watching footy prior to that; I could barely hold it together. But as Tory took that greatest of Bulldog marks, I had never been in such bliss over footy.
The sheer relief - and elation - was like being taken off the rack and smacked with yippee beans! :p
Obviously still emotional...

When Picko kicked the sealer in the Granny, tears were welling in my eyes. Slightly embarrassed, I looked around to see if anyone had noticed. To my surprise, everyone around me was the same! So I just let it all out, like everyone else!

Still do occasionally.

Like right now :$
That preliminary final was so intense. My other half always has his radio so always knows how much longer we have, except that game, and no one around us had it either, the sheer agony of not knowing how much longer…and then the sweet sound of the siren. I still get emotional too.

I wasn’t there, thought of myself as a jinx 😞, but I watch the PF from time to time and always well up with 2 mins to go. Like everyone else I know every bit of play 🙂. I couldn’t believe we’d actually done it!

Some top notch work at Fox footy-
Luke Beveridge has made his own bold moves, dumping Baku Khamis, Mitch Hannan and Rory McComb as Alex Keath and Adam Treloar return and father-son prodigy Sam Darcy makes his debut.

As a few other posters have effectively said; We wouldn't have even made the GF without him.
I suspect there aren't too many players in history who were in the best 3 on the ground in a Prelim and a GF in the same year.
Absolutely spot on.

I was at both games and without Tom Boyd we wouldn't have won either game.

A very short lived career but one all Doggies supporters should look back on and be grateful the club had the pills to make such a bold move when they did.

Tom Boyd, forever a Bulldog legend.

...You can have an opinion on a trade and put it out there but that f***k made it his mission to hound Boyd out of the game. For 3 years he never let up. The club privately requested that the media pull back because Boyd was struggling and they went harder and that was led by YOUR mate Barrett 'extracting a story'!! What a load of sh1t. Barrett became a cheerleader for hounding Boyd and some of his impressionable scumbag co-workers followed his lead....
You can have an opinion on a trade and put it out there but that fine figure.of.a.man.who.plays.by.the.book made it his mission to pursue the selfless quest for Truth, Justice and the AFL way, unflinching in his quest to clear the path for talents like Tom Boyd to prosper in the Game, determined to pierce the curtains of deception and self interest of Club Presidents and Coaches. For 3 years he probed, questioned, researched, tested the pronoucements of the Boyd Subjugators / Psychological Torturers. The Club privately went to his employers and threatened violence against him because Bev was struggling and they went hard against our crusader who persevered, despite himself falling prey to the raw, violence of the Coach. That led to revelations to the Bulldog Family, the most stalwart of whom now cower in fear of the Club bullyboys. Our crusader became a cheerleader for the oppressed, quiet majority who, inspired, now speak out

Four score and eleven year from our admission to VFL/AFL our forebears brought forth, upon this competition, a second Premiership, conceived in liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all players must earn their spots….

You can have an opinion on a trade and put it out there but that fine figure.of.a.man.who.plays.by.the.book made it his mission to pursue the selfless quest for Truth, Justice and the AFL way, unflinching in his quest to clear the path for talents like Tom Boyd to prosper in the Game, determined to pierce the curtains of deception and self interest of Club Presidents and Coaches. For 3 years he probed, questioned, researched, tested the pronoucements of the Boyd Subjugators / Psychological Torturers. The Club privately went to his employers and threatened violence against him because Bev was struggling and they went hard against our crusader who persevered, despite himself falling prey to the raw, violence of the Coach. That led to revelations to the Bulldog Family, the most stalwart of whom now cower in fear of the Club bullyboys. Our crusader became a cheerleader for the oppressed, quiet majority who, inspired, now speak out

Four score and one year from our admission to VFL/AFL our forebears brought forth, upon this competition, a second Premiership, conceived in liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all players must earn their spots….

Four score and one years from 1925 is 2006. D. Mitchell outed as a secret West Coast Eagles fan?

Also, my impression is that Barrett is what Tobias Fünke would refer to as a "country-music loving lady"…

Four score and one years from 1925 is 2006. D. Mitchell outed as a secret West Coast Eagles fan?
Oops, four score and 11. If I'd been any good at maths, I'd have been an engineer. I don't think the crusader is into Country music, either.

Whenever I'm having a bad, bad day, I go back and watch the PF/GF highlights, instantly makes me feel better about life.

What a set of games.

What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4