Bolton,Clippers,Falcons,Mariners
The current schedule is :
Popes funeral to finish at 7.30pm
Our House to finish at 8.30pm
AFL starts at 8.30pm

However, if the popes funeral goes over, everything gets shoved back accordingly.

Of course, Nine cannot scrap Our House as its the show the whole of Australia's talking about, so if the service goes on and on the Nine coverage could conceivably start after the Fox Footy coverage.

What time do you think we will see the actual bounce of the ball ?

There are so many bad taste jokes begging to be made here about the funeral going over time on Channel Nine (or 7, or 10 for that matter). I won't start for fear of being responsible for the thread being deleted ;)

Seriously - when was the last time a commercial channel even bothered to keep to their published schedule?

BrisGirl said:
In Queensland......around 1am

We got a ripper pommy night in!

First it's Bum sniffing between 8:30- 11:00

Next up is the Royal Wedding - Charles and Camilla between 11:00- 1:00

So grab yourself a spot of di*k and stay tuned with Channel 9, your home of AFL football. :rolleyes:

ps. I thought only Channel 10 aired football on a Saturday?

Daytripper said:
The current schedule is :
Popes funeral to finish at 7.30pm
Our House to finish at 8.30pm
AFL starts at 8.30pm

However, if the popes funeral goes over, everything gets shoved back accordingly.

Of course, Nine cannot scrap Our House as its the show the whole of Australia's talking about, so if the service goes on and on the Nine coverage could conceivably start after the Fox Footy coverage.

What time do you think we will see the actual bounce of the ball ?

There is no way the Pope's funeral is going to be be finished by 7.30pm.

It is not even slated to start till 6.00pm Melbourne time and if it is a full catholic service (which you would expect it is) then it is somewhere around the 3 hour mark.

That is 9.00pm even before the "Our House" cr*p is supposed to air.

Did you see Eddie last night talking about it? He knows that it will be at 10.00pm before we see the footy but was trotting out the line it will be sometime close to 8.30pm we will see it.

Due to the weather, may walk down to the MCG to watch the game live.

DST
:)

DST said:
There is no way the Pope's funeral is going to be be finished by 7.30pm.

It is not even slated to start till 6.00pm Melbourne time and if it is a full catholic service (which you would expect it is) then it is somewhere around the 3 hour mark.

That is 9.00pm even before the "Our House" cr*p is supposed to air.

Did you see Eddie last night talking about it? He knows that it will be at 10.00pm before we see the footy but was trotting out the line it will be sometime close to 8.30pm we will see it.

Due to the weather, may walk down to the MCG to watch the game live.

DST
:)

I would hate to be a Ch 9 switchboard operator tonight.

piefan said:
One can only hope people here do not bag Ed.

It is not his decision to delay the footy after the lifestyle show.

True, its not his decision but he was the one that declared that Nine was the home of football and that we would all be worse off under 7 and 10.

You live by the sword, you die by the sword.

piefan said:

And yet, he is the mouthpiece who tells us that Nine is "the home of AFL" and how awful it would be for the AFL if Nine lost the rights.

Sword. Two edges.

Edited after seeing daytripper's post: Great Minds. :D

It's been confirmed that 'Our Place' won't be screening tonight. Nine have decided not to risk lower ratings for the new program. It will now screen next week, Friday 7:30pm. The studio audience that had been selected for tonight's episode won't be required, and this means that they won't have to sit through the entire funeral of the Pope, waiting for the show to begin recording.
With the footy, they are still unsure of the exact starting time on TV, but I would think around 9:00.
The BBC have scheduled the funeral for 3 hours and 20 minutes, and if Nine start at 5:30pm, assume it goes for 3 and a half, then footy should start at 9:00pm. Either way, we'll see the game, albeit late.

CC.TV>>>

piefan said:

He has to stop sticking up for Channel 9. Kerry Packer is f***head, plain and simple. Channel 9 are bad for footy and completely disasterous in the northern states. Eddie won't even say "Geez some of the boys at Channel 9 have to get their act together".

insainiac63 said:
It's been confirmed that 'Our Place' won't be screening tonight. Nine have decided not to risk lower ratings for the new program. It will now screen next week, Friday 7:30pm. The studio audience that had been selected for tonight's episode won't be required, and this means that they won't have to sit through the entire funeral of the Pope, waiting for the show to begin recording.
With the footy, they are still unsure of the exact starting time on TV, but I would think around 9:00.
The BBC have scheduled the funeral for 3 hours and 20 minutes, and if Nine start at 5:30pm, assume it goes for 3 and a half, then footy should start at 9:00pm. Either way, we'll see the game, albeit late.

CC.TV>>>

A very sensible decision. I have been bagging them so must say congratulations are in order.

Daytripper said:
A very sensible decision. I have been bagging them so must say congratulations are in order.
I hate to sound churlish but I don't think they had a choice. And it had at least as much to do with protecting their new trash program, as it had to do with a desire to do the right thing by the football.

I don't reckon we will even see the footy...

Might be a terriost attack, or the might drop the coffin or something.

I might chuck on Rex tonight and listen.

if the game was on a sports channel such as Fox Footy, Fox Sports 1 or Fox Sports 2, the game would be shown as scheduled. It's ridiculous that a wedding, funeral, September 11, whatever can interfere with a sports broadcast.

We have news channels.

We have sports channels.

And we have free to air that try to be a jack of all trades.

When will the footy on 9 start tonight