Where are they now (delistings / retirements since 2005)

Liam Shiels Returns to North Melbourne as National Talent Scout​

Former AFL player Liam Shiels has re-joined the North Melbourne Football Club as a national talent scout. Shiels began his role with the club’s recruiting team at the start of November, following his retirement from a 288-game AFL career in August.
At 33 years old, Shiels brings a wealth of experience to the position. He is a three-time premiership player with Hawthorn, where he played 255 games over 14 seasons. In 2023, he reunited with longtime coach Alastair Clarkson at North Melbourne during the pre-season supplemental selection period. Over two seasons at Arden Street, Shiels added 33 games to his career tally, providing leadership to the team’s emerging midfield.

During his time as a player at North Melbourne, Shiels also gained experience in recruitment. He participated in internal meetings and engaged in talent scouting on weekends alongside his AFL commitments.
“Liam is well placed to make an immediate impact in this role with his knowledge of football and our list, combined with two years of work experience in our recruiting team,” said North Melbourne’s head of football talent, Brady Rawlings. “We have no doubt Liam will approach this role in the same way he did his playing career—with full effort and a commitment to making our club better.”
Shiels will join the club’s team at the 2024 AFL Draft this week.

Ayres returns home to Hawthorn​

Five-time premiership player and former Hawthorn Captain Gary Ayres has returned to the brown and gold.

The dual Norm Smith Medallist was recently appointed to a new role in the club’s administration department, helping promote fundraising efforts for the Kennedy Community Centre as Capital Campaign Executive.
Ayres will work closely alongside former premiership teammate and fellow Hawthorn Hall of Famer, Rodney ‘Rocket’ Eade, who started his role as Capital Campaign Executive earlier this year.
Playing 269 games for the Hawks across 16 seasons, Ayres is among the most revered former figures within club’s four walls, with a Peter Crimmins Medal (1986) included in his long list of achievements in, along with being named in Hawthorn’s Team of the Century.
Ayres was also inducted into Australian Football Hall of Fame in 1999.

Ayres returns home to Hawthorn​

The dual Norm Smith Medallist was recently appointed to a new role in the club’s administration department, helping promote fundraising efforts for the Kennedy Community Centre as Capital Campaign Executive.
Ayres will work closely alongside former premiership teammate and fellow Hawthorn Hall of Famer, Rodney ‘Rocket’ Eade, who started his role as Capital Campaign Executive earlier this year.
Playing 269 games for the Hawks across 16 seasons, Ayres is among the most revered former figures within club’s four walls, with a Peter Crimmins Medal (1986) included in his long list of achievements in, along with being named in Hawthorn’s Team of the Century.
Ayres was also inducted into Australian Football Hall of Fame in 1999.
So now Eade and Ayres are trying to get money in to pay for the KCC.

Is this going to cost a lot more than the club can afford?

So now Eade and Ayres are trying to get money in to pay for the KCC.

Is this going to cost a lot more than the club can afford?

The club emailed its annual report today and it reads fairly well despite costing the club a lot so far. I don’t profess to know a hell of a lot tho I’m just reading numbers 😂

Yes

The club is stupid. :rolleyes:
If the development will be completed within the club’s current financial capabilities…. why drag two ex-players back to the club for what appears to be a specific fundraising role?

Why have they been appointed to raise further funds?

Seems odd.

If the development will be completed within the club’s current financial capabilities…. why drag two ex-players back to the club for what appears to be a specific fundraising role?

Seems odd.
There are multiple phases to the development of the whole area. We have enough money for the first phase, we need more money for our other plans.

Seems odd.
What’s the alternative ?

Sit on our hands ?

I’d be very disappointed in the club & board if we were reactive rather than proactive

Kyle Hartigan was an assistant coach at Werribee this year where they won the VFL premiership

Assistant coach and former Werribee player Kyle Hartigan presented Banch with his guernsey on debut, commending the small forward’s perseverance. "You've done it the hard way, but ever since you’ve come to the footy club, your intensity has been top-notch, your skills too," Hartigan said. "We've been waiting for you to be ready to go all year." Banch responded with an impressive two-goal debut, solidifying his place in the side to play every game for the remainder of the year.

Judging by the Carlton pre-season thread, both Easy and DGB are training with Carlton at the moment.

DGB is, as all reporting suggested, training for a SSP spot, while it seems Philips is only as a top-up VFL player for the moment.

Judging by the Carlton pre-season thread, both Easy and DGB are training with Carlton at the moment.

DGB is, as all reporting suggested, training for a SSP spot, while it seems Philips is only as a top-up VFL player for the moment.
I wonder how many pages DGB will generate at the Blues BF forum if he gets drafted 😂

Ethan Phillips - Carlton VFL

VFL: Ethan Phillips links with VFL Blues after being delisted by Hawthorn

Cut by Hawthorn after one AFL game, key defender Ethan Phillips is eyeing an opening at Carlton, where he’s signed for the VFL team and hopes to get an SSP training call-up.

@paulamy375

December 3, 2024 - 5:47PM

He was delisted at the age of 25 after one game for Hawthorn, but Ethan Phillips believes his AFL career is only getting started, not finished.

“I do think my best football is to come,’’ the key defender said.

“I loved my experience at the Hawks and I’m certainly better for it. I wish it was for longer but now I’ve got to go again.’’

It will be with Carlton’s VFL squad, with an eye on being called up to trial for an SSP rookie-listing.

With two places up for grabs, the Blues are putting their 2024 VFL best and fairest Liam McMahon, Denver Grainger-Barras, Sam Durdin, Matt Carroll and Will White through their paces.

It was through this year’s SSP that Phillips gained his chance with Hawthorn.

The 2022 winner of the VFL’s Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal, the 196cm right-footer nicknamed “Easy’’ was signed in mid-February after James Blanck was put on the long-term injury list.

Phillips had been training at Box Hill Hawks after transferring from Port Melbourne.

Ethan Phillips played well in his only game for Hawthorn.

Given a debut against Port Adelaide at the Adelaide Oval, he looked unhurried and at home, collecting 10 disposals, eight intercept possessions and three marks.

The Hawks said on their socials that he had played a “cracking’’ first game.

“The feedback from all the coaches was that I played really well,’’ Phillips said.

“I got a really good rating. I think I showed I was more than capable at the level. But James Sicily was coming back from his shoulder (injury) and you can’t keep the captain out, can you mate?’’

Phillips played 14 VFL games for Box Hill Hawks, missing a few with a minor keen injury.

He was named in the 40-player squad for the VFL team of the year.

But after the season, as trade talk emerged around Hawthorn luring Josh Battle and Tom Barrass, Phillips knew his time as a Hawk was up.

“I think Hawthorn were impressed with my commitment to my football and their program. But it shows how brutal the industry can be. You bring in Tom Barrass and Josh Battle and suddenly you’re forced out,’’ he said.

“Mark McKenzie (list manager) was pretty open that my fate depended on whether or not they got Tom Barrass. So my manager and I were pretty proactive around trying to find a club for next year. We had a little bit of interest from a few clubs and had a few meetings. Unfortunately I couldn’t get myself on a list straight away but I’m pretty excited about the prospects at Carlton. I think there’s a need for key defenders and I think I can be a good fit.’’

Phillips ripened into a leading VFL defender as he combined football with his work in logistics.

Ethan Phillips takes a kick for Port Melbourne, where he won the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal in 2022. Photo: Morgan Hancock/AFL Photos

He said his football improved in a full-time environment as he gained physical strength and smarts.

But he said he had yet to do a full AFL pre-season.

“I reckon you gain the most ground in a pre-season … if I got to do one, I’d make huge leaps and bounds,’’ he said.

“Where I’m at now, I feel I’ve got so much growth and development in front of me. Hopefully I can get that opportunity to show it. I’ve got a bit to offer Carlton. I’m going compete and get my job done and the team first really.’’

Two other delisted former AFL players have landed at the Blues, Cooper Hamilton from GWS and Francis Evans from Port Adelaide.

Carlton has also landed well-regarded Calder Cannons graduate Nash King, who last month was described by AFL draft ambassador Kevin Sheehan as a midfielder with “exceptional’’ speed. He used it to “great effect to burst from stoppages and open up the game’’.

King averaged 24 disposals in his 11 matches for the Cannons this year and had three games for Vic Metro at the national Under 18 championships.

Mitch Lloyd (GWV Rebels) and Zac Harding (Murray Bushrangers), both of whom were also overlooked in the draft, are training with the Blues.

Congratulations Chad Wingard -

AFL WAG drops jaws with ‘not expected’ wedding dress twist

The wife of a recently retired football star has dropped jaws with photos of the adorable couple’s special day emerging.

2 min read

December 4, 2024 - 11:57AM

AFL: Sydney Swans coach Dean Cox was questioned on Chad Warner following whispers of a possible move to Western Australia.

Chad Wingard and wife Lilly have wowed fans with a series of photos from their wedding day.

The former Hawthorn star and Lilly — who appears to have taken the footballer’s last name — tied the knot on Sunday.

Wingard, who began his AFL career with Port Adelaide, shared the happy news with followers on Tuesday with an Instagram post captioned: “Mr & Mrs Wingard ~ 01.12.24.”

The photos shared showed the couple had a relatively small wedding — but they put on a show with their flashy threads.

The 30-year-old appeared perfectly on trend with his beige ensemble, but he was overshadowed by Lily, who dropped the jaws of plenty of Instagram users.

Lily, whose maiden name is Lloyd, showed off her daring white mini dress as she and Wingard posed for the camera.

Her look broke with the traditional veil and full-length gown, but the twist appeared to have the approval of those that have scrolled through the photos shared.

The former footballer’s ensemble also caught the eye — and he appeared happy with the attention when sharing a photo of him and his bride appearing in The Herald Sun newspaper.

The photo in the newspaper was headlined: “Major wow factor for AFL bride’s mini dress”.

Seems odd.
My understanding is stage 1 is fully funded with the club paying about 70Million (35 of which has been paid already if you judge the financial statements of used and remaining funds) and the rest from kingston, victoria and federal government.

The club is trying to raise a further 5Million for equipment in the new facilities.

The beyond that we have stage 2 (taken from Annual report)

"Stage 2 of the project remains a key priority for the Club to further activate community use and
includes a Hi-Ball Facility, Allied Health offering, community cafe and second entrance off Tootal Rd."

HAWTHORN

Josh Bennetts: Collingwood VFL/Rowville

The small forward was delisted at the end of the season without playing an AFL game and now will play for the Pies.

Denver Grainger-Barras: Carlton SSP

Aiming to lock away a place at Carlton after being let go by the Hawks.

Cooper Stephens: East Perth WAFL

The 23-year-old from Colac has made the move west after stints with Geelong (seven games) and Hawthorn (zero).

Jack O’Sullivan: No club confirmed

Played 13 VFL games with Box Hill this season but never earned a senior call up.

Ethan Phillips: Carlton VFL

Played one game for the Hawks before being delisted after being recruited from Port Melbourne.

Clay Tucker: No club confirmed

The young ruck never played a senior game after being picked up in the 2023 mid-season draft.

Chad Wingard: No club confirmed

Retired at the end of the 2024 season and has landed a job with the AFL.

Other Ex-Players who moved to other clubs:

Emerson Jeka: Altona, WFNL

Returns to his home club Altona next season after one season at the Cats. He played seven games for Hawthorn from 2020 to 2023.

Liam Shiels: South Croydon, Eastern league

Following his retirement, he’s returned to the Eastern League. He also is North’s national talent scout.

Where are they now (delistings / retirements since 2005)