White elephants

It's been redeveloped now, obviously, but to get some idea of the state of disrepair Waverley Park fell into post-1999:

I hope this bloke nicked some signs or something. I'm all for keeping it as you found it, but when there's an expiration date, you should pillage what you can. It'd be a claim if you managed to saw off some of those wooden benches, chucked them in a ute, and put them in your backyard. My old man had the idea of doing this when they were selling some MCG seats.

The bolded is probably the most ridiculous part about hosting the Olympics, so many niche sports need new facilities to be built for the games, and then have very little purpose afterwards.

The swimming and athletics facilities are similar due to the scale of the stadiums, but at least there's a little more scope with what you can do with them afterwards (as Beijing have done), or in the case of the Melbourne Commonwealth games, slip them into existing buildings like the MCG and Rod Laver Arena.
I think they built this gym at Glenferrie Oval and it totally destroyed the look of the ground. They cut one stand in half and took away the imposing status of the Michael Tuck Stand with this rickety old box for the Comm Games (lol) weightlifting. I reckon they should open up the back of Glenferrie and make it a massive park. Just have the two old stands and get rid of the concrete behind that end entirely, open it all up and have park space. It'd be a beaut of an area if so.

If Manuka overtook Bellerive and I was Tasmanian I'd be pretty annoyed- ACT doesn't even have a first class team.
I don't know much about cricket but I'd be staggered if they went Manuka. That place looks like it doesn't even have concourses. It's just a big country ground. Charming, sure, it doesn't need to be anything else, but for the regularly used grounds it's at the bottom. The WACA might be crumbling but I'd imagine it's heaps better in terms of facilities.

LOL at Bellerive or Manuka "overtaking" the WACA.

WA has approximately three times the collective population of Tasmania and the ACT. There is no way CA will push to squeeze out WA, particularly when we are the only state that offers daytime test cricket during the evening on the Eastern seaboard.

Other than a scare tactic the only reason WA doesn't have a test in 2014/15 is there will only be four. Someone has to miss out, and it's not going to be Melbourne or Sydney, so it's down to Perth, Adelaide and Brisbane. You have the 40,000 seat Gabba, the new and improved 50,000 seat Adelaide Oval and the 20,000 seat WACA. Bit of a no-brainer really.

If there was a 5 test series, we'd have one. If there was a 4 and a 2 or two 3 test series, we'd have one as would Tasmania. If we had a tour featuring Bangladesh or Zimbabwe or a non-test nation playing Australia A then Manuka, Cairns, Darwin would be in the mix.

LOL at Bellerive or Manuka "overtaking" the WACA.

WA has approximately three times the collective population of Tasmania and the ACT. There is no way CA will push to squeeze out WA, particularly when we are the only state that offers daytime test cricket during the evening on the Eastern seaboard.

Other than a scare tactic the only reason WA doesn't have a test in 2014/15 is there will only be four. Someone has to miss out, and it's not going to be Melbourne or Sydney, so it's down to Perth, Adelaide and Brisbane. You have the 40,000 seat Gabba, the new and improved 50,000 seat Adelaide Oval and the 20,000 seat WACA. Bit of a no-brainer really.

If there was a 5 test series, we'd have one. If there was a 4 and a 2 or two 3 test series, we'd have one as would Tasmania. If we had a tour featuring Bangladesh or Zimbabwe or a non-test nation playing Australia A then Manuka, Cairns, Darwin would be in the mix.
This. Manuka/Bellerive also don't have the history of the WACA so they're unlikely to ever usurp it as a regular test ground.

I'll tell you what deserves to be one – Challenge Stadium. What a relic. They hold one or two concerts there a year and that's due to the fact Perth's got nowhere between places like the Fly By and Perth Arena. You're either outdoors at the Belvoir or Freo Arts Centre, sitting down at the Astor, or limited potential capacity at Metro City or whatever it is now.

Challenge is such a shithole. I remember going there as a kid for a school trip, checking out the WAIS, and thinking the shitty little canteens made it feel worse than suburban leisure centres and that the rest of it was like something you'd see Yugoslavia's olympic team training in. The rest of that UWA Sports Park is useless too. Curtin has a much newer hockey arena and the surrounding areas where the Eagles run their time trials and the Glory train is saaaaaaaaad.

PC95%20Adelaide%20South%20Australia.jpg

That Harbour Town in Docklands is a waste of space too

I'll tell you what deserves to be one – Challenge Stadium. What a relic. They hold one or two concerts there a year and that's due to the fact Perth's got nowhere between places like the Fly By and Perth Arena. You're either outdoors at the Belvoir or Freo Arts Centre, sitting down at the Astor, or limited potential capacity at Metro City or whatever it is now.

Challenge is such a shithole. I remember going there as a kid for a school trip, checking out the WAIS, and thinking the shitty little canteens made it feel worse than suburban leisure centres and that the rest of it was like something you'd see Yugoslavia's olympic team training in. The rest of that UWA Sports Park is useless too. Curtin has a much newer hockey arena and the surrounding areas where the Eagles run their time trials and the Glory train is saaaaaaaaad.

Its crazy how much land is wasted here, cos its worth bazillions of dollars

Saw this on the net, it's apparently the biggest hotel in the world - only thing is, it's never actually had any guests...

It's located on Germany's coastline to the Baltic Sea. Building started just before WWII and Hitler obviously shifted his efforts towards the war effort. Since then, it's housed soldiers, vandals, squatters and more soldiers.

Here's the link:
http://www.amusingplanet.com/2013/01/the-10000-bedroom-nazi-hotel-that-was.html

Dubai

Such a strange city. Has the same population as Brisbane, but multiple cities with the skyline of New York. Literally whole cities just appear out of the haze. Most of the buildings are empty and the streets are bare.

In saying that, I love the place. Was seriously thinking about going to live there for a while.

destinations-dubai-buildings-hero.jpg

Not sure if wannabe journalists got their idea for an article from this thread of the same place OP got the idea from. Timing seems coincidental for the article that went up on the front page of news.com.au 2 hours ago.
The Guardian ran something on the Athens venues today too

White elephants