• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Who are the big recruits in Country Footy

FOOTYBOSS said:
Who would you classify as a gun recruit then??

The biggen for last season would of had to of been Julian Field for Redan. Will be interesting to see how much more artillery they can grab for season 2007

footyn_beer said:
The biggen for last season would of had to of been Julian Field for Redan. Will be interesting to see how much more artillery they can grab for season 2007

Field is a ripper, pretty sure he was rested at about the 18 minute mark of each term in the GF, still got over 40 touches and a deserved BOG medallion. Is he any chance of returning to the Roosters now a coaching change is certain?

Whispers said:
Apparently St. Marys in the GFL maybe getting Jeremy Humm (West Coast/Richmond)...

i know that hum put in for the coaching job at maryborough in the bendigo league. think they went for a non playing coach, not sure bout that but if they did it shows there intelligence at the borough.

Wayne Weideman said:
i know that hum put in for the coaching job at maryborough in the bendigo league. think they went for a non playing coach, not sure bout that but if they did it shows there intelligence at the borough.

Not sure if Humm put in for it but Steve Thomson has retained the job he has had for a few years at the Borough. Hum is only 24 and no certainty to be a good coach!

my mail is mal michael is very close to signing at nilma darnem in the ellinbank league based around warrigul in gippsland.
nilma have been crap the last few years and their new prez is a millionare and wants the club to win games and has opened up the cheque book.
they've signed jamie cann from springy as asst.coach, openlander from swan hill way plus a couple more from up that way and a few other vfl players and their recruiting is far from finished.

ablett said:
my mail is mal michael is very close to signing at nilma darnem in the ellinbank league based around warrigul in gippsland.
nilma have been crap the last few years and their new prez is a millionare and wants the club to win games and has opened up the cheque book.
they've signed jamie cann from springy as asst.coach, openlander from swan hill way plus a couple more from up that way and a few other vfl players and their recruiting is far from finished.

They must have some coin if they have signed Oppenlander and Cann. Two very money hungry man. Opper is probably worth good coin, but wouldn't pay Cann a cent

ablett said:

Your mail, ablett is close.

I play at the club and Canny will be a welcomed aquisition as Assistant coach under former Scorpions assisant coach Brad Sinclair. Brad was also a developement coach for the Saints.

As of last night (Mon 31-10) there was no word on Openlander as Brad was still interviewing him.

Unfortunately, you have missed the big ticket player in Brisbane Tripple premiership player, Mal Michael.

Mal has committed to being around the club next year as somewhat of a specialist coach. It is not know whether Mal will pull the boots on, as yet because of his business committments, however, there is a real buzz around the club at this time.

A press release is being prepared and the local paper, "The Warragul Gazzette" will have an artical in Next Tuesday's paper.

For any other developments you are all welcome to view our website, which will be updated every couple of days. www.darnumfc.asn.au

Ablett, you are correct in saying we have been crap. We have had 5 wins and a draw in the last 4 years. finishing winless on the bottom for 3 of those years. The president is not a millionaire. The new committee have secured some fantastic sponsorship from local individuals and businesses alike. Up to this point, it has been a huge team effort from all concerned.

As you say, recruiting is far from finished, but we certainly wont be loading the side up with 21 new senior players through recruitment. The club also has some fantastic young players who will no doubt benefit from the experience of the coach and others who lob.

We are just looking to be competitive and no one is talking premierships. There is still a long way to go.

Cheers

mate, if patto is'nt a millionare then he's very close to one and good luck to his fortunes anyway.
i hear vinnie proud is close to signing.

also read my post again , i mentioned mal michael.

ablett said:
mate, if patto is'nt a millionare then he's very close to one and good luck to his fortunes anyway.
i hear vinnie proud is close to signing.

also read my post again , i mentioned mal michael.

You did too, mate, my bad. Ive read that much crap here today, that I got confused.

Vinnie is being interviewed today, I believe and at last nights general meeting, the feeling was that Brad was keen to sign him. Yes.

Dont mean to be too blunt but having played under Sinclair I certainly dont rate him at all as a coach but it will be interesting to see how he goes at another club (one of many!). Brad is certainly not someone that works on the handshake agreement, more who can through the most amount of money in front of him.

As for recruiting Cann - good luck!

If Nilma was keen to improve, i would possibly be a bit more selective in recruiting quality people as well as players, those two possibly dont fall into this category and will only be there while the money is on tap.

localfootyguru said:
Dont mean to be too blunt but having played under Sinclair I certainly dont rate him at all as a coach but it will be interesting to see how he goes at another club (one of many!). Brad is certainly not someone that works on the handshake agreement, more who can through the most amount of money in front of him.

As for recruiting Cann - good luck!

If Nilma was keen to improve, i would possibly be a bit more selective in recruiting quality people as well as players, those two possibly dont fall into this category and will only be there while the money is on tap.

I agree with that. Cann and Vince Proud in the one side, Good luck, couple of real quality blokes there. Spend your money elsewhere is my advice

Wayne Weideman said:
Never applied for the job,it was just a big rumour that got out of hand. As he originally came from M/B, it was just speculated and hoped he might return.

Pluggeroo said:
You did too, mate, my bad. Ive read that much crap here today, that I got confused.

Vinnie is being interviewed today, I believe and at last nights general meeting, the feeling was that Brad was keen to sign him. Yes.

Just thought i'd highlight this as it is the one of the biggest laughs i've had since joining.

1. That Vinchenzo is even mentioned on this thread and....
2. That this Brad character must be a little unbalanced to be keen to sign him....

Oh and he doesn't like to be called Vinnie, prefers Vincent.

Don't know if there is much truth to this one, but it involves Balranald.
I reckon it is a shocker, but...

Apparently Ben Hart has been linked to the Roos. Going to let him run the Post Office.

Shoot it down or confirm it.
Why wouldn't he just retire and coach in the SANFL?? Balranald??

Appin Vet said:

Ben Hart has been linked to the Roos.

Consider it shot down Vet. Fair dinkum mate no one can seriously believe that one

Appin Vet said:

Apparently Ben Hart has been linked to the Roos. Going to let him run the Post Office.

Why wouldn't he just retire and coach in the SANFL?? Balranald??

I heard it too, but if its wrong, its wrong. Im happy to stand corrected.:D

localfootyguru said:

You can count Vincent Proud in that lot too.. He'd steal the goalposts if they are not bolted down

There is a blurb about Mal Michael in today's Herald Sun saying he's going to do some work for Paupa New Ginea and that he hasn't got the itch to play football. It doesn't mention anything about Nilma Darnum, although it does say he's incredibly busy with life after football.

I agree with that. Cann and Vince Proud in the one side, Good luck, couple of real quality blokes there. Spend your money elsewhere is my advice
I believe Cann still owes money at Balranald that is why he was cleared back from bonbeach to Balranald in June, the VCFL was bought into the whole saga. The storey is if he doesn't play with the scorpions he cannot be cleared from Balranald until the money is he owes is paid back.

Not true mate. I spoke to the Balranald club president last week and he had nothing but praise for the guy. There was no mention of any of that sort of stuff. Our club President was with him when I spoke to him on the phone.

Cheers

Not true mate. I spoke to the Balranald club president last week and he had nothing but praise for the guy. There was no mention of any of that sort of stuff. Our club President was with him when I spoke to him on the phone.

Cheers
It was the Balranald president that cleared him to bonbeach when he wasn't supposed too, the rest of the committee got onto the VFL to have him cleared back. The president and Cann are very good friends. Sorry but I think there will be problems when you put the clearance in.

Who are the big recruits in Country Footy