Umpiring Who here has actually umpired a game of footy?

fairdinkum

Oct 22, 2007
Road to nowhere
Anybody here put on the uniform, held the ball up in the air to get the timekeepers to blow the siren, and umpired a full game of Aussie Rules footy?

I think it would do the entire Aussie Rules community a tremendous amount of good if every passionate fan were to umpire one, even just one, game of local footy - be it U10s, U16s, Ressies or Seniors (obviously you'd want them starting at the easier end of the scale so as not to harm the outcome of a more important match, but you get my drift).

I'm not playing footy this season as I am still overcoming some long-term soft tissue niggles which have been plaguing me. Decided to keep involved and earn some cash by taking up umpiring. I was hoping to mainly do goal umpiring to save the legs but they asked me to do some junior field umpiring as well so, next thing you know, after well over 150 matches of footy at underage and reserve/senior level, fairdinkum is a field umpire.

:eek:

Anyway, they threw me in the deep end and my first few matches have all been by myself. Mostly U12s so far. Let me tell you, it is a whole different thing to actually be out there doing the adjudicating and everything else that goes with the gig. Here's a few things:

1) Prematch responsibilities. Talking to the coaches/managers. Checking players' boots etc. Sorting out the timekeepers. More to it than simply rocking up and running around a bit.

2) Decision-making. I've said for a while that our game has too many grey areas. Yeah, well, try actually umpiring this shit. One man's 'in the back' is another man's 'fair tackle'. One man's 'holding the ball' is another man's 'no prior opportunity'. And so on and so forth in so many areas. I've said it before and I'll say it again: Our game will never ever take off around the world so long as it has so many grey areas - which it likely always will.

3) Vision. If you are umpiring by yourself, it is so hard to make sure players don't do stuff off the ball. A player kicks the ball down the line and you naturally want to look to the next contest but you have to make sure he isn't slung after the kick etc. Two eyes are not enough.

4) Keeping control. If you want to let the game go rather than ping each little indiscretion, players can easily start to push the boundary and next thing you know you have to basically draw a line mid-game. For instance, if you want to reward the player getting to the ball first and picking it up by not pinging him if he is immediately tackled and he fails to dispose of it properly, before too long every player is taking on every tackler and you have to basically scapegoat one of them to bring the rest into line.

5) Putting up with mug spectators. Sure enough, when one player goes that bit too far and tries to take on a tackler after having more than enough time to get rid of it and you ping him, there's some idiot on the boundary line yelling, 'you weren't paying holding the ball before'. :rolleyes:

6) Not getting invested in the game. Maybe it is because I played for so many crap sides growing up but it is hard not to feel for the players (especially the real triers) on the losing side if it is a big margin starting to build. Also you can just tell some players are good, honest footballers and it is harder to ping them than some other players who you just know are either shit blokes or will be when they grow up.

7) Communication. You are focussed on the ball, constantly analysing player movements/actions/etc, and you need to (if you are doing your job properly) continually yell out 'play on - no prior', 'play on - nothing in it', etc etc. Sometimes I simply stuff up and say, for instance, 'play on - good tackle' when what I meant was, 'play on - good tap'. Only a little thing but it is still annoying, but I'm getting better.

8) Giving votes. Dead-set, after one match I basically had to pick a random player to give the final vote to because I had little idea who to give it to during the match. Sometimes a player will catch your eye and you think, 'Yep, #5 for the home team, he's going alright', and I try to think about the decent players at 1/2 and 3/4 time, but you are just too focussed on the play to take much notice of the individual players while the contest is on.

9) Post-match responsibilities. You get home, all you want to do is sink a can and watch the final match of the round on an illegal stream, then you remember you have to fill out the paperwork to post the next day and email the results (incl. votes) that night. Eugh.

Particularly with regards to 2-5 above, if you haven't umpired a game of footy before, you simply don't know what you are talking about when it comes to what the job entails and how difficult it can be. Also, I care a lot less about League B&F's now that I know how hard it is to give votes. Probably a lot easier when you have two or more umpires (and certainly a lot easier at AFL level when umpires tend to know every player by name) but still, it can be a lottery.

If you've never umpired a game of footy and consider yourself an expert on Aussie Rules, or if you are somebody who is quick to criticise the umpires when you are sitting at home in front of the telly or at the match itself, do yourself and everybody else a favour and give your local footy league's umpiring dept a ring. Depending on how many umps they have on their roster, you could probably get a game within a fortnight.

Go on, just do one game. I highly recommend it.

:thumbsu:

Yeah umpired for about 5 seasons, regularly umpiring two games back-to-back in my last 2 seasons.

Have umpired a few now AFL footballers, including Brendon Ellis (RCH).

If I didn't have another job opportunity I would probably still be there.

Pretty good pay, easy work if you've got the fitness and recommend it also to anyone thinking about it. :thumbsu:

Umpired junior footy in the morning whilst playing my own game of junior footy in the arvo then umpired for a few years after I progressed to senior footy. Does give you a different appreciation of the game. Initially I actually had to restrain myself from leaping on some poor 11 year old's back to take a screamer; all I wanted to do was get involved.

Agree that the most annoying thing about it is the pre and post match responsibilities. Getting the player lists etc from the respective team managers was a pain the arse as often they would completely forget about handing them in due to listening to the coaches address or what have you. Checking boots, talking to the coaches, even flipping the coin was a hastle - numerous times I forgot the bloody coin and had to play 'which hand am I holding the whilstle in'.

For votes what I did was put a notepad and pencil in my back pocket (also useful if you needed to report someone) and after each quarter write the down the numbers that impressed me. At the end of the game, the votes went according to which number popped up the most on my notebook (unless someone decided a game by kicking 5 in a quarter or something). Made it a hell of a lot easier because at the start like FD I guessed a few times for the 1 votes.

To be honest I actually didn't find the decision making that difficult, admittedly I didn't umpire anything over U15s though where the parents can be more brutal. In the lower ages it's all about protecting the player that puts his head over it and if you did that in a consistent manner throughout the game usually the coaches would say you did a good job. The hardest as FD said was trying to see off the ball stuff, quite a few times the team managers/coaches complained that 'number 15 punched our kid' and asked me what I was going to do about it. Just had to reply I didn't see anything and if I did would act accordingly.

All in all I did enjoy it but in the end became a bit of a chore because I often had a huge one on Saturday night and had to get up at 10 the next morning to umpire little kids wrestling each other in pouring rain and then follow it up with a couple more games after that. But after the game it was great if the coaches seemed genuinely appreciative about your performance, and obviously a nice tidy paycheck helped things.

Well done mate. I fully endorse your suggestion that more people should have a go at it, but unfortunately most never will.

I umpired Juniors for three years in WA in the early 90s while I was studying for my degree. Went up to U17s but elected to work full time when I graduated and drifted away rather than pursuing an offer to join WAFL program.

Since my kids started playing I've spent the last 5 yrs umpiring U9s/10s and much of what you've detailed echoes my experience. I learned very early about the importance of constant dialogue with the players, and loud, clear decisions / instructions / directions for the benefit of spectators. In the youngest age groups it's very much about giving kids a fair go and teaching them the rules of the game because the differences in skill development can be stark.

I do Under 10's sometimes and get $40 for umpring a game which seems alright coz im only there for an hour and a half.

Umpired for 15 years in various leagues and at various levels. Would love to keep doing it but travel takes it away from me so I do it for the local club and re-discovered my passion for it after a two year absence.
Great OP.

Yeah I both played and did umpiring a several years back. Good fun because as much has the players, coaches and parents want to complain they can't do anything about it.

I'm the boss, I'm in charge, if you want to take it too far with the abuse (this includes parents from the sidelines) the coach gets in trouble for this and is shown a yellow card. Good policy.

I feel huge when I umpire anyway like I am the king of all umpires.

Nothing you can do about the haters, just smile and wave. Feels good man.

Currently umpiring at a relatively high level (not VFL, or AFL, but hopefully one day :p), I'm also coaching junior umpires. I don't think people realise what a good job the AFL umpires are doing. The amount of complaining after every game is obscene. I know not everyone will know the rules as well as I do, or even know the rules at all, but I think if you're going to complain you should at least make an effort to understand the rules yourself.

I have enormous respect for all umpires, your OP sums up a lot of the issues facing umpires at all levels.

Umpire Juniors a bit, had to laugh at point 6, i always feel for the little fellas who are getting flogged!

The one thing that stood out for me when i started was just how little you can see sometimes due to angles and or people blocking your view. You think you know what happened but do you guess?

I agree 100% that everyone should do it once, real eye opener

I just started umpiring Ammo Colts this year- any tips you guys want to give me on my positiong like where to run (where not to run would be handy).

Im with the OP- its hard to give votes so your kind of guessing for the 1 vote- have the utmost sympathy for umpires at Brownlow time- its freaking hard to do.

I just started umpiring Ammo Colts this year- any tips you guys want to give me on my positiong like where to run (where not to run would be handy).

Im with the OP- its hard to give votes so your kind of guessing for the 1 vote- have the utmost sympathy for umpires at Brownlow time- its freaking hard to do.

Stick to your tram tracks, make it your goal to get side on to every contest whether that's through fitness or anticipation of the play (Reading the game). Set 1 goal each week and then review, so you don't over complicate things.

Aside: Umpired for 7-8 years in local leagues then spent a couple years on the VFL list. Retired at the age of 21.

Stick to your tram tracks, make it your goal to get side on to every contest whether that's through fitness or anticipation of the play (Reading the game).
This was drilled into me very early, good advice. :thumbsu:

Aside: Umpired for 7-8 years in local leagues then spent a couple years on the VFL list. Retired at the age of 21.

Nice. Can you give us an idea of the pay per match?

This was drilled into me very early, good advice. :thumbsu:

Nice. Can you give us an idea of the pay per match?

Mate the pay is pretty ordinary, but I guess the pay for the VFL players is pretty ordinary too.

For Tac Cup/VFL Reserves you will be looking to earn around $170-180 which is Pre Tax
For VFL seniors you earn around $300-330

I assume you're in the Ammos so you would probably be earning more there with A grade umpires getting $150 a game now. Untaxed

Stick to your tram tracks, make it your goal to get side on to every contest whether that's through fitness or anticipation of the play (Reading the game). Set 1 goal each week and then review, so you don't over complicate things.

This is the best advice you will get for positioning. Read the game and work hard to get side on. Setting a goal for each game is something I just to preach to my junior umpires, (signaling, running the angles, backpeddling) doesn't matter work hard on that goal to improve.

Me : 12 years umpiring, including state league, elite u/18 and national schoolboys. AFLQ scholarship, umpired with a few of the current AFL list.

Mate the pay is pretty ordinary, but I guess the pay for the VFL players is pretty ordinary too.

For Tac Cup/VFL Reserves you will be looking to earn around $170-180 which is Pre Tax
For VFL seniors you earn around $300-330

I assume you're in the Ammos so you would probably be earning more there with A grade umpires getting $150 a game now. Untaxed

Thanks for sharing Dylza. :thumbsu:

Yeah I've stopped umpiring, but the A Graders wouldn't be too far off the TAC Cup/Reserves level at all.

Every point of the OPs is spot on.

I've been umpiring now for 8 years. Started with Grade 2/3 lads, worked my way up doing club juniors and SAAFL, before trying to make my way through the SANFL system. After being transferred to work in Canada, I now umpire the kick and giggle they have here.

Apart from the great advice above, my other suggestion would be to work on anticipation and reading the game. Much easier as the players' skills get better; but when the lads hitting their opponents on the chest from 45-50 metres, to get side on to the next contest, you really have to know where to run to before the ball has been kicked. That's why smothers suck so much.

Yep umpired school footy in Melbourne, then Amatuers, then moved to QLD and umpired AFLQ state league up here. My advice - get fit, back yourself because players don't know the rules and the guys who abuse you over the fence wouldn't last two seconds if they did the job, so just ignore them. We used to get about $110 for reserves and $200 for seniors, depending on how many of you there were.

Go to an AFL game and just watch the umpires for the whole match. That what we do with the young kids when they first start umpiring. Preferably go to a game where your side isn't playing so you don't keep watching the match. Look where they stand, how they signal, how they arc, how far away or close they are etc. My advice - look through the players ears when making decisions. I know that sounds dumb but once you do it for awhile you will know what I mean. Best guys to watch right now - no.8 (rosebury) and no.9 (stevic). Good luck!

The amount of complaining after every game is obscene. I know not everyone will know the rules as well as I do, or even know the rules at all, but I think if you're going to complain you should at least make an effort to understand the rules yourself.

Whilst at first this point seems to state the bleeding obvious, I think it requires repeating. So many people do not know the rules. This (2012) was the first year I bothered to have a look at the AFL issued rules/umpiring DVD. I thought I had a good grasp of the rules, but there were some areas where I didn't. Glad I saw it, and recommend others to do the same.

Probably even worth the AFL giving a copy out with all membership packs, I think it would be a good investment.

I am an SMJFL Umpire. The future is bright, I am in my first year of umpiring and there are about 450-500 resisted umpires, not including coaches, directors and board members. The AFL has provided stacks of help behind the umpiring program with decent pay and support such as the "Umpiring is everyone's business" promotion. By the SMJFL tribunal banning Alastair Clarkson for a month for abusing an SMJFL umpire assistant, it sends a clear message to the football world that abuse to umpires, helpers, runners, trainers, etc, is not acceptable.

Umpiring Who here has actually umpired a game of footy?