Opinion Who will improve most in 2015?

Still confused on what's been said about Dom Barry. He already plays on the wing, and does very, very little. Not very good below his knees and is as soft as they come. No intensity at the contest and his disposal is no good. Will need to improve out of sight to even make it in the team, let alone be a stand out.

When he has played at AFL level, he hasn't been really locked into a set role; has spent time on the wing, up forward and even deputised for Jetta down back in one game for a while if my memory serves me correctly. If he is set a position and role, that can only benefit his development.

I agreed that he is not all that good below his knees, hence why I don't think he is a suitable small forward, but his disposal is not bad at all... And in my post, I made reference to the fact he isn't in my best 22. The purpose of this thread is to nominate "who will improve most", not "who will be a stand out". For Dom to be the one to improve the most, he would need to play 15+ games, not get best on ground in them, and I think he is a chance to do this.

Dispute that he is soft - he is still undersized and with another pre-season and a little more upper body strenght will make a better fist of the physical side of the game. Always has a crack though

I can't see much improvement coming from Spencer, he had the opportunity this year to take the number one spot with Jamar and Gawn injured for the first 5 rounds and he sucked. Couldn't get a game once the other 2 were back in. He's already 25

For me i would say Chris Dawes, grant our midfield lacks to get the ball down there in any volume or consistency. But we are paying good money for him to be a defensive tackling forward which is really the only plus side of his game this year. He plays from behind all the time. I want him to spend less time worrying about chasing his opponents, and leading up at the bloke with the footy and taking some marks and kicking some goals.

I can't see much improvement coming from Spencer, he had the opportunity this year to take the number one spot with Jamar and Gawn injured for the first 5 rounds and he sucked. Couldn't get a game once the other 2 were back in. He's already 25

Being 25 wouldn't be too much of an issue I wouldn't have thought. Big men often take time to develop. How old was Jamar when he came good?

It's a good point about not being able to secure the spot when it was up for grabs though.

Being 25 wouldn't be too much of an issue I wouldn't have thought. Big men often take time to develop. How old was Jamar when he came good?

I still remember the days of Jamar and Paul Johnson running around. Before Jamar hit the big time, they were possibly the worst ruck duo in recent memory - a forest of oak trees had better mobility.

The purpose of this thread is to nominate "who will improve most", not "who will be a stand out". For Dom to be the one to improve the most, he would need to play 15+ games, not get best on ground in them, and I think he is a chance to do this.

Well actually the purpose of the thread is who will become an invaluable member of the team, for example Nev or Pedo last year, or Dunn in previous years.

No point on arguing how good he will be because in essence , but anyone who has ever watched him play most of his footy in the last couple years will be able to tell you how soft he is and an unwillingness to attack the ball. The only attribute he has is his speed, which doesn't even help because his disposal is on par with TMac.

Not trying to be nasty mate but what makes you think this? Spencer does absolutely nothing apart from tackle pretty well for a big guy.

While i agree with you, the kid can ruck (as i said). While he may not offer much around the ground at this stage, if memory serves me correctly, going in to this last season he was our number 1 ruckman, keeping the others out of the side

Well actually the purpose of the thread is who will become an invaluable member of the team, for example Nev or Pedo last year, or Dunn in previous years.

No point on arguing how good he will be because in essence , but anyone who has ever watched him play most of his footy in the last couple years will be able to tell you how soft he is and an unwillingness to attack the ball. The only attribute he has is his speed, which doesn't even help because his disposal is on par with TMac.

While i agree with you, the kid can ruck (as i said). While he may not offer much around the ground at this stage, if memory serves me correctly, going in to this last season he was our number 1 ruckman, keeping the others out of the side

He was only our no.1 ruck cos Jamar and Gawn were injured and coming back through the VFL. He actually can't do much apart from tackle. He doesn't win heaps of hit-outs, nor does he direct them well, nor can he clunk contested marks or kick goals. Look, I like his endeavour but he has pretty much shown nothing despite being on the list a fair few years.

No. Read the thread title and OP again.

Pjfairbairn is spot on.

He's saying that Dom Barry could well be a big improver, because he's coming off a fairly low base. If he got 15 senior games this year, that would be a surprise to me and suggest that he is probably going to make it.

I will be pleasantly surprised if Barry makes it. He looks good in a bit of space as a rangy Hill/Isaac Smith style winger, but my god is he skinny and soft. Needs a heap of size and some confidence in the contest. Give him some time, sure, but I'm not holding my breath.

Ideal scenario for me would be Tapscott being re-drafted to the rookie list and then pulling a Jetta. He's a likely type, it's now or never though - if he's lucky enough to get another year on the list.

He was only our no.1 ruck cos Jamar and Gawn were injured and coming back through the VFL. He actually can't do much apart from tackle. He doesn't win heaps of hit-outs, nor does he direct them well, nor can he clunk contested marks or kick goals. Look, I like his endeavour but he has pretty much shown nothing despite being on the list a fair few years.

I actually recall Spencer starting to take a few handy marks this year, but maybe I'm looking back with Spencil coloured glasses.

The goalkicking remains to be seen.

Viney or Tyson. That may sound strange, but both of them have amazing potential. Tyson in particular - his best games are more damaging than Jones'... after a full pre-season he should hopefully be able to deliver it consistently.

I hope we have Fitz working with the rucks closely this pre season, if he could improve in that area, then he could make a good tandem with Gawn once Jamar starts running down, but as a pure forward only, I don't think he'd make it.

McKenzie is another one who has to get up and about next year, I don't think he will make it back though, once paced and can't kick. I think we have younger players who can easily fill tagging roles while they develop, and Cross is 10 times better as our number one tagger anyway.

What colour are those? Black?
groucho-marx-glasses-nose.jpg

Sam Blease?

Seriously though, Kennedy Harris could really add something to the side, and of course Hogan if he is fit.

Youngsters aside, I think Gawn could really bring something to the team, and if he stays injury free will become something pretty useful as that mobile big guy. Skills wise he is the whole package, let's just hope his body can hold up.

Opinion Who will improve most in 2015?