Who's Hot and Who's Not? 2009 Dream team smokies and duds?

Jul 26, 2007
Darwin
Well the NAB is right around the corner and chances are we will see quite a few 2008 draftee's who are ahead of schedule put up their hands to play early in 2009 ala Rioli and Palmer last year.

The hard thing though is how to judge how established players are travelling. They may be rested early and play only one or two pre season games due to interupted pre seasons.

So who's up and running and who's not?

Smokies who could be cheap but have a good year.

Chris Masten - played 8 games in 2008 before going in for grion surgery mid season. Came in 2nd on the 2km time trial and has been training well. Could get plenty of ball in 2009.

Morton (Hawthorn) - played a handful of games in 2008 but had several high posession games late in the year. DT price will still be lowish but he should get alot more opportunities early in 09. Hows his pre season Hawk fans?

Chris Tarrent - rumours he may be played off a wing ala Richo.

Malcheski - will his injury interupted 2008 bring his price down? How's his pre season going Swans fans?

Haselby - coming back from a knee reco but looks fit.

Gun's with interupted pre seasons

Hodge, Lewis and Franklin - do we jump on these guys straight up or will they drop in value until they get match fitness?

D Kerr - has been running hard but is still icing his knee every training.

N Stevens - anyone have a skin fold test?:D

Lets hear the inside gos people!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu:

I do not get involved with fantasy footy, but I reckon you should select Travis Boak, he's going to have an excellent season.

Mark Coughlan
Ben Cousins
Joel Patfull
Trav Tuck
Paul Haselby
Scott Lucas
Trent Hentschel
Russell Robertson

It's going to be disappointing to have Razzle Dazzle miss my team this year, he'll just be so expensive... Probably my claim to DT fame that... Prior to round 16 last year, C.Judd OUT, B.Dalziell IN.

You were definitely singing Razzle's praises earlier than most. I'll definitely be looking at your recommendations for this year.

If anyone doesn't have Rich in their team they need their head checked. Cheap and will play this year. Brisbane have a good midfield but certainly they'll be looking to see how this guy goes, who was THE midfielder of last year's draft in terms of talk and hype. Hartlett is another. Hill I hope can be picked down back. Biased yes but I think Deledio is set for a big year, had a very good year last year and will improve. Kicks goals and take marks. Plus other players will take the pressure off him (Cousins, Thomson, Coughlan) so he wont get tagged as much.

Already bookmarked this thread for future reference. Come on guys.... keep up with the sugestions.

My personal fav would be from my own side Travis Tuck. Should get plenty of games this year with Crawf gone and will be a very good player.

Mitch Robinson could be a bit of a smokey ........... Pick #40 last year so he will be CHEAP. 19 and built like a house, and is EXTREMELY hard at it. Carving up the training track. Could press for selection as early as rd 1 if he has a good NAB cup ................

Adelaide - Taylor Walker, Patrick Dangerfield, Brent Reilly
Brisbane - Daniel Rich
Carlton - Andrew Walker, Chris Johnson, Chris Judd, Marc Murphy, Cameron Cloke :|:|
Collingwood - Harry O, Scott Pendlebury, Chris Dawes, Dayne Beams
Essendon - Scott Gumbleton, Bachar Houli, Jay Neagle
Fremantle - Hayden Bellantyne, Adam Campbell, Clancee Pearce (Yes, I know he's a rookie)
Geelong - The usual suspects
Hawthorn - Jarryd Roughead and the rest of the gang (except Franklin)
Melbourne - Nathan Jones, Jack Grimes, Brent Moloney, Rohan Bail
North Melbourne - Jesse Smith, Josh Smith, Daniel Wells, Jack Ziebell, Samuel Wright
Port Adelaide - TRAVIS BOAK, Alipate Carlile, Mitch Farmer, Robbie Gray
Richmond - Ben Cousins, Adam Thomson, Tyrone Vickery, Tom Hislop
St Kilda - BRENDON GODDARD!!!! Farren Ray, Jack Steven, Colm Begley, Nicholas Heyne
Sydney - Ed Barlow, Craig Bird, Nick Malceski
West Coast Eagles - Chris Masten, Brad Ebert, Shannon Hurn, Ashley Smith

couple from the dees that may be cheap and i think they will have a good year

James Frawley (maybe on the bench)
Cale Morton
Robbo will be cheap (injury)
Paul Johnson
and Jack "killa" Watts

What about a couple of older players?

For the Doggies:

Aker and Johnston? - both getting on a bit and Aker did have a few quiet games last season, both will be high priced. How are they going pre season?

Brisbane:

Simon Black - recovering from ankle surgery I recall, how is he travelling?

J Brown - hows his ankles and general fitness looking?

Crows:

Porplezia - he's not that old but is a gun who is recoving from shoulder surgery?

Johncock - looked for a trade but didn't happen. Was dropped last year for disappline reasons. Has been a big DT scorer but what about 2009?

Eagles:

A Embely - reported to be looking very proppy at training this week and doing it tough:eek:.

Lucas - I picked him first up last year, when fit he gets plenty of it. Hows he looking on the track Bomber fans?

What about a couple of older players?

Crows:

Porplezia - he's not that old but is a gun who is recoving from shoulder surgery?

Johncock - looked for a trade but didn't happen. Was dropped last year for disappline reasons. Has been a big DT scorer but what about 2009?
porp is doing all the running and is doing must drills apart from the contact 1s, so i guess his doing alright atm.

from what i have been reading about johncock his is great form and hopefully back to his AA year.

my question is what about cotchin? great first year when he missed most of the pre season. how do u guys think he will go with a full 1 behind him?

HOT

IMO L. Fisher could be an absolute steal in the backline

Corrie depending on role

J. McCarthy

J. Gram

B. Gibbs

D. Mundy

H. Skipworth

S. Higgins

NOT

Grimes, Pettered, Rusling, Gumby, N. Jones, J. Smith, Watts, Vickery, Barlow, Hurn

JUST my thoughts

Easy/biased answer here, but at pick 75 and with 0 AFL games, Taylor Walker is likely to cost 70k and will almost certainly play AFL this year.

Yeh i agree!

If anyone doesn't have Rich in their team they need their head checked. Cheap and will play this year. Brisbane have a good midfield but certainly they'll be looking to see how this guy goes, who was THE midfielder of last year's draft in terms of talk and hype. Hartlett is another. Hill I hope can be picked down back. Biased yes but I think Deledio is set for a big year, had a very good year last year and will improve. Kicks goals and take marks. Plus other players will take the pressure off him (Cousins, Thomson, Coughlan) so he wont get tagged as much.

Mate, deledio will get tagged above them all. Unless cousins returns to his very very best, which i doubt with his dodgy hamstrings and having been out of the game for 18 months. Tuck and him to get the tag IMO.

There's this bloke called Foley who, untagged, is more damaging than any other Tiger. Just look at him in the All Star game. Coaches know how good he is when he is let loose and they also know that he struggles with a tag.

Yeh actually i forgot foley, thoughi think he will improve though. Most players learn to overcome a tag eventually!

Yes good point, but i just doubt that coaches will allow deledio to run around like he did in the back half of 2008. He will receive much more attention.

Who's Hot and Who's Not? 2009 Dream team smokies and duds?