Who's Warwick Irwin???

justin_krem

Sep 26, 2004
geelong
Who is Warwick Irwin? My Grandad said to me that Simon Black is as clean mark as Warwick Irwin and I had no idea who he was talking about. All I know is that he played for Fitzroy and he was before my time.
Could someone please help me by finding some info on Warwick Irwin?

PLEASE REPLY

Warwick Irwin played over 200 games with the Roys between 70-80 and had a short stint at Collingwood (I think he was swapped for Leigh Carlson at the time) for the 81 & 82 seasons after coming back to the roys for 1983 where we made it to the first semi but lost to Essendon.

I was pretty young when he was playing but I remember him vividly on TV. He did win one B&F but that was in the middle of a 'cellar dwellar' period where we were finishing 9th or below (in a 12 team comp) for a number of years.

He was a slight built man with the trendy 70's porno moustache and reminds me of the contruction guy in The Village People. His skills were second to none and played a great back up to Garry Wilson who, in my opinion, is the greatest skilled Royboy since Bunton.

You could imagine that when the Roys clicked into gear come 1981 they were a formidable side with the likes of these players hitting their peak, albeit Irwin & Carlson being at Collingwood for a couple but young Roos, Pert, Osborne learning from the Serafinis, Quinlans, Beecrofts, Wilsons, Rendells, Alexanders etc...

Tim the Toolman said:
If you show me how to install a picture I can show you what he looks like?

Warwick Irwin or the construction bloke from the Village People.
The 70's porno moe was great for footy, the tighter the shorts the bigger the moe.

wirwin.jpg

img023.jpg

img020.jpg

I reckon he was a bit more 'the cowboy' than 'the construction worker'.

I well remember flickin footy cards and doing quite nicely, thank you very much, but Warwick was definitely always in the 'unflickable' pile - even if I had a 2 or 3 of him. I'd toss up a Stephen Taubert or Max Crow in a heartbeat, but tell it to the hand if you want to talk Warwick Irwin.

Mid to late 70's was all Bobby Beecroft, Garry Wilson (stiff not to get a Brownlow), Ron Alexander, Harvey Merrigan, Warwick Irwin, Johnny Murphy and later Bernie Quinlan.

Warwick was picked on the wing in the FFC ToC and wore the Big V 2 or 3 times.

From memory he was that unusual breed of player that there seemed to be lots of in the 70s - about 6 foot, beautiful ball-carrier, great disposal, hard at it but skinny as a rake - Garry Wilson and Robby Flower come to mind. I think they build em up in the gym these days - even the good 15 yos are doing weights 3 times a week.

Thanks guys, I also learnt from a mate of a mate that he teaches at Mount Waverley Sec. College so it looks like I might pay him a visit and get his autograph. Who wants one???
I can organise it and it's free!!!
Email me: justin_krem@yahoo.com.au

I reckon he was a bit more 'the cowboy' than 'the construction worker'.

.[/QUOTE]

I stand corrected. The construction worker had blonder hair though.

I reckon Carlson's more your Cowboy type. Pretty sure I have a Warwick Irwin footy card somewhere, will try to scan it when I get a chance (and when I can find it). The Michael Poynton Scanlens card from 1981 is also a ripper.

Fitzroy definitely got the best deal - lethal leigh carlson and a couple of other blokes for Irwin. Did he even play a game for the pies. Then he ended up back at the Roys anyway, think they just let him go in the end. Lethal then ended up coaching the U19s and developed some pretty handy players.

I know he played a couple of reserves games in 1982, because I played that year myself with the Pies and remember him in the team.

Irwin played 16 games for the Pies, including the 1981 Grand Final. He got injured in 1982, then returned to Fitzroy, where he played 7 senior games in 1983. He also won Fitzroy's Reserves B&F in 1983, with 136 votes from 17 games. Tim Rendell was 2nd with 81 votes from 12 games.

Thanks guys, I also learnt from a mate of a mate that he teaches at Mount Waverley Sec. College so it looks like I might pay him a visit and get his autograph. Who wants one???

Irwin or the cowboy? :)

He was an absolute star for Fitzroy! 213 games of fast, clever football. Selected on the Wing for Fitzroy's Team Of Our Century 1897-1996. I saw a lot of Irwin's games, and he was terrific to watch. Great pace, super skills and difficult to tackle. Could play as a Rover, Ruck-Rover, Centre, Wingman and kick plenty of goals(228) when "resting" in the forward line.:thumbsu:

Who is Warwick Irwin? My Grandad said to me that Simon Black is as clean mark as Warwick Irwin and I had no idea who he was talking about. All I know is that he played for Fitzroy and he was before my time.
Could someone please help me by finding some info on Warwick Irwin?

PLEASE REPLY

Is a principal at my old High-School. Great bloke.

Yeah he teaches there. Like I said he's a great bloke, and not many people seemed to realise he was a big of a star in his day.

He was a gun - skilled, elusive, goal sense and gutsy. We specialised in theses guys in the late 70's early 80's ( Murphy, Wilson, Conlan, McMahon etc ) and just needed a few big blokes .. enter Alexander the Great, SuperBoot and Sidey.

The irony was that he switched to the Pies and lined up against us in the 81 heartbreak semi - that really hurt ( I STILL feel the pain of that loss ). Every kick twisted the knife ...

Jump to 1983 v North ( the greatest team game ever played ) and Warwick's come off the bench to snag a late goal. To be fair I could have grabbed a few myself that day, such was the dominance of the Roys.

So all's well in the end.

I believe Wocka apologised at the T.O.C. function for going to Collingwood. but didn't do so jokingly.... twas from the heart. I recall something along the lines of it being one of his life's greatest regrets.

Hey guys, just stumbled across this thread. Never saw him play but he teaches phys ed at the high school I went to (Mount Waverley Secondary College). Really nice guy. Anyone know if he went to the Lions Hall of Fame last week?

Who's Warwick Irwin???