Why do you hate Port Adelaide

If there's one thing I'd like to see, it's having the SANFL Grand Final beamed live back to Melbourne, as was the case in the early 1980's and in the mid 90's as well.

That reminds of a very embarrassing moment. I spent years trying to convince my Hawthorn mates that the SANFL was a good competition and very watchable footy. After that great 1989 VFL GF when the Hawks beat the Cats by 6 points, I convinced all my mates to tune into the 1989 SANFL GF between Port Adelaide and North Adelaide, promising a great game.

The Result: Port 15-18, North 1-8.

The next day I received a message from one of my mates and all it said was: "Saw your Grand Final ...... pity". :)

Back in The 90's playing mini league for Westies at Alberton, we won the game... got thrown bottles at us, beer and spat on as we walked back to the change rooms... A freaking mini league game gets that.

Do you honestly expect anyone to seriously believe that?

Back in The 90's playing mini league for Westies at Alberton, we won the game... got thrown bottles at us, beer and spat on as we walked back to the change rooms... A freaking mini league game gets that.

Yeah, & when i played mini league at Richmond Oval Westies fans threw whole poo nuggets at us as we walked off the ground. Try & prove me wrong.

Backstabbing Traitors of SA Footy. Statistically Highest proportion of the Filthiest gutter sniping players I have ever seen. Their supporters.

i was brought up following norwood from an early age and learnt to hate port. That 1996 prelim still hurts when scott hodges got that free kick for nothing and kick that goal and also 1999 is still fresh in the memory for the wrong reasons but 1997 was a great year:thumbsu::D

Never heard of a rule called 'in the back'.
Looks like he almost stopped, propped and got the free, correct call. Hodges played in front where all good forwards should play.

Hate may be to strong a word, but many many many of you have a strong dislike to the Port Adelaide Magpies. Is there a particular reason for this? Were you raised with your current club and you were taught to seriously dislike Port? Are Port Adelaide just that damn good and you hate them for that (with 36 premierships, I'd prolly hate them too if I were say, a Centrals, North etc supporter)

What happened to make you dislike Port Adelaide. And I don't wanna hear anything like "the supporters are ferals" or any crap like that, coz if that's you reason, you are a very sad person.

Wingy,
here is my very valid reason.
Back in the very late 80's (could have been 1990) I was playing in a reserves match at Alberton. Very close game and the crowd was building for the senior match. Port player by the name of O'Brien had very sharp elbows this day. Anyway, one of my team mates was in a pack on his knees and a well known Port player that went on to have a pretty good career with Melbourne came in and smashed his eye socket. Eye blew up like a basketball and he had to be stretchered off. The rest of the game was quite physical, understandibly. The team I was playing for got up to win by 3 points, and we were pretty happy to have a win at Alberton. As we were walking off, we were abused, spat on and had cans and rubbish thrown at us. We of course lapped it up.
The Port player got reported and copped 2 games. Piss weak!!!
My team mate copped his footy career. It was all over for him as his orbit bone was smashed and could not play again. He did how ever go on to coach at SANFL level.
I am sure some people who read this will know what players I am talking about.
That whole day gave me very good reason to dislike (putting it nicely) Port Adelaide.

Does that answer your question TW?

Wingy,
here is my very valid reason.
Back in the very late 80's (could have been 1990) I was playing in a reserves match at Alberton. Very close game and the crowd was building for the senior match. Port player by the name of O'Brien had very sharp elbows this day. Anyway, one of my team mates was in a pack on his knees and a well known Port player that went on to have a pretty good career with Melbourne came in and smashed his eye socket. Eye blew up like a basketball and he had to be stretchered off. The rest of the game was quite physical, understandibly. The team I was playing for got up to win by 3 points, and we were pretty happy to have a win at Alberton. As we were walking off, we were abused, spat on and had cans and rubbish thrown at us. We of course lapped it up.
The Port player got reported and copped 2 games. Piss weak!!!
My team mate copped his footy career. It was all over for him as his orbit bone was smashed and could not play again. He did how ever go on to coach at SANFL level.
I am sure some people who read this will know what players I am talking about.
That whole day gave me very good reason to dislike (putting it nicely) Port Adelaide.

Does that answer your question TW?

Was your teammate an honorable man as distinct from the opponent who was quite obstinate.

Very good :)

I would like to add here as a supporter of many sports I don't like for that sort of thing to happen and would never condone it. But to continue to hold a hatred for that incident is fair either.

There are many stories of players being hurt sporting and unsporting eg Anderson and Salisbury, Bickley and Wakelin and the list could go on forever.

As for supporters, everyone has ferrals, let's not categorise it too one club. I have heard of Power fans being trated the same as you were treated at Geelong games and Collingwood games.

End of the day, that behaviour should not be tolerated at all and is disgusting. At least now patrons doing that can be more easily identified and banned for long periods of time from the game as they should.

It's just part of human behaviour unfortuantely. I don't hate Glenelg but I ain't a fair of Scott Salisbury, for Some reason I didn't liek Gibbs either, or Bickley for that matter.

But we should all move on.

However saying that, after that story I was glad to read you won the game, sounds like you guys deserved to win.

Rick

Very good :)

I would like to add here as a supporter of many sports I don't like for that sort of thing to happen and would never condone it. But to continue to hold a hatred for that incident is fair either.

There are many stories of players being hurt sporting and unsporting eg Anderson and Salisbury, Bickley and Wakelin and the list could go on forever.

As for supporters, everyone has ferrals, let's not categorise it too one club. I have heard of Power fans being trated the same as you were treated at Geelong games and Collingwood games.

End of the day, that behaviour should not be tolerated at all and is disgusting. At least now patrons doing that can be more easily identified and banned for long periods of time from the game as they should.

It's just part of human behaviour unfortuantely. I don't hate Glenelg but I ain't a fair of Scott Salisbury, for Some reason I didn't liek Gibbs either, or Bickley for that matter.

But we should all move on.

However saying that, after that story I was glad to read you won the game, sounds like you guys deserved to win.

Rick

Scott Salisbury was a real prick. Remember him taking Champion out behind play as well. Glenelg had a few at that time, Alan Stringer was a doozey .
But Port have had plenty , Clifford, Grainger, Kretchmer, chicken Hayes, ray Hays , Salmon etc. etc.

Scott Salisbury was a real prick. Remember him taking Champion out behind play as well. Glenelg had a few at that time, Alan Stringer was a doozey .
But Port have had plenty , Clifford, Grainger, Kretchmer, chicken Hayes, ray Hays , Salmon etc. etc.

Kevin Salmon? I was only a kid when he played, I remember he had a crew cut and looked pretty rough, but I'm not aware of any reputation he had as far as being overly aggressive.

Sure. Just like the 30,000 Sturt supporters that appeared out of thin air in 1998 and the fact theres now 4 times as many Centrals fans as there was 10 years ago.

The Magpies still regularly are in the top 2 for memberships and attendances.

Damn Straight!!! The reason opposition supporters hate or hated Port Adelaide was the SUCCESS!!! Arrogance comes from success!

Cheers mate. There's nothing like the good old Port v Norwood rivalry to get the emotions pumping. I used to go to all of those horrible losses in September (bloody Neil Craig!) during the 90's with about a dozen Port supporters. I'd rock up and they'd all go 'oh no REB is here' but secretly I reckon they were pleased because they have someone to hang shit on when we choked yet again and lost by the normal two and half goals. (get the lemon juice out).

This rivalry has been lost in SA football except for those few times the showdown occurs and this 'event' is a bit of a non event if you don't follow either side. Now if you go to Girlee Stadium everyone barracks for the same team.

I have been to many Cat defeats at this horrible venue (blow up the joint I reckon) but I was lucky enough to be there in 2000 I think it was when the Cats finally defeated the Crows. I was standing up singing the Cat song and even though the paper cups were flying, most of em sat there like sheep and let me sing on in my fine baritone voice (ha ha NOT). During that match a couple of Crows fans got up and tried to fire up a chant when it was getting a bit tight and the grannies told them to 'sit down you're spoiling for the rest of us'...I was pissing myself laughing that was a great day. The art of REAL football barracking has been lost in Adelaide and Perth.

It saddens me today to see the size of the crowds at Port v Norwood matches and the amount of Crows and Power scarves you see at these games. While the Vics lost one club and a few flags when they 'went national' WA and SA lost their entire football heritage..in other words, their local league.

regards,

REB

To me 1993 was the one that got away for Port. We finished on the same amount of wins as the Eagles at the end of the Minor Round (15) and defeated the Eagles in both minor round matches that year. In my opinion, the team Port had in 93 was better than almost every other premiership year in that era except for maybe 92 and 90.

We spanked Glenelg in the first final and unfortunately we copped 3 or 4 key injuries that match which put us behind against the Eagles who in turn spanked us in the Semi. Then losing Hodges as well for the Prelim and we still nearly got over Norwood. Dissapointing.

I was at the 1993 Preliminary Final vs Norwood. We didnt nearly get over the line we lost by 29 points.

i was brought up following norwood from an early age and learnt to hate port. That 1996 prelim still hurts when scott hodges got that free kick for nothing and kick that goal and also 1999 is still fresh in the memory for the wrong reasons but 1997 was a great year:thumbsu::D

Take a long hard look at the replay the Norwood player fell onto Scotty's back, clear free kick!

Why do you hate Port Adelaide