Why no Saturday afternoon footy on channel 7?

Bring back the Saturday Night highlights show as a lead in to the Saturday Night game.

When Ch10 had the rights to Saturday games they had the Saturday Specials after the Saturday night game which were the highlights of that day's games.

Ch10 also used to show a live Saturday arvo game, sometimes even 3 live games on the Saturday back to back, much better commentary too.

It's quite sad how much FTA AFL coverage has deteriorated these days and all signs are that it will get worse rather than better.

it will all be on Foxtel next decade, kind of like the EPL being all on Sky in UK

People say this like it'd be an unusual or shocking development, but Australia has way more FTA sport than anywhere in the world, and has done for a fair while.

It's actually kind of bizarre in a business sense how pay television in Australia has mostly been based around niche or foreign content, as you'd assume they would have tried to further monetise popular local content and sport years ago.

In a way we're lucky that broadcasters and rights-holders are both conservative and altruistic enough to still cater to a FTA audience at all.

This is my first year without foxtel, only two games this weekend plus the dockers on a huge delay so basically unwatchable. I never knew it was this bad, before this year I would have guessed at 4-5 games on fta each weekend :'(:drunk:

People say this like it'd be an unusual or shocking development, but Australia has way more FTA sport than anywhere in the world, and has done for a fair while.

It's actually kind of bizarre in a business sense how pay television in Australia has mostly been based around niche or foreign content, as you'd assume they would have tried to further monetise popular local content and sport years ago.

In a way we're lucky that broadcasters and rights-holders are both conservative and altruistic enough to still cater to a FTA audience at all.

Anti-siphoning laws the main reason for this

My TV deal would be

Channel 7 Gets

- Friday, Saturday nights, plus Sunday Afternoon match. Along with Thursday, Monday, Tuesday games etc

Fox gets

- Everything it's pay tv

A free to air channel gets, SBS maybe

- Sunday Twighlight match, these games will be pretty dam popular I Reckon

Nobody watches it so they don't pay for the rights for it.

That's how FTA TV works.
Funny that nobody watched it when they aired it on a 90 minute delay with Hame and Basil in the box

bring back the old Sunday Doubleheader on FTA
world won't explode if the News isn't on 6pm... can just chuck it on 7TWO anyway
Seven are a business... they won't shift the 6pm News and MKR which rate over 1 million on a Sunday night. If there was ever a Sunday doubleheader again the first game would have to start at 12.30pm EST.

do-able I reckon... and they have done 12:40pm, 3:20pm double headers before. AFL Gameday can precede it as the pre-game show.

Our game is about you- the fans.

275475-90158dce-d01b-11e3-ae84-eacdfc097015.jpg

How to look like a complete and utter ponce.

What's truly bizarre is that with all the improvements in technology and online availability of sport, the AFL is becoming less accessable and lower quality.

Yes, you can watch it on your phone on 144p at 6fps, but it's getting harder and harder.

Also, with the smart replay gone we can no longer watch key incidents in matches. My theory is that the AFL do not want people analysing the game to pick out umpiring incidents. Its actually quite similar to North Korea - they hide as much as they can to avoid any bad word being sad about them.

We the public are just bottom dwelling scum who will continue to watch the game because its "fast" and "exciting".

I understand the rationale behind it but no Saturday afternoon AFL is disengaging me from football.

And I am not paying 50 bucks a month for football plus some irrelevant Pay TV content so guess I'll just stream it if I want to watch something.

That's pretty much what I do, I just stream any other games I want to watch that aren't on FTA, mostly St Kilda games, rather than forking out for Foxtel.

Why is everyone worried about this when there's a lot of local footy clubs that need support on Saturday afternoons?

Think about it. These clubs are the nursery and the place many players come from and go back to. The more support THEY have, the better the game is.
For over 100 years every game was played at 2.10pm on a saturday. My guess is that country leagues still went alright back then.

Most likely the government saw what would most likely happen (all sport on pay tv) and tooks steps to protect it for all Australians, especially since how closely a lot of us hold sport to our national identity

Any more or
Why is everyone worried about this when there's a lot of local footy clubs that need support on Saturday afternoons?

Think about it. These clubs are the nursery and the place many players come from and go back to. The more support THEY have, the better the game is.

Maybe a lot of people who aren't directly involved in local footy (playing, knowing someone who's playing, or long-time rusted-on supporters) just see it as low-stakes, small-time and inconsequential to their lives in comparison to the AFL?

Any more or

Maybe a lot of people who aren't directly involved in local footy (playing, knowing someone who's playing, or long-time rusted-on supporters) just see it as low-stakes, small-time and inconsequential to their lives in comparison to the AFL?

Let's be honest though, it's no more inconsequential than AFL footy, which is just an entertainment industry.

I understand the rationale behind it but no Saturday afternoon AFL is disengaging me from football.

And I am not paying 50 bucks a month for football plus some irrelevant Pay TV content so guess I'll just stream it if I want to watch something.

Depends what you're into. A Foxtel subscription is great for big sports fans and pretty good value too.

Otherwise yeah, streaming or a trip to the pub is a decent option.

Let's be honest though, it's no more inconsequential than AFL footy, which is just an entertainment industry.

True, but I'd guess that a lot people without direct ties to local footy would just find the AFL more interesting, entertaining and consequential overall. Most people naturally gravitate towards the biggest and best.

What's truly bizarre is that with all the improvements in technology and online availability of sport, the AFL is becoming less accessable and lower quality.

Yes, you can watch it on your phone on 144p at 6fps, but it's getting harder and harder.

Also, with the smart replay gone we can no longer watch key incidents in matches. My theory is that the AFL do not want people analysing the game to pick out umpiring incidents. Its actually quite similar to North Korea - they hide as much as they can to avoid any bad word being sad about them.

We the public are just bottom dwelling scum who will continue to watch the game because its "fast" and "exciting".

I wouldnt say that. Sat arvo (or any) VFL / AFL has never been available like it is now. Every game is live and in HD. You couldn't get that 10, 20 or 30 years ago.

But yeah, somebody has to pay for it. If it's gonna be free to viewers then advertisers pay for it. But they're not interested as not that many people watch it outside of prime time (Friday or Saturday night).

Why no Saturday afternoon footy on channel 7?