Why was Todd Grima delisted?

Jan 13, 2006
melbourne
geelong
used to wonder why he got delisted and also taken so late in his draft?

from memory this kid kicked 10 goals in a state carnival game, got picked up by us in the rookie draft, then kicked something along the lines of 60 goals in our reserves in his second year, we never played him at seniors, delisted him and no other club would touch him

but why? :confused:

used to wonder why he got delisted and also taken so late in his draft?

from memory this kid kicked 10 goals in a state carnival game, got picked up by us in the rookie draft, then kicked something along the lines of 60 goals in our reserves in his second year, we never played him at seniors, delisted him and no other club would touch him

but why? :confused:

I've always remembered this guy, my mate was at that game when he kicked 10 for Tassie and he absolutely loved him. Probably just wasn't considered to be up to AFL standard i guess

based on what thought? he did very well at VFL level, he kicked 60 odd goals for our reserves in his last year on the list, he never got a go at AFL

I'm sure the club had carefully calculated it wasn't worth putting any more time into him when we were about to draft the next Tony Lockett :eek:

Along with Jason Davenport, Simon Arnott, Carl Steinfort and Paul Corrigan, he was just a player who Bomber Thompson disliked from a few sources I heard.

If Bomber didn't like a player, they were done..

Along with Jason Davenport, Simon Arnott, Carl Steinfort and Paul Corrigan, he was just a player who Bomber Thompson disliked from a few sources I heard.

If Bomber didn't like a player, they were done..

All four mentioned above were not that great anyway.

Regardless, they were regulars under Ayres in 1999.. and lost their places to Lowther and co. Steinfortwas in particular emotional about it, and frustrated that he was being named best week in, week out with no reward.

fair enough droping players like arnot davenport and such when we where developing a young team, but a second year 20 year old key forward who booted 51 goals that year?

seems a little strange to delist someone after a year like that, we didnt exactly have key forwards setting the world on fire either :confused:

Not that many of our current forwards are really exempt from this, but I think his goal kicking yips, in particular a tendency to badly spray easy set shots, didn't work in his favour either.

Was a very tough call the club had to make - he was probably just borderline when it came to promotion, but they couldn't keep him for another year on the rookie list because his two years was up.

steinfort went the collingwood for a season or 2 if l remember rightly.
l can remember todd grima if he was any good my thoughts another club would of picked me up maybe.but hey look at pods he was on a few lists.

for a 20 year old key forward who kicked 51 goals to get delisted is a lil unusual

maybe some issues behind the scenes?

i actually heard from my source inside the club who is involved with player management at the club, that he wasnt regarded very highly at the draft because he had "small hands"

why that would be such a big issue i dont know, maybe seen to effect his marking, but look at lance franklin, not exactly the best mark, but a very good player

Lets face it , if we cut a young Tony Locket , I suspect he would find a game with another club.

He was not Locket , he was not even JPod. Some guys just are not up to it. Give them a chance but some time its just a waste of a spot , just the cost of doing business.

I think this is it. I find it more surprising that another side didn't give him a chance, than it is that we delisted him, considering the position we thought we were in for key forwards in 2007.

Lets face it , if we cut a young Tony Locket , I suspect he would find a game with another club.

He was not Locket , he was not even JPod. Some guys just are not up to it. Give them a chance but some time its just a waste of a spot , just the cost of doing business.

agree and I think quite a few people don't realize just how difficult it is to play league footy at the highest level. My best mate works with a couple of Scully's close friends (who say he's staying by the way) and it's a 7 day a week full time job. The dedication is just unreal and we are talking about men who likes some of us here are in our 20's and should be living it and enjoying it to the limit but they have to watch what they eat drink 24/7, the excercise involved, the community work, club meetings and who know's what else. I personally couldn't handle it but if you like being told what to do and willing to sacrifice some of lifes simple pleasures then some natural freaks manage to make it.

Be interested to see what the % of athletes actually make it to the AFL/VFL. You'd reckon out of about 50,000 kids in America only 60 or so each year are drafted

Why was Todd Grima delisted?