Feva

Sep 16, 2006
Very underrated in our forward setup.

Not saying he is a star as he has his flaws, but provides a lead up target around half forward and another genuine avenue other than Fevola when we go forward.

Just needs to improve his kicking to become a really dangerous player.

Thoughts?

Probably the toughest player on our team, and definitely the strongest contested mark. He's an absolute champ, and he's been very important to us all year.

staggers me that someone playing afl can miss so many easy goals from directly in front not very far out at all. if he could kick at goal he would actually be really handy.

Very under rated player. He came of age last year against the doggies in his 100th game and has not looked back. He has a very stong mark like Fevola and hits the packs nice and hard. The perfect bloke to be floating around the forward flanks. Take him out and we lose a lot of stength around the half forward line.

How the hell did he ever kick 4 goals? :confused:

Have always admired the Chief, and the way he goes about his footy. Will always give you 100%, and as has already been mentioned, is fantastic overhead. I always thought that his kicking was pretty good, which it is, but his kicking for goal needs to be addressed. I'm sure someone like a Craig Bradley could really help him out here. If he can straighten his kicking up, then he would be a real weapon on our forward line.

the only real down side to his game, along with JR, is that they he (they) try to kick the leather off the ball even when its only a simple 30 metre pass. But they both dont seem to be doing that as much this year so looks like the coaching is working

His work-rate in the first quarter was incredible and really set the standard for running and presenting that day. He might not be a reliable kick for goal, but he's everything else.

And I think we can work on the kicking.

He's the ultimate roller-coaster ride.

Soaring, pack-smashing grab one minute, out on the full from 20 metres out on a slight angle the next.

I love him and i hate him.

I think he's awesome and i think he's shit.

You're ruining my brain Wiggo !

By all means no star , but you have to respect the guy, he always gives 100%, puts his body on the line nothing more you can ask for.

He goes all out to get the ball.Does not matter how well you kick - you can not kick it if you do not have it.

You can learn kicking - but not desire to win the ball.

Would be a great player for a starting Tassie AFL club.

I think suggestions he's under rated are a bit over the top...he's a hell of a mark, works hard, won't shirk the contest, and that's about it. At the moment that's enough to keep him in the mix.

I think like a number of our players his game has blossomed (not really a fitting word for anything relating to the chief) under a more sympathetic gameplan, and simply better coaching, but its a shame it had to happen 100 odd games into his career.

With Wiggins stepping up another notch, I think this could be a nail in Fishers coffin. From what we have seen this year, i would def say that Wiggins marking is right up there with Fisher, if not better. And you would have to rate Wiggins kicking better than Fisher. If Wiggins does fix up his accuracy in front of goal, is there any room left for Fisher? I think Fishers time is unfortunately up

Not saying he is a star as he has his flaws, but provides a lead up target around half forward and another genuine avenue other than Fevola when we go forward.

Thoughts?
I suspect that he is one that Ratts was referring to when asked about the goal kicking and said "Some of these guys kick 90% at training and can't kick in the game".

If he can work out what is clearly a mental issue, and get some consistency in his kicking he would go from being "handy" to being very dangerous.

Very hard match up for most teams - leads hard, strong pack mark, hard in and under........just that kicking.

Much like Hoops was onto it on Sunday, our mids and other forwards need to finish some of Wiggo's good work for him at this stage.....always look for the run past give off for the running shot at goal. :thumbsu:

With Wiggins stepping up another notch, I think this could be a nail in Fishers coffin. From what we have seen this year, i would def say that Wiggins marking is right up there with Fisher, if not better. And you would have to rate Wiggins kicking better than Fisher. If Wiggins does fix up his accuracy in front of goal, is there any room left for Fisher? I think Fishers time is unfortunately up

No, his time's not up. A team isn't just about the 22 but what you have underneath. A side can use 32 odd players in a year. The beauty of our side is that it's developed depth, something top sides have in abundance. No point ridding yourself of it. In case of problems up forward (injuries, form etc...) you have blokes like Fisher to step straight in without losing too much.

Besides, players have their flat spots during a career, losing their position, then come good. Happens often. One can't forget his overhead, contested marking ability up forward. Wiggins himself is playing his best footy later on in his career.

Thoughts?

He definately provides a target outside 50m and his hardness is not to be underestimated. If only he could kick

hes playing the best footy of his career because if he drops form his head will be on the chopping block. 2 years ago i think he was close to being delisted and because of that the penny dropped. but with the amount of talent we have running around he doesn't have long left and he knows it.

I suspect that he is one that Ratts was referring to when asked about the goal kicking and said "Some of these guys kick 90% at training and can't kick in the game".

If he can work out what is clearly a mental issue, and get some consistency in his kicking he would go from being "handy" to being very dangerous.

book an appointment with an African witch doctor you reckon? lol

Wiggins - peoples thoughts?