snags

Aug 22, 2000
At Forges then Poons
Footscray and Footscray
This has been a bug-bear of mine for a while,but it came to the fore again at the weekend.
There is numerous incidents during the year but Saturday stood out again,where Minsen misplaces physicality with stupidity.
On the weekend for example, three different Dogs players had made great efforts through tackling pressure to hold the ball up on the outer wing, the whole play might have only gone for 20 seconds but it was great ferocious work, they ended up forcing a ball up and Minsen just grabbed the Adelaide ruckman and threw him aside, result..free against.
When he rucks he goes up looking staight at his opponent and not the ball.
In contrast on the weekend the much-maligned Skipper(at least much-maligned by me anyway!) showed terrific form in the ruck,palming the ball to our onballers, rather than hitting and hoping.
Minsen need only look at Cross,Morris and Hahn to show him what real aggression is,which benefits the team rather than costing the team through cheap possession

Generally his tap work in the centre is very good.

As you say sometimes he can become too agressive in the throw ins, when body contact is engaged. Theres no excuse for it, its just silly. Same with all the other stupid free kicks he gives away unecessarily for being too agressive.

He will definetly have to keep his agression controlled in a tight finals atmosphere, or it could cost us the game.

Take a look at a few highlight packages over the past few years when the 'dogs have a 8 goal plus quarter. I would think that you would see a Minson (not Minsen) palm down to Cooney for a goal.

These two guys have combined very well in the past.

I am a huge fan of controlled aggression. Will just needs to make sure he does not overstep the boundary on this.

This has been a bug-bear of mine for a while,but it came to the fore again at the weekend.
There is numerous incidents during the year but Saturday stood out again,where Minsen misplaces physicality with stupidity.
On the weekend for example, three different Dogs players had made great efforts through tackling pressure to hold the ball up on the outer wing, the whole play might have only gone for 20 seconds but it was great ferocious work, they ended up forcing a ball up and Minsen just grabbed the Adelaide ruckman and threw him aside, result..free against.
When he rucks he goes up looking straight at his opponent and not the ball.
In contrast on the weekend the much-maligned Skipper(at least much-maligned by me anyway!) showed terrific form in the ruck,palming the ball to our onballers, rather than hitting and hoping.
Minsen need only look at Cross,Morris and Hahn to show him what real aggression is,which benefits the team rather than costing the team through cheap possession

I think Will is a better ruckman in the dry, where he can utilise his athleticism more.

I thought on Saturday when Skip got a run on the ball, it was when we looked highly exposed.

Also since you mention Cross, its about time he stopped making simple turnovers by foot. I noted after we had worked hard to get the ball forward on one occasion, it was a clanger pass straight back to the opposition that cost us a goal within about 6-7 seconds.

Tiller got hung, drawn, quartered, decapitated and run over about 20 times for doing the same (no worse) against North by many in this forum. Yet Cross gets a slap on the wrist at best.

Also since you mention Cross, its about time he stopped making simple turnovers by foot. I noted after we had worked hard to get the ball forward on one occasion, it was a clanger pass straight back to the opposition that cost us a goal within about 6-7 seconds.

Tiller got hung, drawn, quartered, decapitated and run over about 20 times for doing the same (no worse) against North by many in this forum. Yet Cross gets a slap on the wrist at best.

Because Cross might turn the ball over a couple times but we get 20+ other effective posessions while Tiller only gets limited ball and half of them are direct turnovers.

I like big Will he is entertainment value not always for positive stuff. There are instances this season where his footy brain has not click in.

One was at telstra dome can't remember who against against where got tackled and the only thing he could think of was to bounce the ball whilst being tackled and giving away a free kick. This reminded me of some of the under 11"s I used to coach.

Having said that Will has had a pretty reasonable season. I wish when he is at Full Forward our guys would kick it to him a bit smarter. To Often they will direct the ball to him where he needs to make position for a making contest where they should kick it high to where he is so he can use his major asset his strength in the making contest against the full back.

Because Cross might turn the ball over a couple times but we get 20+ other effective posessions while Tiller only gets limited ball and half of them are direct turnovers.
I agree with Acker actually - perhaps the first time?

Cross is a crap kick. And turns it over all the time by foot - and the opposition know it. It's such a massive weakness. Great hands, great in packs, dead set useless kick. What's so hard about kicking? Surely he should be better. He works hard enough. WHy can't he fix his kicking?

The most damaging players are unpredictable. He's very predictable - handball or turnover.

In last year's first final (v Adl) Haw were soundly beaten in the ruck & it resulted in them having to play catch up footy all day....so Hudson playing is crucial.

I reckon finals footy with higher intensity will help Minson, but he may also cause them some problems when he goes forward (assuming dry night) as they aren't blessed with a plethora of tall defenders.

Minson is very much a confidence player so we really need him to start well.

Will he ever be a really good ruckman? (excuse the pun)

He's been in the system for a while.
I don't think so.

I think he'll play another 3 or 4 years though, time for J Grant to find a spot up forward, and Ayce or our next ruckman to come through.

23 is still pretty young for a ruckman. It really takes a long time for most decent ruckman to blossom. This season was easily the best in Hille's career and he is 27. He now looks a much better player than at the start of the season. Hale has also added to his game a lot this season and he is 24. Look at Hudson, he was playing VFL until 25.

I think Minson can/will learn a lot from Hudson. He needs to iron out the fake aggression and play with Hudson's attitude, I think it really suits him. My prediction is that he will be a middle of the road 1st ruck/quality 2nd ruckman.

He would have to be one of the dumbest footballers I have seen, a liability with impetuousity. Pick 20 wasnt it ? Yet we over looked Hudson firts time around go figure .... Another Claytons effort.

Those criticising Will are somewhat harsh.
Will has been on the list for 6 seasons.
The first as a raw kid that came straight out of limited school football with a delayed start. He was only ready to play VFL reserves.
His second season he made his senior debut under the coaching genius of Peter Rohde but showed good promise.
His third year 2005 under Eade he continued to develop, but got sent back to VFL as Eade identified some areas of his game that needed work. That year we lost Darcy to injury but I recall Will putting in a match winning performance in tandem with Cooney in a game against Brisbane when we started a late run at finals.
His fourth year 2006 he suffered a broken leg and got back and played finals as second string to Street.
His fifth year 2007 was seriously curtailed by injury.
This year is effectively his first full season and I see a level of improvement that I find encouraging. As the season has progressed his marking has improved and his ruckwork has always been competitive. He has regularly contributed goals with some of his hitouts and does particularly well with Cooney. He is also developing an ability to win or at least negate the ball in the ground level scramble. This is one of Hudson's strengths and was a Scotty Wynd specialty.

Will is still raw but he has plenty of upside.

Aker SHAME SHAME SHAME on you

How dare you criticize Cross what next you will be telling me that Boyd lacks the foot skills of a quality midfield player

Please keep with the Norm and only Bag Ray, or the Eagle otherwise this board might self explode

I think Will is a better ruckman in the dry, where he can utilise his athleticism more.

I thought on Saturday when Skip got a run on the ball, it was when we looked highly exposed.

God your harsh. AA preliminary selection and busts his guts ever week. Leave him alone you big meanie and go into other teams threads and have a go at them. He wins so much ball for us that result in goals he is allowed to turn the ball over every now and then.

Will Minsens ruckwork