Will Port make the finals in 2009? Will they make the GF? Even win it?

Hungry for revenge after their 07 GF thumping, is it possible for PA to make the finals in 09 or perhaps even make or win the big one?

Hawthorn have shown that Geelong are beatable if you stick to your gameplan and put them under pressure. Will that give Port more confidence that season 09 isn't over before it's started?

As ThunderPower/pavillion said, the Power were 'out of this world shit' when they lost by 119 points in the 2007 Grand Final, a fact backed up by their dismal showing in 2008 (despite being so incredibly talented according to Asgardian).

I don't expect them to improve much from being 'out of this world shit' in 2009.

A) No

B) No

C) No

I predict that Port Adelaide will decide this football lark isn't for them and they'd make more money sending the 22 out to rip off car stereos and flog them off to Cashies than they will from gate takings in 2009.

As ThunderPower/pavillion said, the Power were 'out of this world shit' when they lost by 119 points in the 2007 Grand Final, a fact backed up by their dismal showing in 2008 (despite being so incredibly talented according to Asgardian).

I don't expect them to improve much from being 'out of this world shit' in 2009.

You don't think you troll stupidly enough without directly misquoting me? Well done.

They are about as likely to make the finals and GF as any team is in October.

1/15th of a chance as you can always discount Richmond not to make the 8......

Mind you a lot of things need to go right for them..

• A nice draw, the AFL are in discussion with Chad as to what this constitutes.
  • Favourable umpiring. Chocco has set up another meeting with the umpires to discuss this.
  • Win the close ones. That is down to luck. 2007 was riddled with this.
  • A new marketing drive, "Live the Creed". "Revolution" did not work to entice the Tealsters. With luck the players will "Live the Creed" and actually try in 2009.
  • A new pumping fist float is on order to get the boys motivated.
  • No rain. Twice at Footy Park this year we saw the Power melt in the rain. Nearly a third time but St Kilda were just as inept in the wet ANZAC weekend.

They are about as likely to make the finals and GF as any team is in October.
1/15th of a chance as you can always discount Richmond not to make the 8......
Mind you a lot of things need to go right for them..
You mean 8/15ths of a chance to make the eight, and 2/15ths of a chance to make the GF?
Then again, many Crows supporters can only count up to two - as in "Knit One, Pearl Two..."

Play the Crows for 22 rounds. We win over half the games against Adelaide, so we would have enough wins to make the eight!
We've gone one step further and will get G.Ablett.Jnr to play for Port.
Why stop at 2007? Up to 2008, we had the best win-loss ratio in close games in the AFL. If you think it's just luck that determines close games, go have a look at the Adelaide v Buddy final from 2007. Craig's coaching and Thompson's clanger were not luck!
  • A new marketing drive, "Live the Creed". "Revolution" did not work to entice the Tealsters. With luck the players will "Live the Creed" and actually try in 2009.
Agree here - we can't stop with a slogan, the team has to play to the philosophy "The Creed" represents.

No rain. Twice at Footy Park this year we saw the Power melt in the rain. Nearly a third time but St Kilda were just as inept in the wet ANZAC weekend.
Funny, the Carl-tank game were played for 4 quarters in the rain. We led at 3qtr time quite easily in the rain. We lost in the 4th because we played s**t.

You mean 8/15ths of a chance to make the eight, and 2/15ths of a chance to make the GF?
Then again, many Crows supporters can only count up to two - as in "Knit One, Pearl Two..."Its been a long day, I really shouldnt post after 4pm

Play the Crows for 22 rounds. We win over half the games against Adelaide, so we would have enough wins to make the eight! Would be good for your attendance too....

We've gone one step further and will get G.Ablett.Jnr to play for Port.
haha:D Poor Gaza he thought he had the 2008 Brownlow and Premiership medals in his Poolroom and got nothing.

Why stop at 2007? Up to 2008, we had the best win-loss ratio in close games in the AFL. If you think it's just luck that determines close games, go have a look at the Adelaide v Buddy final from 2007. Craig's coaching and Thompson's clanger were not luck! The one time I have been mad at Craigy....:mad:
Agree here - we can't stop with a slogan, the team has to play to the philosophy "The Creed" represents. Shouldnt all AFL clubs????:confused:

Funny, the Carl-tank game were played for 4 quarters in the rain. We led at 3qtr time quite easily in the rain. We lost in the 4th because we played s**t.Please dont spoil my jokes with facts....

Huge chance. Providing our list stays fit for most of the season and our out of form senior players from this year lift there game we still have too much talent not too. Most oif our senior players were scarred after the Grand Final and we saw this year they were never mentally right or confident enough to be consistent, if they can get it togeather and we dont have any passengers aswell as drafting well with Carr in the mix i honestly wouldn't be surprised to see us finish top 6 or so.. As much as Adelaide fans would love to see us finish botom 4 (i reckon they have predicted this every year, even in 2004)

Then again, many Crows supporters can only count up to two - as in "Knit One, Pearl Two..."

lol.jpg

I have a theory that Port are the biggest tankers in the AFL. When you consider they won the GF in 04, then finished 5th last in 06 then to make the GF in 07 and realise they weren't good enough yet and finish bottom 5 again this year.... you see the trend.

So they're doing a Melbourne???

I have a theory that Port are the third biggest tankers in the AFL. The biggest would be the Crows team of 1999, Premiers to 13th.

… and who is the second biggest tankers. The Bombers of 1994, Premiers to 10th. They got good draft picks that year though. Scott Lucas, Blake Caracella, Gary Moorcroft

Now back to the topic. Geelong should make the 8, as should Hawthorn. Melbourne are unlikely to make it. That leaves 13 teams competing for 6 spots. Port are about a 50/50 for the 8.

Grand Final? Unlikely.

Premiers? Extremely unlikely.

Every year for the last umpteen years one of the bottom eight teams has made the top 4. Also every year for quite a while one of the top eight teams has dropped to the bottom 4.

Now back to the topic. Geelong should make the 8, as should Hawthorn. Melbourne are unlikely to make it. That leaves 13 teams competing for 6 spots. Port are about a 50/50 for the 8.

Grand Final? Unlikely.

Premiers? Extremely unlikely.

Every year for the last umpteen years one of the bottom eight teams has made the top 4. Also every year for quite a while one of the top eight teams has dropped to the bottom 4.

:confused: What about the creed

How old are you?

You act like a couple of my newly born grand nieces, always crying for attention. (I haven't added a smilie as I'm wondering if you actually do need the help of some mental health professionals)

How old are you?

You act like a couple of my newly born grand nieces, always crying for attention. (I haven't added a smilie as I'm wondering if you actually do need the help of some mental health professionals)

Stick to talking about football Grandpa. Or are you just unable to defend that rabble of a club you support that call themselves the Power?

Why do you care so much. You spend alot of your life on here talking about Port Adelaide Football Club, that's for sure.

I spend a lot less time here than some Power posters that's for sure. It's just that my contributions pack a helluva lot more punch that those Port lightweights which results in a constant whingefest about my presence here from the likes of you. :thumbsu:

I've got a feeling alot of people have a whinge about your presence in general, not just on BF.

Will Port make the finals in 2009? Will they make the GF? Even win it?