Player Watch Willie Rioli

Player swaps with WC in our AFL era:

In: Bond, Lyle, Downsborough, Schofield, Ebert, Crabb, Stevenson, Lycett, Rioli.

Out: Cummings, AhChee. (Also Giles via GWS.)

I'd suggest we're ahead.
Faark.

Maybe that’s why the footy gods keep giving us arsey kick after the siren wins…. Its all square ups…..

At least you know he wrote it himself and it didn't come from his manager. Actually a genuine.message of thanks.
And haven't the West Coast flogs thrown it back in his face. As if any of them wouldn't change employers if they were being offered an extra year at a $500k+ salary.

Given the unconditional support provided by WCE to Rioli during his troubled 2.5 year period in which he didn't play a single game for the club, it's not surprising that WCE supporters feel somewhat aggrieved. The second sentence of your post doesn't appreciate that context.

At the end of the day money talks and he needs to do what is best for him and his family. I don't begrudge him that. He remains one of my favourite players to watch and I wish him all the best; I'll be watching him every chance i get.

Player swaps with WC in our AFL era:

In: Bond, Lyle, Downsborough, Schofield, Ebert, Crabb, Stevenson, Lycett, Rioli.

Out: Cummings, AhChee. (Also Giles via GWS.)

I'd suggest we're ahead.
I maintain downsborough was the most disappointing player to ever don a port AFL Guernsey.
Bond, Lyle, Schofield and Ebert tho... Chefs kiss**

I maintain downsborough was the most disappointing player to ever don a port AFL Guernsey.
Bond, Lyle, Schofield and Ebert tho... Chefs kiss**
Agree in part with your comment re Downsborough, who was built like Tarzan but played like Jane's grandma, but a bloke named Lonie also has to be in any conversation about the most disappointing player to ever don a Port AFL guernsey.

I have to admit I wasn't a fan of Junior joining us, but I was very happy with the interview that's now on the club website.
Just hope he can have an impact up forward and that his mum's treatment goes well.

As someone with a daughter working interstate, I would do anything to get her living closer to home again, so I get it.

Given the unconditional support provided by WCE to Rioli during his troubled 2.5 year period in which he didn't play a single game for the club, it's not surprising that WCE supporters feel somewhat aggrieved. The second sentence of your post doesn't appreciate that context.

At the end of the day money talks and he needs to do what is best for him and his family. I don't begrudge him that. He remains one of my favourite players to watch and I wish him all the best; I'll be watching him every chance i get.

An interesting comment from the interview posted on the Port website today was that his Mum is very sick and receives her treatment in Adelaide. No idea about any of the context around that but certainly indicates there could be a little bit more to it than just money.

Good interview. Comes across as shy but very genuine. I reckon he might have got read the riot act about his past indiscretions too. Made some points about learning from past mistakes and wanting to be a better person as well as a good footballer. Good signs. Looking forward to watching him play.

Speaks well and is so likeable! Will be a massive fan favourite:

Who else was triggered?

“I want to be known for being a good person more than my football abilities.”

Player Watch Willie Rioli