Willo's confidence in front of goals

MikeBios

Apr 12, 2007
Goochville
Has anyone else noticed Willo's lack of confidence after he takes a mark in the 50? He always looks like he wants to dish it off or play on!

I think he's as "Buddy conscious" as the rest of the league. The sad thing is he's regularly touted as having one of the best goal-kicking techniques in the competition.

If anyone sees him, just remind him that before Buddy and Roughy - he was our number one forward and if I had to choose someone to kick for my life, it would be Willo before Buddy!

Just wanted to add that he's really taken to his changed role very well and I love the job he's been doing lately, can't believe how far he runs during the game!

I thought maybe his knee was holding back his kicking distance, but when forced to take a shot he made the distance okay (not by miles admittedly, I think he is certainly limited a little). Really he has to take a shot if he's within range.

I don't think there is a problem distance wise, great long bomb last week against the crows, Buddy needs to show some maturity and stop leading out
and clear out off the zone, especially when Willo's 40 out.

I reckon Buddy's leading is distracting Williams, putting him in two minds.

It upsets Willo's concentration for that shot at goal and puts doubt in his mind next time he's got the ball around goal.

Time for Franklin to just hold back, and for Williams to do what he's good at.

willo has become to buddy consicious and even if he is 40-50m always looks for him. Back in 2005 and 2006 he had the confidence to kick those goals and is one of the straighests kicks in the team

I reckon it's Buddy that is making him want to pass the ball off aswell. Buddy always leads when Willo can kick the goal and Willo ends up passing it. I love to see Buddy kick goals but I also want to see Willo kicking goals too, I reckon he has one of the best kicks in oiur team.

It seems like us supporters have greater faith in his kicking abillity. I was quite frustrated on Saturday, he wasn't even going back to line up he was wanting to pass it straight off. He's got a great kick on him and when he gets the opportunity he needs to take a chance.(Unless like others have mentioned his knee may be giving him issues).

Lost confidence in his ability to kick goals, or doubt in the back of his mind that his knee may give? Is he just protecting his knee (ala Stuey Dew and his hammy) and just not overdoing things?

WE know he can kick it, but I think people are hiding from the possibility that Willo may have a dicky knee. When he appears in 2 minds before a kick, its not because he thinks he wont make it, but that he will injure himself. In this light, Buddys leading possibly isnt so selfish afterall, hes doing the team thing and helping his mate out, knowing that Willo doesnt want to take the kick.
Why aren't others leading to him if this is the case? I wonder how much, or how many of his team mates know the possible extent of his injury. His chances of extending his contract certainly wouldnt be helped if he turned into a charity case sitting on the forward line. Maybe Clarko realises he shouldnt put Willos legs under to much stress, and threw him the bone of playing in the mids to see if he has another dimension to his game. Has worked wonders if that was the idea!

All this said, Willo is shaping to be one of our most improved players this year. Id prefer to see him continue playing the way he currently is, rather than locked into the forward line. Gives us added depth, and opens up the forward line for others. While he dangerous in the forward line, he just doesnt get enough chances there, and can damage more with his skills round the ground.

Ive got to add as well, not only is he one of the best kicks in the team, but across the whole league. If someone was taking a set shot for my life, I'd be choosing Willo. Dicky knee or not.

Maybe he just needs another pre-season under his belt? Hopefully Rusty can get a few words in with him tomorrow, I'm going to go to a few training sessions on the holidays and I'll make sure I ask him a few questions.

When i played footy back in th day our coach at the time use to have a rule that when a player marked the ball in the 50m arc no matter who it was, you have a shot on goal no matter the circumstances (unless raining heavily), and if u tried to hit up someone while you marked the ball in the foward 50 and didnt pay off you would be dragged right away without fail

It increased our goals per match by about 4-5 most weeks if i remember correctly and it stopped all the other people leading everywhere distracting the played having the shot on goal

When a team floods like North did it was useless to try and pass once you had a mark inside 50. Roughead was guilty of trying to pass off when he had a chance at a shot from just outside 50 in the first quater.

Just looked like none of our forwards were confident all day.

He probably hasnt found where he stands in the team since his injury. Before he was injured, he used to be our key forward and now he isnt. Its a big change for him, Im sure he will find his form as he is very capable of doing so.

Willo's confidence in front of goals