• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Wimmera Football League

goyney said:
Have been reading for a while but this is the first post I've made as a member cos I thought it was interesting what people thought about this.

1. John Kosch (mm)
2. Mal Adams (hu)
3. Cam Penny (h)
4. Peter McFarlane (d)
5. Stuart Farr (h)
6. Terry Arnel (h)
7. Adam Carter (mm)
8. Karl Lohde (d)
9. Dale Bligh (a)
10. David Johns (h)

Players unluck to miss out and recent players that might've made it...

Ararat
Jackson, McLoughlan. Havent seen Turner play yet.

Stawell
Couldnt really think of any. Solyom could play but was a nutcase.

United
Andrew Carter. Mibus and Tucker from last year wouldnt have been far off.

Horsham
Scott Batchelor, Damien Bunworth, Luke Carr. Damien Skurrie if he was still there.

Saints
Gavin Kelm at his best, as well as Burgess. Watson and the Ward boys would have been close especiall Matt.

Minyip Murtoa
Smith, Midgley and Wilson.

Nhill
Again couldnt really think of anyone. Sonny would have been a definite.

Warrack
Walder would have been a certainty, Luke Rosa close too. Have only seen Marc Greig play one game and didnt impress but have heard he is a gun.

Dimboola
Clugston and the other Darwin boys have talent. Ex coach Shannon Keam was awesome.

Rat Attack, I dont think you have seen much Wimmera league if you dont rate Adams, who has been a star of the league for years, Midgley got best player at interleague and Kosch is winning every award so far this year and should win the Toohey if he stays fit.

Midgley goes ok but i'm not sure if he is in the top 10. is a little inconsistant for me! As for Adams all he does is play a loose man across half back! anyone can do that just look at jason cloke! he has a long kick which he doesn't use to full affect missing to many targets and the ball rebounding in! think Marc Grieg is by far the best player in the league! just look where he has been and what he has done! and is really carving up the wimmera league in a not so strong side! imagine him in Horshams team!!!

Rat_attack said:
Midgley goes ok but i'm not sure if he is in the top 10. is a little inconsistant for me! As for Adams all he does is play a loose man across half back! anyone can do that just look at jason cloke! he has a long kick which he doesn't use to full affect missing to many targets and the ball rebounding in! think Marc Grieg is by far the best player in the league! just look where he has been and what he has done! and is really carving up the wimmera league in a not so strong side! imagine him in Horshams team!!!

Adams is clearly in the top ten. watched the united game at ararat last weekend and he booted 3 from a forward flank/pocket. struggled with the left side of his body, looked injured and still was probably the difference in the game. maybe in previous seasons he has been employed as a loose man but of the games ive watched (apart from the weekend) has been holding down CHB. one of the most skilful players in the league

journeyman said:
It seems to be a subject that isn't spoken about much on this thread but Horsham's dominance is astonishing. Nobody seems capable of getting near them.

On the weekend Warrack were 4th and they got done by 200 points with eight walk up starts missing.

It's probably doing the league more harm than good. I can't think of any league in Victoria that is so one sided. They have a massive advantage with population compared to Nhill, Dimmy etc.

Someone told me their reserves, under-17 and under-14 are all undefeated.

It's hard to see an end to their dominance.

Thoughts?

You should know how they keep on producing premiership winning teams journeyman, you have the inside info. I think they have been great at keeping there good players out on the ground all year. Blokes like carr and johns, bunworth don't seem to miss to many games. But this year you would have to say they have a bunch off no-names other the big 8 (arnel, bunworth, farr, carr, johns, dumesney, wright, batchelor and proabably another couple that i have missed, both and guyro). But they have alot of good kids playing good football. But thing that you can't beat is bringing kids up through a winning culture. At nhill you don't see that dimmy kinda the same although they have had plenty of imports over the last 2 years minyip also stuggling in the other grades

I would expect there dominace to continue. They have also had a great coach in guyro smith who has set them up. Success always seems to follow him.

I would of thought a bloke like him should be the leagues interleague coach not bruce petering even though he is a league legend and very well respected.

Back to warrak and they are very lucky to be sitting i 4th spot, they won't challenge for the flag this year but if they keep there good young kids mybe 2 or 3 years time they will be the league powerhouse.

Nhill dimmy and minyip murtoa to struggle over the next few years and who knows what there future holds?

Still think one wimmera league with 2 divisions is the way to go?

Any other thoughts boys on how to make footy in the wimmera stronger and more even?

bomber_42 said:
Adams is clearly in the top ten. watched the united game at ararat last weekend and he booted 3 from a forward flank/pocket. struggled with the left side of his body, looked injured and still was probably the difference in the game. maybe in previous seasons he has been employed as a loose man but of the games ive watched (apart from the weekend) has been holding down CHB. one of the most skilful players in the league

who did united play in ararat last weekend in ararat?

not enought really to have a even 2 div if we end up with 11 clubs with the enclusion of Donald & St Arnaud their be 6 in div 1 and 5 in div 2
2 clubs would keep the by as we currently have 9 clubs need another club to make 2 div equal 6 each wonder if Rupanyup would ever consider making a wfl come back?

rupanyup prob wouldnt come back as it would hurt their pride... theyd finally have to admit theyre in a lesser league... although their team is reasonably solid this year and they have several very good players and would push for a finals berth... unlikely they would make a comeback though

Rat_attack said:
who did united play in ararat last weekend in ararat?

did you read that before you posted it?? not quite sure what the question is here. they played ararat obviously.

their will i'd say eventually be some changes with wimmera,North Central and Horsham district league, well HDFL will have a bye in 2007 with the inclusion of Edenhope Apsley when ya know someone on the HDFL Board helps as i do
hope we can cope when wimmera expands to 11 when Donald and St.Arnaud eventually moves from North Central to WImmera i;d say next couple of years
make north central alot better

be a new league for Donald & Starnaud and more challanges for current wimmera if their be no mergers in next 5 years Nhill been close a few time about merging . i remember about donald a few years ago at Stawell thats how long the talks been going. it will eventually happen if VCFL has their way

bomber_42 said:
did you read that before you posted it?? not quite sure what the question is here. they played ararat obviously.

well i don't know what game you were watching at ararat, because when they played Horsham United, Adams was out with a hamstring!!! Get your info rite!

bomber_42 said:

Ararat played United on Sunday, June 11. Mal Adams watched the game from next to the interchange bench as his leg injury prevented him from playing.

Grimmett said:
Ararat played United on Sunday, June 11. Mal Adams watched the game from next to the interchange bench as his leg injury prevented him from playing.

my bad guys, i was talkin about the game at stawell, just saying that adams should be still considered in the top 10 of the league, he was on the bench at ararat you are right, cause i was standing next to him all day

My tipps for this weekend

Horsham V Ararat, Horsham to win by 200 pts
Nhill V Warrack Eagles, Warrack to win by 20 pts
Horsham united V Dimboola roos Dimboola by 60 pts
Horsham Saints V Minyip Murtoa. burras by 10 pts

The Horsham V ararat Game at Alexander Oval Will be a one sided Games this year Horsham to win between 100-200 pts johns to kick 0-20 goals in that range he'll have a field day Rats won;t have a chance be over early
thats the game i'm doing who ever get Horsham in the first Quarter will be very busy Horsham should kick 10 goals first Quarter

any information on the form of scott batchelor heard he was injured is he back playing yet

Andyt30 said:
My tipps for this weekend

Horsham V Ararat, Horsham to win by 200 pts
Nhill V Warrack Eagles, Warrack to win by 20 pts
Horsham united V Dimboola roos Dimboola by 60 pts
Horsham Saints V Minyip Murtoa. burras by 10 pts

The Horsham V ararat Game at Alexander Oval Will be a one sided Games this year Horsham to win between 100-200 pts johns to kick 0-20 goals in that range he'll have a field day Rats won;t have a chance be over early
thats the game i'm doing who ever get Horsham in the first Quarter will be very busy Horsham should kick 10 goals first Quarter

Horsham over ararat by about 180-200. Johns to kick 14.
Nhill to defeat the eagles in a close one under 10 points.
United to to lose in a closer than expected game to dimmy by about 25 points.
Minyip murtoa to flog the saints by 100 points.

Results for rd 10

Ararat 5.10 (40) v Horsham Demons 22.14 (146)
Nhill 14.15 (99) v Warrack Eagles 14.11 (95)
Horsham Diggers 6.14 (50) v Dimboola 23.22 (160)
Horsham Saints 9.5 (59) v Minyip Murtoa 21.10 (136)

Horsham's David Johns kicked 11 goals missed a few 2 or 3 chances
Horsham by 106 pts (oval was very muddy in the Middle and a few showers
Nhill ( 4pts) twice they beat Warrack under a goal last time it was by 5 pts
Dimboola by 110pts
Minyip Murtoa by 77 pts

Horsham under 17's lost by 85 ps
Ararat 15 8 98 d Horsham 2.1.13 Horshams scored the goals in the last Quarter

reserves Ararat 11.5.71 d Horsham 6.13=49 by 22pts

goyney said:
rupanyup prob wouldnt come back as it would hurt their pride... theyd finally have to admit theyre in a lesser league... although their team is reasonably solid this year and they have several very good players and would push for a finals berth... unlikely they would make a comeback though

They wouldn't even contemplate going back up...have had it too cruisy where they are.......would hurt their pride, as u said, to bebelted week in and week out.....again!!!

well the Eagles Reserves gone backwards , before the merger the Brim Reserves were in finals just about every single year, and Warracknabeal reserves wernt' getting back to the old Warracknabeal reserves Habbits of loosing alot
not good for a club

roaring tiger said:
Can they keep on affording $35K a year though and is it worth it??

Can they afford that?? well i reckon they are lucky to be only paying him $35k a year if thats true, he is worth much more than that! Great player, fantastic leader and if he had some good cattle to work with you would really see results! Good luck Marc in 2007 and the rest of 2006

Rat_attack said:
Can they afford that?? well i reckon they are lucky to be only paying him $35k a year if thats true, he is worth much more than that! Great player, fantastic leader and if he had some good cattle to work with you would really see results! Good luck Marc in 2007 and the rest of 2006

Worth more than $35,000??? Surely you're joking. If he's worth $35,000 what would someone like Trent Hotton or Anthony Stevens (currently playing in GVFL) be worth?

I haven't heard a bad thing about Greig and reckon it's great that Warrack have re-apointed him but $35,000 is massive money.

journeyman said:
Worth more than $35,000??? Surely you're joking. If he's worth $35,000 what would someone like Trent Hotton or Anthony Stevens (currently playing in GVFL) be worth?

I haven't heard a bad thing about Greig and reckon it's great that Warrack have re-apointed him but $35,000 is massive money.

Would have to agree with you here journeyman, although why not go out and get 4 quality players at $500 a game and 1 player at $185 a game?

Rather than getting one super player you get 5 quality players that will go a lot longer than one player at $35,000 for the year.

I still think hes over-rated Marc Greig - surley he could of been a bit more damaging against nhill on the weekend and one them (warrack) the game if hes such a gun player.

Is there any other news on coaching appointments for next year in the wimmera league. I reckon theres a huge chance that the nhill tigers will have a different coach next year if my sources are correct, horsham saints will need a new coach along with dimboola and the diggers. Power should continue at stawell same with haynes at the burras and farr/bunworth to go for a 5th straight flag at horsham. Law to stay at the helm at ararat.

i think Horsham has their 4th straight premiership in the bag can't see anyone from nowon in get anywhere near Horsham, they will do what Brisbane couldnt do is to win 4 in arow horsham before each season were so confident they'd win it the next year i guarentee they will aim for their 5th in 2007 the rate their going ararat use to be very strong, horsham taken the Rats topdog of the cometition, AFL clubs should take note on Horshams Performace

also good to see another ex Wfl Player get the rising star nomination
2 from the wimmera this year :)