Wimmera League 2010

He’s not a midfielder so it will be tougher but he’s my tip for the Toohey.

You might be on to it fp, a 9gl bog performance last nite for the dees certainly didn`t harm his chances...Awesome night last nite at city oval after a small hiccup with the delay of the lights but overall was great to see so many people at the local wfl footy.:thumbsu:

Awesome is right. And was certainly a great night. Midgley’s marks in the earlier game were some of the more spectacular you will ever see. It was good to see a large contingent of HDL players there taking in the action.
Parish was fantastic and so were the rest of the Horsham group. A lot of the comments for the day were centred around the reserves game between Eagles and Horsham. It was as high a standard as you would see in the majority of district league senior games according to a great many who watch both leagues.

The light drama added to the night, and no doubt the beer sales. Not a hint of a whinge came from either the Burras or the Diggers about having the longest half time break in the history of footy.

I can not believe that Stawell went down to Dimboola. Who played on Tuckey? I would have Midgley, Johns or Parish over Tuckey any day.

Spot on there fp Midge took some absolute pearlers, especially when the lighting was not so he seeing them alright. The reserves game was a belter both sides moved the ball very well and were hard at it which was a far cry from the previous one, which i will say the diggers got a side out there and ending up with 4pts well done to them! A worry for burras though. The diggers were far from disgraced in the ones aswell. Absolute super day and it should be interesting day sat hsm v dim. Not sure about tuckey but i think i heard he got bog .i would say cassidy and co. would be dissappointed with all the preseason whispers on there improvement although it is only rd1.

Ararat to beat United by 3 goals
Saints to win over M/M by a comfortable 8 goals
Horsham over Dimmy by 6 goals
Nhill to beat Warrack by 5 goals

Horsham to beat the Roos by 90 points 88 points
Horsham Saints by 72 points over the Burras 61 points
Nhill by 50 points over the Weagles. Eagles by 37 points
Ararat by 30 points againist the Diggers. 41 points

Whats going on up the highway FP? The Nhill boys have dropped the first two for the year having spent a huge amount of coin on their gun recruits. Is it just a case of not having the cattle to support these guys or can they come good? They travel to Stawell next week followed by the bye and then face the Juggernaut that is the Demons.

Watched the Saints win a sometimes scrappy affair againist the Burras today. Did enough to win by 10 goals.

:cool: I watched the Horsham v Dimboola game yesterday and cant understand why Parish got the best for Horsham! Sure he kicked 5 goals and took some good marks! But there were heaps of others that did way more!

• Saints comfortably over the Diggers by 70.
  • Stawell over the worrying Tiggers by 30.
  • Roos to beat the Burras - 12.
  • Eagles should account for the Rats by 36.

He said high-profile players Daniel Hargraves, Chris Ladhams, Brent Tuckey and Lenny Clark had all declined to play, while Daniel Batson was still determining his availability.

What a joke. These boys are obviously in the league for the wrong reasons. Good on you Nhill, keep sending your money over the border, no use hoarding it.

i watched the nhill eagles game last week. If nhill are paying ladams and hargraves to argue with each other and abuse younger players when they make errors then they are definatly getting thire moneys worth

In relation to the high profile players not making themselves available to play interleague, i dont think its such a bad thing. These players have all played footy at a much higher level and are unlikely to benefit out of this, In their abscence there are 5 spots for up and comers who might be able to take their footy to the next level and make the most out of this opportunity.
All 3 Nhill players would have to travel some 500 odd kilometers to play and this might be one of their few weeks off for the season they get to have with their young families, so thats quite understandable.

magic#40
BigFooty Newbie

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by newo

It’s hard to compare Schultz while he still playing district league. If he was up against some of the ex AFL players running around in the WFL then he would be able to show what he is made of.

For God sake Fancy Pants,if you honestly think you can't judge a players ability or compare him with other players because he isn't playing in the Wimmera your a very foolish person.The Horsham League has actually got stronger and better quality of players have now joined the competition,while the wimmera's league continues to lose its stars.Unfortunately what most WFL supporters don't realise is that their league is not the high grade football comp they believe it to be,because there are many,many other leagues that are far superior to theirs.If a player is a great player he will get noticed no matter what comp he is in,I think the AFL draft has proven that.

What do you think guys, is this lower league thug on the money?

"Lower league thug" I'm not sure who you think I am but reading that made me laugh. I replyed to your post simply because you were judging a player because he wasn't playing in your league.I stand by what I said and if you had any balls about you, you would have replied on the Horsham site where you made the statements and not on this one.Or are simply looking for someone else to now defend your remarks?It seems your always ready to give your opinion about everything to do with football or a player but take offence when someone else voices theirs.While you may disagree with what I said, and you have the right to do so, suggesting I am a thug from a lower league only highlights your arrogance and stupidity.

Was chatting to boony baker the other week with another group of HDFL players, and when they asked him how WFL rated he said it was miles above HDFL. The WFL is weaker than it has been, but make no mistake, the highest quality football in the region is being played by Wimmera league footballers, not the thugs from the HDFL :)

Those in the know would agree that the WFL is still a higher standard than the HDFL, so it should be. But the best HDFL players (past and present) such as Baker and Schultz would be far above most in the WFL. I take offence at HDFL players being called thugs. Especially when you consider some incidents from WFL in recent years!:mad:

Anyone got the score from the saints diggers game?

Saints 22.8 (140)
United 13.7 (85)

Looks like the Saints ran over the top of United in the last term, as they kicked 7 goals to 1. United were in the game untill then.

On a separate, random note I noticed J. Solyom kicked 9 goals for Stawell's seconds on Saturday against Nhill. Surely he's gotta be a chance to play ones shortly? Might have been useful for the Warriors in the afternoon game...

Ararat v. Saints

The Saints should wrap this one up fairly easily. i'm hoping the young kids from Ararat continue to play good footy and show some fighting spirit. whats with couchy playing up forward? he seems to be pretty well suited to the role, good on him, it's good to see a backman doing well in the forwardline, we all know playing in defense is easier than up forward. I'l be keeping my eyes on Browny too, pretty silky mover.

Warrack v. Min Murt

I'l be tipping the combine here, i'm not sold on Warrack at all. If they play well together then they can play a good game of footy but they have no stand out players who take the game by the neck or have the ability to change the tempo of a game. Looking for more hard running from Krahe, very handy player and from what i'm told a very good bloke. MM will be getting every tap clean from the big streak of pelican sh@t Clarke, good player but not my favourite person. Smith in the forward line has a great set of hands.

Stawell v. Horsham

Good luck to stawell, but horsham have thier measure all over the ground. Cant beleive eales is getting 900 a game. pretty handy player but really? Delahunty needs to pull his finger out and play the great footy he is capable of. wonder if solyom will play ones? It's just hard to beat horsham. my point of view is that they will always kick 20 goals a game, you just have to figuire out how you are going to kick 21.

United v. Dimboola

I reckon Dim might just hit their straps in this game. With the braithwaite boys firing united will have to really pull something special to win. Is elliot Braithwaite the best small forward in the league? Jeez he does some special stuff. Exell looks the goods too. United have some handy players but i just don't think they have the cattle on the ground.

Cheers :)

Interesting call on Braithwaite. He is defiantly an important player for the Roos. He sort of came out of nowhere for me....I don’t remember him being a standout junior?

I remember him kicking four goals in the 2005 wfl grand final in one quarter as a 17 year old. I don't recall dimboola having very strong junior sides in the past decade, prehaps thats why we havent heard much up until now?

What happened to the wimmera league? Used to be great footy. Seems like there is only 2 clubs ever in with a chance now when I have a look. Did the Rats bank account dry up?

was glad to see that in the arrarat eagles game on sat that the umpires have seemed to wise up to alan batch throwing his head back in packs and taking dives one umpire actualy threatened to report him hopefully they might start pulling up his name sake from the demons aswell

Wimmera League 2010