Woodville - Team of the Century (Part 2)

The Big Warrior

Feb 16, 2005
Pecker Park
Woodville F.C.
Re: Woodville - Team of the Century!

Heritage Game Lunch Interview with Des O' Dwyer....

Just thought I would post details of the heritage game (23/8/08) lunch interview with one of the 1988 Escort Cup Premiership champions, Des aka " Dirty" or " Desparate " O' Dwyer. Des hailed from Shepparton in Victoria and played his junior footy there before being recruited by Melbourne. He played some VFL games with the Demons but never " really cemented a spot " in their team. However, he did kick 10 Goals in a game for them on one occasion.

He was recruited by Norwood and had in his opinion a bit of an up and down career at The Parade. He also kicked a bag of 10 Goals in a game for Norwood too... He said the writing was on the wall for him at Norwood when after training on a Thursday night, he discovered that he hadn't been named in either the League or Reserves sides!! Being well over 19 Y.O. he jokingly said that he didn't bother looking for his name in the U19's...LOL.

Not long after this he bumped into former Norwood team mate James Fantasia, who had joined the playing ranks at Woodville and jokingly said to him " You can tell Malcolm ( Blight) I'm available for a game ". To his total surprise he got a phone call from " The Messiah " inviting him to training at Oval Avenue the following week!! After a few Ressies appearances he made his League Debut in Rd. 15 of the 1986 Season. Which was a 31 point " thrashing " of Sturt at Pecker Park!

Des was very grateful he said to James Fantasia for passing on that information to the club and being able to be part of the Warriors famous 1986 Finals campaign! He and James particularly enjoyed being part of the Warrior combination that flogged Norwood by 43 points in the Elim. Final..His biggest disappointments were the '86 Prelim. Final loss to Glenelg and after a great start in '87 bowing out early in the finals that year! Another highlight of course was the '88 Escort Cup flag!

Des also commented on some of the great players he had played with at Oval Avenue and paid a special tribute to Steve Nichols. Steve Nichols he said was the finest kick of a football he has ever seen and commented that it was a shame we hadn't seen him over in Adelaide much since his playing days. Methinks there wouldn't be too many of us ( Warriors anyway..) that would argue with that!! Des O' Dwyer played with Woodville from middish 1986 to 1990 incl. and played many fine games mainly at FB for the Mighty Warriors.

He played 105 Games and kicked 7 Goals during his Woodville career...Don't have his Norwood or Melbourne details and also played in the early '90s for Woodville/West Torrens. Not bad stuff for somebody considered unable to crack even a Ressies game at Norwood in '86!! Was a highly enjoyable interview enjoyed by all, Des has a very engaging personality. We had the pleasure of sharing a drink or 3 and some laughs with Des and the other Warrior champs that were in attendance to the " wee hours "....that night.
Cheers everyone, TBW.

SANFL DVDs/VIDEO of footage from 1989/1990
Hi there,
I have been looking for any footage of the Woodville Warriors during the last two years that they played.
The 1989 and 1990 seasons.
I was also after any footage from the SANFL V WAFL game that took place in 1990.
I have checked the newspapers from this time and both ABC and Channel9 covered quite a few of the games, however, getting hold of these has been really quite difficult.
I rang SANFL and they recommended the ABC or the State Library, however, both only hold finals from the 1989, 1990 period.

I checked out some excellent footage on YOUTUBE that was posted by NorthAdelaide and this covered a few games.

Has anyone out there got some footage from this time that they are willing to share with me? Or let me know where I might find some?
Thanks

Calling all old Footy Fans: Woodville particularly but other club supporters with pre- 1968 memories....

Just wondering if anybody out there in Big Footy land has pre-1968 memories of the Mighty Peckers? I say this as a Pecker diehard from 1968 onwards. Was there anyone posting or even reading who was at games from 1964-67 inclusive. If you aren't a member please join ( it costs nothing..) and share these precious memories!!

My earliest ( whatsoever..) memory of seeing the Peckers in action was on 30/7/66, I was watching a replay of a Glenelg vs Woodville clash at the Bay, which we won...woohooo! This game was on maybe Channel 2?! and The Mighty Peckers destroyed Glenelg 13-17 95 to the Bays 12-9 81 before an intimate " gathering " of 3,518 folk. George Roache kicked 5.2 that day, bewildering the Tiger defence and Peter Obst, Bob Simunsen and Johnny O' Connor ( much to Fatty Lumpkin's delight..) all dobbed 2 Goals apiece!

Recall thinking the Bay boys would not have enjoyed losing to one of the " new teams " hee hee... Was anyone reading able to share some similar memory more vividly from those pioneering years at Pecker Park .. Kindest Regards, TBW.

Des O'Dwyer Norwood and Eagles stats,

Norwood 21 games 50 goals,

Eagles 17 games 4 goals in 91, dunno if he played in 92, it would have been his last yr if he did.

Before all that he got in 8 games for Melbourne

Hi everybody and hope we are all having a highly enjoyable 2009 thus far! Thought I better post some Woody info. and come up with some " new " stuff for us devotees of the W.F.C. to reflect upon...The player I will discuss ( I am positive) has not been mentioned before in the previous thread.

It is 1964 player: DES BATT. Des who ?? you might say...but this chappie wrote himself into the record books! " The Battster " became the first Pecker to play in a victory in his League debut! In Round 3 of 1964, Des in his first appearance at League level was a part of our 10 point massacre...LOL of fellow SANFL newcomer Central District at Pecker Park before a crowd of 2925. Have always thought the first game between the two new sides might have drawn a bigger crowd !?!

This game was on Sat. 25/4/64: Round 3 and the final score was Woodville 9.14 68 defeated Cent. Dist. 8.10 58. There was a full round of 5 games that Anzac Day. I believe Des Batt started on the bench ( 19th or 20th man..) and only hope he got on the park to savour the victory...My research came up with the fact that " The Battster " was a wingman/HFF. Prior to our admission into League ranks in '64, he had played 45 Seconds games between 1961-63. In his second League appearance the following week he kicked 2.0 out of a " modest " 6.10 in our 39 point loss to Norwood also at Oval Avenue.

Des Batt played all of his 11 League Games in the 1964 Season and kicked a total of 2.1. Even though we also beat Centrals in Rounds 9 & 19 in 1964, Des was playing in the Seconds on those occasions! Des made the Best Players list once only and that was in Round 16: 8/8/64 in our 49 point loss to Westies at Richmond Oval. A mere crowd of 1834 were on hand to witness some wizardry and pure magic from " The Battster "...

Methinks he may have been related to Ron Batt who was our Captain Coach from 1956-58 in Amateur League just prior to being admitted to the Seconds comp. in the SANFL from 1959-63. In a special note to Fatty Lumpkin, Des Batt wore the NO. 13 guernsey in his 11 League Games in '64.

Why might this be significant???...Well as Fatty may recall ( this is a test of memory!) "the one and only" TERRY DUKE wore the No. 13 jumper in his ONLY League appearance in Rd. 1, 1964. It appears the No. 13 guernsey may have been unlucky for Messrs. Duke & Batt in 1964.

However, the Number 13 Guernsey was worn by some champions of Oval Avenue in the following years... A bit of additional trivia from Des Batt's League debut, was that Lionel Bradley ( father of Craig) tasted victory in his debut game for Woodville. However, Lionel had previously played some League Games with Torrens in the 1950s, so as such it wasn't his first league game!

Finally, is there anybody out there perchance who knew ( or knows..) DES " The Battster " Batt??...A famous Pecker in more respects than he may know!!

I know where a Des Batt lived until about May last year. It was certainly in the Woodville area. Do we have the ability to PM each other.

Otherwise if you can get in touch with Leaping Lindner he will be able to give you my private email details so that I can give you the info I have.

Does anyone on here have a Woodville peckers guernsey?

Ive got a warriors one but I really want a peckers one.

I was contemplating buying the 'heritage' one they wore last year but would prefer a real one.

I know where a Des Batt lived until about May last year. It was certainly in the Woodville area. Do we have the ability to PM each other.

Otherwise if you can get in touch with Leaping Lindner he will be able to give you my private email details so that I can give you the info I have.

Cheers, Robranisgod! What a small world Adelaide is...Please check your private messages. Many thanks, TBW.

Does anyone on here have a Woodville peckers guernsey?

Ive got a warriors one but I really want a peckers one.

I was contemplating buying the 'heritage' one they wore last year but would prefer a real one.
I'll wear mine if you come to a Crows game in Melbourne. :)

Wouldnt be the same.

It would be gun to get my hands on one of the lace up Woody guernseys.

Ah its a shame. They really were the best going round in my biased opinion.

The Kreig Dynasty at the Woodville Football Club...

Some ardent Peckers ( Myself included..) may have not realised that three Kreig brothers played League Football with the Mighty Peckers... I certainly knew there were two but wasn't 100% sure about the third. They were the GREAT- Larry Kreig a crowd favourite at Oval Avenue, who played 45 Games and kicked 8 Goals from 1977-81, Graeme Kreig who played 5 Games and dobbed 3 Goals in 1977 and Peter Kreig who played his 1 Game, 0 Goals in Rd. 22 of 1980.

In a slightly amusing anecdote were the brothers Kreig ever compared to a famous comedy trio! That being the Three Stooges...Larry, Graeme " Curly " and Peter " Mo"! Apologies for my silliness..LOL. Both Graeme and Peter are not the players of the same name who played for Centrals and in the latter case North Adelaide also!!

Actually met up with Graeme Kreig fairly recently and recall meeting him in his Pecker days he is a mate of Leon & Bruce Twelftree, they all hailed from Minlaton on the Yorke Peninsula. Graeme was a KPP but suffered with a few injuries whilst at Oval Avenue in '77, severly restricting his progress. Ironically he said he had caught up with Bruce Twelftree for lunch only a few weeks prior..Graeme is a very easy going bloke, who these days plays lawn bowls and enjoys a quiet beer or two after..

The youngest of the trio: Peter joined the Air Force shortly after his only League Game in 1980. Happy to say that Peter played in a winning Pecker combination that day! Recall being at this game, but " disgracefully " can't say I recall the youngest Kreig. DOES ANYONE?? It was at Prospect Oval on 6/9/80..( My bro's 21st birthday, what a present..) when Woodville 22 16 (148) " pulverised " North Adelaide 21 10 (136).

Peter Kreig who wore the No. 18 Guernsey in his only League Game, was listed in the Woody bible as having played in the Ressies from Rds. 2 to 21 inclusive, finally got his chance but his country needed him more...

As for that fine rucking craftsman ( don't say that too quick..)- Larry: these days he is principal of a private school in country W.A. Always thought Larry had the look of an academic person, perhaps a scientist, professor or similar ..LOL. Was a very underrated player I believe and would often match it with the more fancied ruckmen in the competition. Larry had a big engine and seemed to be able to run all day often taking good marks at both ends of the ground.

If he was named on the bench and brought on during the game, he often had an immediate, positive impact in his own " unassuming " way..Larry Kreig was a true character of the club! Methinks those kiddies in W.A. may not realise how lucky they are to have the great man as their headmaster....

Can recall Larry, but not Curly & Mo!!! In fact i think somewhere in part 1 of this thread there is a pic or Larry displaying the "professor" look.

Good stuff TBW:thumbsu:

Hey everyone, Don't have birthdates available on many of the legendary Woodville League players from 1964- to the late 1970s but can post birthdays for most of the 1980s onward Peckers/Warrior champs and dare I say it ( but only the minority..LOL) "chumps"! Knew those old Footy Times yearbooks, might come in handy...some of these names will test the memory of any Woody diehard!! Although this is the last day of January, I will kick off with the birthdays that occurred in the first month of the year. Happy to add that I do have some birthdays of " older " Peckers in my kitbag...

I will list the player and the age they are now, listed in date order for the month of January.

Steve Jacquier & Scott McDonald both 47 on 10th Jan.

Bob Beecroft 57 and Ian Jones 46 both on 11th Jan.

Des Hicks 46 on 14th Jan.

Peter Mangelsen 46 on 15th Jan.

Glynn Hewitt 56 on 16th Jan.

Randall Jolly 43 on 17th Jan.

Mark Krzeminski 47 on 19th Jan.

Greg Hutton 48 on 21st Jan.

Andrew Matheson 49 on 23rd Jan.

Garry Williams 47 on 25th Jan.

Colin Graham 51 on 26th Jan.

John Parker 45 on 27th Jan.

Neil Turner 45 on 28th Jan.

Garth Newton 43 on 29th Jan.

and finally a Pecker from the '60s/'70s the great man Eddie Holland 60 on the 30th January.

Don't know about anyone else but suddenly I don't seem as old now...LOL. Could forgive anyone if you don't recall a few of these chaps who didn't play " often " at 2.20 PM on a Saturday arvo... ( at least for the W.F.C.) is anyone prepared to name them?!? All comments or questions welcome...Cheers, TBW.

I was born in 1959 and have memories of the early days of Woodville. I remember walking past Singer Edwards place and he had a pair of footy boots on his front gate. One painted green and the other gold. I remember Craig McKellar used to live on Trimmer Pde at Bus Stop 27 and would be seen on Sunday arvo, dressed in an old Pecker lace up jumper and footy shorts mowing the front lawn. He would sign autographs to kids walking by. I also have a memory of Jim Crighton who was secretary of the club in the early days. He was always around the Woodville suburbs singing the Woody Wood Pecker song. He would walk into the bank, a barber's shop the butchers and would start up "Come on the Peckers, Come on the Peckers .... it's the Woody Woody Peckers Song"

My introduction to Woodville Oval was in 1967. As an eight year old I went to the season opener against Glenelg. All the talk that day was about Neil Kerley being the new coach of the Bays. The Peckers got thrashed. I also went to the Port game at Woodville that season. Again another thrashing. I did however see The Peckers draw with Sturt at Woodville late in the season. A week later I was at Alberton to watch the Peckers against Port. It was the most peculiar day of footy I can remember. The game started in perfect spring weather, but by half way through the first quarter an almighty wind had come up. Unfortunately Woodville were kicking into it. Then it started to rain and it rained and rained and rained. I think Port managed five goals for the day and Woodville managed two.

A week later was the last round of the season. I was given a choice to either go to the Royal Adelaide Show or go down to Oval Ave to watch the Peckers take on West Torrens. I chose to go the footy. The Peckers lost but I was hooked. A Pecker for life.

In 1968 I went to every game at Oval Ave. Work had begun on the Barry Jarman Stand and the clubrooms behind the goals. Each week everyone commented on how the stand was coming along.

On one memorable day when Woodville was playing Norwood, I happened to be with a kid standing at the back door of the changerooms in the old grandstand and we tried the door and went in. Next thing we were in the changerooms watching the players going through their warm up. We stood in the corner not making a sound and no one told us to leave. Teaser was the playing coach wearing his familiar head band and soon he was giving his prematch address. He thundered that the Woodville Football Club had the chance to ensure that Norwood finished bottom for the first time in the history of that club. Woodville won that day and Norwood did finish bottom in season 1968.

I think that Norwood was ahead of its time in 1968. Robert Oatey was their coach and he was encouraging this handball game. Only problem was that in 1968 no one was ever running past for the handball. It was strange to watch. Oatey would come out of a pack with ball and handball backwards and then abuse his players for standing still. Unfortunately we don't have much video footage of the game in those days. It would be interesting to watch. Of course a couple of years later everyone was handballing. I think Jack Oatey and Sturt were ahead of Barassi in inventing the run on handball game.

Anyway Back to Oval Ave

Another vague memory I have of season 68 is Freddy Hansch being dropped to the seconds after playing in every league game the Peckers had played in prior to that game. At least that is the way I remember it. I think some of the faithful thought that Teaser was cruel dropping Freddie. It seemed to be a talking point in the outer when Freddie run out in the early game of that particular day.

I was born in 1959 and have memories of the early days of Woodville. I remember walking past Singer Edwards place and he had a pair of footy boots on his front gate. One painted green and the other gold. I remember Craig McKellar used to live on Trimmer Pde at Bus Stop 27 and would be seen on Sunday arvo, dressed in an old Pecker lace up jumper and footy shorts mowing the front lawn. He would sign autographs to kids walking by. I also have a memory of Jim Crighton who was secretary of the club in the early days. He was always around the Woodville suburbs singing the Woody Wood Pecker song. He would walk into the bank, a barber's shop the butchers and would start up "Come on the Peckers, Come on the Peckers .... it's the Woody Woody Peckers Song"

Welcome aboard vjeisman, there are some priceless memories here of your early days at Peckerland!! Only recently discovered the whereabouts of the late and great Jack " Singer " Edwards former home in Woodville West. Methinks a permanent shrine should be built there!! I wonder if the house still has the colour scheme inside which I recall hearing was painted green and gold throughout... " Singer " was a larger than life character and always made his presence felt on match day, decked out in the club colours. Can recall his sunglasses with one eye painted green & the other yellow..lol.

Still an " injustice " Craig McKellar wasn't picked in the 1969 All-Australian Side, recall as a young un ( I was born in '58) that he had a better carnival than Peter Darley who was awarded an All Australian blazer!! Of course I am unbiased...

Jim Crichton was as you said Secretary of the mighty W.F.C. from 1964-66 inclusive. I recall McAlmanac posting that Jim was heavily involved with the Woodville District Cricket Club also! Believe he may be the father or uncle of a former popular ' 80s trainer at Oval Avenue: Paul aka "Porky" Crichton, someone may be able to verify this??

Would have been inspiring to be in the local shops etc. hearing the club song belted out with great gusto by the club Secretary! Can also recall going into the Barry Jarman stand with my brother prior to games and listening to " Teaser's " pre-match addresses...We would " hang on his every word "..he would deliver his " sermon " with such force, you could see the " paint peeling off the walls ".

These and plenty of other ( too many to mention..) memories are contained in the previous Woodville Team of the Century thread, on this SANFL board. That's if you haven't already seen it...it is 153 pages worth!! But for your goodself and any other posters with memories from Peckerland, feel free to continue sharing these treasured memories. Cheers, T.B.W.

Wouldnt be the same.

It would be gun to get my hands on one of the lace up Woody guernseys.

Ah its a shame. They really were the best going round in my biased opinion.

Don't worry McAlmanac just wants any excuse to wear his jumper:p

Gerry at "Toss of the coin" did have a peckers lace up for a while. I'm not sure if he's still got and more importantly if he has still got it if it's for sale. You could try him though.

Only recently discovered the whereabouts of the late and great Jack " Singer " Edwards former home in Woodville West.
Im surprised you had the time dad to post this, after im sure not leaving the front of his house since you discovered its whereabouts! haha

Cheers, young fella yes it is a very holy and sacred home.. Methinks we should all join together and form " Singer's Synagogue " in his memory! All followers to be clothed in green and gold and weekly services to be held at Pecker Hill!!

But in all seriousness, Jack " Singer " Edwards was a wonderful servant of the Woodville Football Club. Did a lot of fundraising for the club, served the club as a team manager for the underage sides in the early days, a wonderful supporter and ambassador of the club too! Treasured memories of the great man all at Peckerland have!! Cheers everyone, TBW.

Anyway Back to Oval Ave

Another vague memory I have of season 68 is Freddy Hansch being dropped to the seconds after playing in every league game the Peckers had played in prior to that game. At least that is the way I remember it. I think some of the faithful thought that Teaser was cruel dropping Freddie. It seemed to be a talking point in the outer when Freddie run out in the early game of that particular day.[/QUOTE]

Cheers, 100 % correct- vjeisman, your memory is nothing short of brilliant... In all of Woodville's 92 League games to that point, Fred " Workhorse " Hansch and David " Nipper " Christie had played in them all! Incredibly, Fred played in the Seconds for the remainder of the year in ' 68 from Rds. 13-20. He was omitted after our Rd. 12 game against Glenelg at the Bay( SPECIAL NOTE: M.J. Blight's League DEBUT..) after being in our Best Players for Rds. 10 & 11!?! Nor was he selected in any of our 3 Night Series games at the end of the '68 Season, we made the prelim. final of that comp. Did " Workhorse " Hansch have a falling out with coach Teasdale???

As for " Nipper " Christie he had played 95 consecutive games prior to sustaining a season ending injury in the Rd. 15 game of '68 against the Roosters at Pecker Park. Both players chalked up their 100th League Games in 1969. David Christie ironically in the Rd. 5 game against North at Oval Avenue...which we sadly lost by 53 Points. Fred Hansch missed 6 Games with injury earlier in '69, but played his 100th game in the Rd. 14 clash with Westies at Pecker Park. Unfortunately we narrowly went down by 7 Points.

I must add unlike vjeisman I had to consult the " Woody Bible " for this specific information. But have memories of going into the changerooms in the new Barry Jarman Stand from the start of the '69 season, to hear those inspiring pre-game speeches from Teaser! My brother, yours truly and other fellow Pecker devotees would hang on his every word!! To quote Bruce McAvaney- " SPECIAL "....

Jim Crichton was as you said Secretary of the mighty W.F.C. from 1964-66 inclusive. I recall McAlmanac posting that Jim was heavily involved with the Woodville District Cricket Club also! Believe he may be the father or uncle of a former popular ' 80s trainer at Oval Avenue: Paul aka "Porky" Crichton, someone may be able to verify this??

Correct on all counts. Jim Crichton was also Assistant General Manager of the S.A. Housing Trust up until his death in around 1990 or 1991. I worked at the Trust, as did his sons Paul (Porky) and Rick Crichton.

The SA Housing Trust was something of a haven for footy and cricket types. John Girardi worked there as did (amongst others at various times), Ralph Sewer, Malcolm Ellis (North Adelaide), Greg Anderson, Graham Plew (Westies), Jeff Benton and Dean Sayers (Woodville and SA state cricketers), Ross Porritt (Norwood) and I'm sure there were others who slipped my memory.

Michael Aish's wife Pam Spalding also worked there and Michael was a regular fixture at many of our social occasions as well.

Noel Teasdale owned the Saracens Head in Carrington Street which was a regular Friday night haunt - and his daughter Dana also worked at the Trust. Gary McIntosh used to work at the Saracens for a while as well - was a great bloke, even though he did play for the Legs.

Michael Aish's wife Pam Spalding also worked there and Michael was a regular fixture at many of our social occasions as well.

My memory is playing tricks on me - Michael Aish's wife's maiden name was Spurling - not Spalding!

The SA Housing Trust was something of a haven for footy and cricket types. John Girardi worked there as did (amongst others at various times), Ralph Sewer, Malcolm Ellis (North Adelaide), Greg Anderson, Graham Plew (Westies), Jeff Benton and Dean Sayers (Woodville and SA state cricketers), Ross Porritt (Norwood) and I'm sure there were others who slipped my memory.

Pretty sure Malcolm Ellis is still there.

Correct on all counts. Jim Crichton was also Assistant General Manager of the S.A. Housing Trust up until his death in around 1990 or 1991. I worked at the Trust, as did his sons Paul (Porky) and Rick Crichton.

Cheers McCavity, great stuff!! I didn't know that the great man Ralphie Sewer had worked at the Housing Trust! Must have been a while back as methinks he has been working as a fireman "for many a year"... going back to the mid '70s( at least..) I would have thought.

Another former Pecker great- Ray Huppatz works at the S.A.H.T. currently as well! But as you said some footy notables there! Graham Plew I recall played on the HBF for Westies, he had long hair and a moustache from memory.

Can recall that Paul " Porky " Crichton continued his training career at South Adelaide. Believe he got on well with John Reid and after " Reidy " got the coaching gig at South, " Porky " followed him to Pantherland.

Read on another post McCavity that you have followed Centrals from their early days. Out of curiousity do you recall much from those early years following the Dogs?? Perhaps even early clashes between those " traditional rivals " The Bulldogs and The Peckers....All the best, TBW.

Woodville - Team of the Century (Part 2)