Woodville - Team of the Century!

Origins of M.J. Blight's nickname at Pecker Park....

Have never thought to ask about Blighty's " old " nickname- SCATCHER which I can recall from as far back as the late 1960s! Does that great Woody Historian: McAlmanac happen to know how this nickname came about?!? Had he had this moniker from his pre-Woodville days, maybe at Findon High or playing at the Kilkenny ( now Woodville South ) Cats...

This has to be the answer we await with baited breath...Cheers all, TBW.
I think it's from when he was a little kid, he would say "scatch" as an abbreviation of "give us a catch". I stand to be corrected, though.

"Scratcher" Blight
"Needles" Winstanley
"Pennies" Heaven
"JC" Cummins
"Buff" Tyrell
"Zipzap" Sewer

ok - lets have the nicknames of the rest

John McInnes coached Sturt's League side for a short time while Jack Oatey was ill. I reckon it must have been 1982 - he wasn't Reserves coach in 80 or 81 (Robert Oatey was) and Jack's last year was 82.

Yep, coached the first few games of the season while Jack had a hip operation. Remained as Sturt assistant while John Halbert was coach also.

"Dollar" Panizza

Here's a few more off the top of my head....

Rod " Rocket " Allen
Bill " Sidewinder " Davis
Eddie " Turbo " Holland
Max " Bullitt " Parker
Trevor " Snapper/ Piero " Pierson
Leon " Stumpy " Twelftree
Ray " Tamba/ Mighty Mouse " Huppatz
Ian " Skeeter/ Detto " Dettmann

Kevin " Ox/ Razorback/ Bricker? " Harris
Ray " Moldy " Mildenhall
Ian " Drops " Rainbird
Barry " Lurch " Goodingham

Here's a few more off the top of my head....

And a couple more...LOL...

From the " old days " a few of the 1964 Pioneers: David " Nipper " Christie, Graham " Geeber " Crammond and Fred " Workhorse " Hansch. Brief 70's Peckers: Peter " Noisy " Garrard- Played 4 League Games in '71 and another Peter, " the one that got away ", " Flies " Meuret. Played 5 Games and dobbed 7 Goals in '73.

Then these '80s onwards Champs-: Darren " Dasher " Debrenni, Ron " Kirkie " Fuller, Des " Boofa " Hicks, Darren " Gobbledock " Klemm, David " Mongo " Llewelyn- 2 Games in '90, Trevor " Duck " McDonald, Robert " Mad Dog " Muir, Romano " Tower " Negri, Garth " Legend " Newton, Des " Dirty " O'Dwyer, Scott " Doc " Parsons, Shane " Chesty " Reardon, Andrew " Roo " Rogers, Peter " Nig " Schwarz, Andrew " Shark " Taylor and 9 Game, 4 Goal 1990 Warrior- Rob " Slammer " Trkula.

There's a few more to come methinks.....Cheers, TBW.

What about the great "Teaser"? :thumbsu:

Andrew "Metho" Matheson
Bob "Jungles" Ford
Jeff "Rusty" Iron
Stephen "Chook" Fowles

I think I just spotted a train....

What about the great "Teaser"? :thumbsu:

Andrew "Metho" Matheson
Bob "Jungles" Ford
Jeff "Rusty" Iron
Stephen "Chook" Fowles

I think I just spotted a train....

Cheers, McAlmanac some more nicknames to savour....

Geoff " Banger " Baynes
David " Rocky " Butterworth
Michael " Errol " Flynn
Peter " Scooter " Harvey
Terry " Reggie " Libbis
Noel " Moonta " McCormack
Tim " Cloudman " McLeod
Phil " Meggsie " Maylin
David " Sam " Trimbell
Kevin " Joel " Tschirpig
Neil " Nobby " Turner - Played 2 Games in '87, former Torrens player, fairly sure he was a member of the '87 Reserves Premiership Team.

Thought it was Skeeter Harvey??

"Ocker" O'Connor.

What did the Brenton, Coudraye & Richter boys get called?? Just recall "Big Jim" Brenton.
Mike Dozna - just plain old Doz??

Thought it was Skeeter Harvey??

"Ocker" O'Connor.

What did the Brenton, Coudraye & Richter boys get called?? Just recall "Big Jim" Brenton.
Mike Dozna - just plain old Doz??

Fatty, "Skeeter " Harvey, could well be on the money! I thought it was " Scooter ", but may have heard it wrong. Ian Dettmann's nickname is definitely-: SKEETER. Have some ancient recollection that Jimmy Brenton was known as " Beanpole " but I wouldn't stake too much on it... also Mike Doszna I recall was maybe known as " Dizzy " ?!? Maybe because he made opposition defenders dizzy....LOL.

Don't recall the Richters or Coudrayes having nicknames...but Eddie Richter could be " Steady Eddie "!! Did the " great " Ray Boyanich have a nickname?? What about Bill Ruth?? Ahhh...the list goes on....

Some more nicknames...

Dredging them up now but here's a few more! Legendary club figure: Jack " Singer " Edwards. This great Woody man had his house painted out in green and gold!! Great fundraiser for the W.F.C. and a real character of the club. Used to walk around Pecker Hill on match days, firing everyone up. Much can be written about this larger than life supporter...he bled green & gold!!

And one for the trainspotters, three time Colts/U17s Premiership Coach: George " Tuppence " Kersley. The Colts won Premierships under his expert guidance in 1962, 1964 & 1967. He coached the Colts from 1960-1967 inclusive. Ralph Sewer has said " Tuppence " Kersley was a very influential Coach in his career!!

Finally an administrator's nickname: Bill " The Colonel " Sanders....Does anyone have any more? We might have covered a lot of them, methinks...

Remember Singer's Wheel? Singer would also don his green and gold wig back at the club when the League side won.

2008 Woodville Heritage Game....IMPORTANT NOTIFICATION...

Big announcement I have to pass on...the 2008 Woodville Heritage game will be held on 23/8/08 which is the Rd. 21 clash at Woodville Oval ( Mecca..) between the Eagles and Glenelg. This game will honour the 1980s Warriors (broadly speaking it appears) as I believe it covers Woody champs from throughout the '80s!! Players like: Darryl Hewitt, Bart Darmody, Brian Close, Ian Dettmann, Steve Jacquier, Alex Lunn, Brett Mackereth, Trevor Pierson, Doug Koop are some of the names I have heard mentioned!!

When I hear anything more I will post it...There is a luncheon to be held at the club in honour of these legends! I also hear that this may be the last of these heritage games, hoping not....So fellow Peckers & Warriors insert this on your Social Calendar/ Travel Diary and let us attend in large numbers on 23/8, just less than 3 months away! The magnificent Woodville Warriors guernseys worn between 1983-90 incl. will be worn on the day and I understand will be auctioned off on ebay after the game!

Big chance to catch up with some heroes of the W.F.C. and of course fellow Pecker Hill legends ( in our own minds?!?..)

Fatty Lumpkin, That response was brilliant young fella! LMAO...Yes, the sacred memories we all have of the days at Pecker Park will never be tarnished by unwelcome and uninvited INTRUDERS!! You can infiltrate our beloved club but you will never ERASE OUR MEMORIES...In true BRAVEHEART STYLE ( FREEDOM!!!)...Rah, Rah and much sword waving!!

On a serious note( if that's possible after that..) will my esteemed Woody colleagues and legends of Pecker Hill: Fatty Lumpkin, McAlmanac, Woodville Woodpecker, I Am The Warrior etc. etc. rate themselves as chances of making the trek to Oval Avenue on the day!! Should be " one hell of a day " and night! 23/8/08....All roads lead to PECKER PARK... All the best, TBW.

Time for the Peckers Trainspotting Quiz

easy one to begin...

1. What occurred on 11/4/1964?
2. What about 25/4/1964 ?

3. A big couple of weeks in Woody history - 25/6/77 & 2/7/77. Significant for what?
4. Round 15, 1969 - start of something special. What?
5. What about 6/7/1968?
6. or even 7/9/85 (a bit of September action!!)
7. Round 20, 1990 saw what?
8. 24/3/1973 - for the first time!!
9. 15/5/1976 - for the first time officially!!
10. More September action - 23/9/1972
11. Who did we knock off on 23/8/1969?
12. 29/9/1973 - this September action's getting monotonous!
13. 27/7/1974 - a first
14. Where were you on 20/5/78?

and a few for non-Pecker supporters...

15. A black day for LL on 2/6/1974
16. LL - where you there on 4/5/1974?
17. Aug 23, 1975 ??
18. 6/7/1940 - who'd play fullback?
19. Round 1 1925 - a shock!
20. 15/6/1963 - should be taught at schools.

A quick crack late at night....

1. First game (v North)
2. First win (v Central)
3. Colin MacVicar walks out, then Woodville defeat Norwood?
4. Ralph Sewer's League career?
5. Blighty's first game
6. Blighty's last game
7. Last ever Woodville game
8. First ever win over North?
9. First win over Port
10. Coca Cola Cup victory
11. Sturt at Woodville Oval, telecast on Channel 7
12. Reserves premiership
13. Drew with Port - the first "non loss"
14. Only victory at Alberton Oval - Mike Coward conducts the interviews in the changerooms after the game
17. The "19 man" game, West Torrens v West Adelaide. Fred Bills' 300th
20. State victory over Victoria at the MCG

A quick crack late at night....

1. First game (v North) yep
2. First win (v Central) yep
3. Colin MacVicar walks out, (Looking for something else at Footy Park) then Woodville defeat Norwood? :thumbsu: in what is known worldwide as the ......... game?)
4. Ralph Sewer's League career? :yep
5. Blighty's first game: yep
6. Blighty's last game: yep
7. Last ever Woodville game (Some-one elses last game was what I was after)
8. First ever win over North?:thumbsdown:
9. First win over Port : yep
10. Coca Cola Cup victory : yep
11. Sturt at Woodville Oval, telecast on Channel 7 yep
12. Reserves premiership yep
13. Drew with Port - the first "non loss":thumbsdown:
14. Only victory at Alberton Oval - Mike Coward conducts the interviews in the changerooms after the game : yep
17. The "19 man" game, West Torrens v West Adelaide. Fred Bills' 300th (may well have been - was looking for something BIG down the Bay
20. State victory over Victoria at the MCG:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Not bad Mac. A few North questions amongst the last 6.
Q8. note the date - it's March!
Q13. the draw was in May. (Actually best check me answer with this one!!!)

I only visit once a year or so, but I have found a few free moments to eulogise about The Centre Of The Universe (because it deserves more than a passing comment).

Firstly, the mounds. They're bloody everywhere. And isn't that a beautiful thing? Peckers Hill, in the north west pocket, is where the club members and hardcore Peckers generally stood. The most dedicated of the dedicated would get a spot on the bench by the fence (Mrs Ford Fairlane included, I believe ;) ).

To get to this pocket, you had to walk past the tin shed selling Big Ben pies and pasties - surely the worst ever made, but somehow tasting just that bit better at The Centre Of The Universe. It sat next to the old bomb shelter, the contents of which us local kids always wondered about. There was also the canteen housed in the Barry Jarman Stand, where luminary ancillary workers like Shirley Sincock, Mavis Harrison and Norma Roache (mother of George) dispensed the Cokes, Polly Waffles and Redskins.

Ah, the Barry Jarman Stand. Named after a former Woodville wicketkeeper and Australian Test vice captain - who just about never bloody set foot in the ground afterwards. He buggered off to Kensington! Anyway, it was the domain of the most loyal Pecker faithful (my mum used to sit with those of Bill Ruth and the Richter brothers). The home team changed here and there were times you could stand behind it at half time and hear the paint peeling to the "addresses" of Noel Teasdale, Malcolm Blight or John Reid. In the mid 70's, they introduced a "revolutionary" net the players could kick into before training or a game. There was also a room in which the cheer squad held its floggers and banner - "OUR POWERFUL PRESSURISING PECKERS FOR PREMIERS".

The stand on the wing is the fabulously named Percy Fox Green Stand. I think my dad helped work on this stand, but I couldn't tell you who Percy Fox Green was. The away team changed here and it was also the changerooms for district cricket matches. I have phoned through the scores from many a day's play from the claustrophobic phone room in this stand. It also had possibly the most uncomfortable seats in Australian Rules grandstand history.

The south western pocket has a massive mound which tends to be populated by opposition supporters. Moving around to the south western pocket, a bar was built in the late 80's to attract tinnie loving Warriors. A passout at half time here gave you quick access to the pinnies at the Koolunda Avenue shops.

A beautiful long set of terrace steps adorns the outer. Another opposition supporter stronghold.

The north eastern pocket has the familiar Coca Cola scoreboard and Caltex clock. A windsock generally promoted somebody like Jack Baker Tyres. Some lovely pine trees provide a backdrop before the vista morphs into the world famous Peckers Club.

The Peckers Club. What a social phenomenon. Legendary dispensers of beer included Peter Foskett, Alby Agett and John Russell. It was expanded in the late 70's, a time which also saw the introduction upstairs on a Thursday night of Peckers Disco. Australian music "legends" to appear here included Dragon, Ol' 55 and Sharon O'Neill.

Why do I have such vivid memories of Woodville Oval? Growing up in Glengarry Street (the one that faces the cement tennis courts), I spent Tuesday and Thursday nights watching training (fetching balls from over the fence for Gary Edwards and the like) and Sundays practising checksides from impossible angles. The rubbish, streamers and cut up turf were tangible reminders that League footy had been played there the previous day. And no matter where Woodville stood on the premiership table, there was always at least one or two players who were as good as any in the land.

Whilst trolling for a few questions for the above quiz, I came upon this - one of the many unanswered questions - Who was Percy Fox Green ??

and a few for non-Pecker supporters...

15. A black day for LL on 2/6/1974 - God is struck down by Satan on the turf of the SCG.:(
16. LL - where you there on 4/5/1974? - First match at Foody Park - Dogs vs Chooks. Being 11 at the time i was only allowed to venture to Prospect occassionally and even then only with mum. West Lakes may as well have been on the moon!
18. 6/7/1940 - who'd play fullback? - Ken Farmer's 23 goal game. The Torren's full back (whose name escapes me) played all day on Farmer as they didn't tend to swap positions mid match in those days - poor bugger.
19. Round 1 1925 - Glenelg's first win in football (??)
20. 15/6/1963 -
Along with 28/12/1836 THE most famous day in South Australian History:D

By the way I think Percy Fox was a long serving Woodville Council member who was integral in getting Woodville Oval used for league football - but may be wrong.

Here's one for Fatty and Macca (and Big Warrior)

27/8/1977 ??????

Cheers Leaping hope life is treating you well matey! (yeh, hup). The date of 27/8/1977 is very significant in the history of Roosters vs Peckers encounters at Prospect Oval. On this " sacred " date Woodville won their first game against North Adelaide at Prospect....yeeha! Prospect Oval was where we played our Inaugural League game on 11/4/64.

On this day on 27/8/77 a smallish crowd of 2,682 Rooster and Pecker devotees saw Woodville 15-17 107 triumph over North Adelaide 14-17 101. I have the Pecker details only from the Woody Bible. Maybe L.L. has the Rooster particulars? Anyhow this is what I can provide-:

WOODVILLE 5-5 6-10 13-16 15-17 107
NTH. ADEL. 5-4 7-8 8-9 14-17 101

WOODV. BEST PLAYERS: Sewer, Heaven, Ruth, Parker, Roberts, Crane.
WOODV. GOALSCORERS: Roberts 7.1, Sewer 3.4, L. Twelftree 2.1, Dennes 2.0, Hardy 1.1, Jensen & Crane both 0.2, Tyrrell, Schutz, Ruth & Parker all 0.1. Rushed: 0.2. CROWD: 2682.

In 1977 which was a minor round of 22 Games, North Adelaide finished in eighth position with seven wins and one draw, Woodville in 9th spot with six wins and current SANFL " powerhouse " Central Districts bottom with 5 wins and one draw. Ahhh, history....Cheers all, TBW.

Cheers Leaping hope life is treating you well matey! (yeh, hup). The date of 27/8/1977 is very significant in the history of Roosters vs Peckers encounters at Prospect Oval. On this " sacred " date Woodville won their first game against North Adelaide at Prospect....yeeha! Prospect Oval was where we played our Inaugural League game on 11/4/64.

On this day on 27/8/77 a smallish crowd of 2,682 Rooster and Pecker devotees saw Woodville 15-17 107 triumph over North Adelaide 14-17 101. I have the Pecker details only from the Woody Bible. Maybe L.L. has the Rooster particulars? Anyhow this is what I can provide-:

WOODVILLE 5-5 6-10 13-16 15-17 107
NTH. ADEL. 5-4 7-8 8-9 14-17 101

WOODV. BEST PLAYERS: Sewer, Heaven, Ruth, Parker, Roberts, Crane.
WOODV. GOALSCORERS: Roberts 7.1, Sewer 3.4, L. Twelftree 2.1, Dennes 2.0, Hardy 1.1, Jensen & Crane both 0.2, Tyrrell, Schutz, Ruth & Parker all 0.1. Rushed: 0.2. CROWD: 2682.

In 1977 which was a minor round of 22 Games, North Adelaide finished in eighth position with seven wins and one draw, Woodville in 9th spot with six wins and current SANFL " powerhouse " Central Districts bottom with 5 wins and one draw. Ahhh, history....Cheers all, TBW.

My most distinct memory of the day apart from hearing Mike Patterson's last ever 3/4 time address - language which would have made a sailor blush - was our appalling kicking at goal in the last quarter (8 points) and every time Peter Anderson had to kick in he took the absolute amount of time to do so. Clever delaying tactics there. Also Greg McAdam made his debut that day.

Time for the Peckers Trainspotting Quiz

8. 24/3/1973 - for the first time!!
13. 27/7/1974 - a first

Fatty L. oh great Peckers Trainspotting Quizmaster, can I humbly submit my answers to the two questions above. Firstly may I pay tribute to my esteemed Pecker colleague - McAlmanac for his " late night " answers to your brilliant ( but not easy..) quiz.

Question 8- 24/3/73: Although a pre-season trial game the Mighty Peckers beat Port Adelaide for the very first time. Scores were: WOODVILLE 18-14 122 pulverised PORT ADELAIDE 14-5 89. Pretty sure I dug up the details of this classic trial game victory and posted it sometime back... The game was at Pecker Park and yours truly and my brother were perched in the Barry Jarman Stand enjoying every second of it!! Was a hot day from memory and the Peckers were on fire...

Question 13- 27/7/74....Woodville's first ever game at Football Park. Sadly we lost this game to Port Adelaide " by a little bit " Port Adel. 18-17 125 scraping in over Woodville 10-16 76. A pretty reasonable crowd of 8771 was in attendance. From memory I recall posting details of Woody firsts at Footy Pk. and reckon the great Eddie " Turbo " Holland had the first kick by a Woodville Player in League Footy at Football Pk. I reckon " Filthy " Phil Smith kicked the first goal by a Pecker at Footy Pk.

Only a few weeks after on 17/8/74, those Powerful Pressurising Peckers won their first game at Footy Park, yeeha...Before a loyal gathering of 2580 supporters we " thrashed..LOL " South Adelaide. Scores were-: Woodville 14-12 96 defeated South Adel. 12-21 93. I can hear Wally May now- " Bad kicking is bad football!"
FOOTNOTE TO FATTY L. : You will be rapt to hear that Trevor Jacka who I recall you named " THE ANGRY MAN " was named as our 5th Best Player that day and wreaked havoc around goals dobbing 3.2! What a performance from " the angry man" !! Was this Trev's finest day in the " Green & Gold "???...