bunsen burner

Hall of Famer
Veteran 30k Posts 10k Posts
Sep 12, 2001
Firstly, I have no problems with anyone knocking him. He is responsible for this year's performance. If players are down on confidence or their skills are down, then that is a reflection on the coach.

BUT

What do you guys hope to achieve by calling for his head? What do you want to happen? How will his sacking get us closer to a flag?

If by this time next year there is no improvement, then I'll start questioning him, but rght now he is gong to deliver us a quality draftee who may go a long way towards our next flag. Whilst he's not coaching well, a good coach would not get a flag out of this list.

So what's the point? Do you guys really want to milk this list right now for an 8th place finish? Where's that going to get us?

It's a massive over-reaction from 'the sky is falling' crowd after a bad season. Nobody ever suggests somebody who can, or would, come in and coach us - it's just "sack Worsfold".

Nevermind that he has already rebuilt this club once and took us to 2 grand finals and a flag.

Was thinking the same thing bunsen. Some people are just big drama queens. Lets wait another year and see where we're at then.

Firstly, I have no problems with anyone knocking him. He is responsible for this year's performance. If players are down on confidence or their skills are down, then that is a reflection on the coach.

BUT

What do you guys hope to achieve by calling for his head? What do you want to happen? How will his sacking get us closer to a flag?

If by this time next year there is no improvement, then I'll start questioning him, but rght now he is gong to deliver us a quality draftee who may go a long way towards our next flag. Whilst he's not coaching well, a good coach would not get a flag out of this list.

So what's the point? Do you guys really want to milk this list right now for an 8th place finish? Where's that going to get us?

Realistically I think if we get to the end of next season and we're still down near the bottom then the axe will start getting sharpened. There's a lot of young talent coming through the club and it's going to take time for them to be developed and to learn their part in the gameplan. This is a great test for Worsfold and the coaching staff though so it'll be interesting to watch it all unfold.

Give Woosha A Break

yes he is having a bad season but i think half of you are forgetting what he has done for this club as a coach, 6 final apperances, 2 granies and a premiership, has one the best win/lose records out of current coaches and some aare saying he is scating on thin ice.

its not his fault the players aint working hard enough for him, its not his fault coz they cant kick.

another thing he would have had judd and cousins in his plans for the next 3 years and they have left he has had to change all of his game plans, it will take time.

he should never be sacked or bagged untill at least 3 poor seasons, give the bloke a break

Re: Give Woosha A Break

yes he is having a bad season but i think half of you are forgetting what he has done for this club as a coach, 6 final apperances, 2 granies and a premiership, has one the best win/lose records out of current coaches and some aare saying he is scating on thin ice.

its not his fault the players aint working hard enough for him, its not his fault coz they cant kick.
another thing he would have had judd and cousins in his plans for the next 3 years and they have left he has had to change all of his game plans, it will take time.

he should never be sacked or bagged untill at least 3 poor seasons, give the bloke a break

Really well I'm :confused: he is the head coach right???????:eek:

It's a massive over-reaction from 'the sky is falling' crowd after a bad season. Nobody ever suggests somebody who can, or would, come in and coach us - it's just "sack Worsfold".

Nevermind that he has already rebuilt this club once and took us to 2 grand finals and a flag.

For god sake NO ONE is calling for Woosha to be sacked but we want to see him change things be inventive change the game plan when we are getting flogged pick there skill level up have some balls to get stuck in to them when they need a good kick in the guts , he does non of this he just accepts this shyte that they keep dishes up.:thumbsdown:

I've seen it mentioned in this forum several times since the Geelong loss. There was nothing Woosha could do last night, no coach could have done anything. No point in him getting stuck into the boys, they know last night wasn't acceptable and they'll cop the belting dished up from Geelong and learn from it.

sacking Woosha would be the wrong call.

not only because i don't think he deserves to be sacked, but there is no better option around at the moment.

After spending 6 years in finals the lack of top draft picks was always going to catch up on us - its unfortunate the loss of Judd and Cousins because that has 1) sped up the process, and 2) turned us worse than what we'd have otherwise been...

Woosha brings a lot of passion to this club and sometimes you really underestimate what that can do. he's been involved in all 5 of our grand finals, and has stood on the dias to accept all 3 of our premiership trophies. i hope he is standing there for our next 20.

i can appreciate that his game plan was never the greatest, but it was pretty effective, and the handball happy regime that came into play the day we beat adelaide by 90-odd points caught everyone off guard.

he's/our biggest problem is a lack of a plan b and i think that is one legimate critiscm that can be labelled at him.

but all in all getting rid of him wouldn't do any good for the club.

Same as "players don't lose ability", well coaches don't forget how to coach.

He's a good coach that will build your team up again, just have to give him the time needed

Ok so because he is a favourite son of the club he does not need to take any responsability? its everyone else's fault and nothing to do with Worsfold.

This is why many people say to ever get one of your own to coach because its to hard to get rid of them.

No one as mentioned before has asked for his head, all anyone wants is for him to do something instead of sitting around doing nothing.

I would not care if we lost by 135 points if I watched us play differently and try something new like using the corridor instead of the boundary line or whatever it is. Nothing chyanges he genuinly believes that his plan to keep sides to 12 goals or less will be enough.

Anyway we are stuck with him for now so its all a pointless thread especially because he is a favourite son of the club, if it was anyone else you would all be calling for his head, Just not Woosha

Same as "players don't lose ability", well coaches don't forget how to coach.

Well, FWIW, players do lose ability of course. :rolleyes:

As to whether 'coaches don't forget how to coach', this really has no relevance. The game itself is changing every year, opposition coaches are usually trying something different form week to week, season to season. This means any coach has to adapt depending on all those factors, plus being aware of the capabilities of his own team.

As to the infantile accusations here of people just being 'drama queens' and calling for Woosha's head, I've seen maybe only one or two such outcries. The main drift of criticism as I see it is about Woosha's accountability or lack of it, and whether he is as bloody-minded as he seems to be in sending out teams with who knows what sort of preparation simply to get thrashed.

"We're learning, it's important that we get bashed so we can then appreciate the success".

That's bollocks for mine. What are the kids learning by being humiliated ? Why does anyone or any team ever need to get smashed into submission before they can be ulitmately successful ?

Those are the types of comments from Woosha that do make me wonder if he's really on top of things.

For god sake NO ONE is calling for Woosha to be sacked

:confused: You created a thread saying that Woosha's time is up as coach.....

No one as mentioned before has asked for his head, all anyone wants is for him to do something instead of sitting around doing nothing.

Really? Take a look on just the first 2 pages of this forum;

"Woosha"
"If we win the spoon"
"Skating on thin ice is Worsfold....."

Pathetic, the man took us from 14th place to a flag and people are ready to throw him away because we'll miss the finals for the first time under him. At least give him more than half a ____ing season to rebuild the team before you flogs start sticking the boots in.

Ok so because he is a favourite son of the club he does not need to take any responsability? its everyone else's fault and nothing to do with Worsfold.

This is why many people say to ever get one of your own to coach because its to hard to get rid of them.

I would not care if we lost by 135 points if I watched us play differently and try something new like using the corridor instead of the boundary line or whatever it is. Nothing chyanges he genuinly believes that his plan to keep sides to 12 goals or less will be enough.

Anyway we are stuck with him for now so its all a pointless thread especially because he is a favourite son of the club, if it was anyone else you would all be calling for his head, Just not Woosha

They were calling for Thompson's head in 2006 and look at Geelong now. We have had a bad run with injuries not allowing us to have a settled side. We've lost four players from last season, two who were stars. Rojo was a lose as he was a blocker for Judd and an on field leader not that most on this board could see that. Chick was a hard at the ball player, Cuzz was a freak and Judd was great. You don't lose players like that and not have it affect your club. Woosha maybe our favorite son as you put it but he is doing the best he can with the team he is able to have on the park each week. Yes there will be changes at years end and not just to players, but at the end of it all we will have have a stronger drug free club who will lead the way with their professionalism both on and off the field. You and some of the other negative people on this forum need to take a chill pill.

Woosha isnt the problem. His steely gaze is the stuff of inspirational legend. Not one person in footy can stand infront of our squad and demand blood with near as much authority. The man embodies WCE, and everyone knows it and deeply respects him for it. He isnt the most astute matchday coach, which is surely obvious by now, however he is irreplacable as our spiritual leader.

The problem isnt Woosh. In a coaching panel of 4, 6 ,8, (10?) surely there will always be a spot for Woosha and that deadly stare?

Its the rest of the muppets around him in the box that need to be recycled.

John Worsfold can coach WC for the next 100 years, weekend at bernies style in the later years if needed... we just need to get a smarter (& less nepotistic) brains trust around him. Surely there is a super astute game day tactician floating about somewhere.

Time for a new right hand. Nothing wrong with the head... or heart, to be more accurate.

Woosha isnt the problem. His steely gaze is the stuff of inspirational legend. Not one person in footy can stand infront of our squad and demand blood with near as much authority. The man embodies WCE, and everyone knows it and deeply respects him for it. He isnt the most astute matchday coach, which is surely obvious by now, however he is irreplacable as our spiritual leader.

The problem isnt Woosh. In a coaching panel of 4, 6 ,8, (10?) surely there will always be a spot for Woosha and that deadly stare?

Its the rest of the muppets around him in the box that need to be recycled.

John Worsfold can coach WC for the next 100 years, weekend at bernies style in the later years if needed... we just need to get a smarter (& less nepotistic) brains trust around him. Surely there is a super astute game day tactician floating about somewhere.

Time for a new right hand. Nothing wrong with the head... or heart, to be more accurate.
Maybe you are right he might need some diferent people around him but how can you call for his assistants heads and say John is doing great but his assistants are stuffing it up. His assistants are implementing the plan John told them to implement.

I've seen it mentioned in this forum several times since the Geelong loss. There was nothing Woosha could do last night, no coach could have done anything. No point in him getting stuck into the boys, they know last night wasn't acceptable and they'll cop the belting dished up from Geelong and learn from it.

Where has it been said sack Woosha?

Excuses.......:eek:

Interesting initial post date on that thread. May 31st......the day Collingwood flogged us. Why didn't you ask if Woosha's time was up a week earlier? You started the thread but didn't offer your own opinion, do you think his time is up? You also conveniently brought the same thread up again after another smashing, where were you when we took Sydney to the limit and just lost to Essendon?

I would not care if we lost by 135 points if I watched us play differently and try something new like using the corridor instead of the boundary line or whatever it is.

I love quotes like this.

Its Worsfold's fault they use the boundary line. Players use that because its easier then going down the corridor. Of course Worsefold (and any coach) would prefer going down the middle but you just can't wave a magic wand and it happens.

Nothing chyanges he genuinly believes that his plan to keep sides to 12 goals or less will be enough.

Oh you have talked to him have you? Stop making shit up.

I love quotes like this.

Its Worsfold's fault they use the boundary line. Players use that because its easier then going down the corridor. Of course Worsefold (and any coach) would prefer going down the middle but you just can't wave a magic wand and it happens.

Oh you have talked to him have you? Stop making shit up.
You could try it once in a while though. Your in denial mate!

Exactly right!! We need another Woosha on field!!

We thought we might have found a new one in Beau Waters, but now he's out. We need someone who's not afraid to take on the likes of Barry Hall when he thumped Staker. Someone who will stand up for his teammates and for the jumper!

I'll never forget the day Woosha ran through Chris McDermott like a mack truck!! Sent a message that we were playing for keeps.

Forget the innacurate disposals. I couldn't care less right now. We need teams fearing getting smashed in tackles and marking contests so that they respect what we stand for again.:thumbsu:

Well, FWIW, players do lose ability of course. :rolleyes:

I disagree

Players lose form, lose fitness, lose youth, lose confidence, lose motivation, but they never lose that natural talent & ability that they are born with.

Ever heard of the old saying "The mind is willing, but the flesh is weak"?

Well that's footy players all over.

If their body's had given up on them guys like Nathan Buckey, Mark Riccuto, Michael Voss, etc etc would still be out there thrilling the crowds with their enormous talents

As to whether 'coaches don't forget how to coach', this really has no relevance. The game itself is changing every year, opposition coaches are usually trying something different form week to week, season to season. This means any coach has to adapt depending on all those factors, plus being aware of the capabilities of his own team.

Of course coaches have to adapt, that's part of knowing how to coach, no one season will ever be the same as the season prior, or the one coming.

Knowing how to coach includes not only the day to day training & organisation of a team, but also tactics, management of player injuries & welfare, team selection, match day coaching & response to on field occurrences & response to the individual's match day performance, plus many more issues including handling of the media etc.

No, coaches do not forget how to coach, but they do sometimes grow less able to cope with the demands of coaching.

This is not Worsfold, he's still a fine coach, which, IMO, he'll prove over the coming seasons

Worsfold knockers