Yarra Valley-Mountain District FL Discussion Forum 3

Yes Sportguru, l was wondering how the game hasnt been changed, l know the league has to plan ahead & Upwey will say there happy to play the game anywhere, but there should be another ground on standby if Worri had of got through.
ln local footy home ground is a massive advantage & the 1st divy granny hasnt been played at Worri for a couple of years now.

Upwey to win both, clearly the best side in the Seniors with only one loss and a massive percentage advantage over Woori - 270 to 166. Maybe because it is played at Woori (how does that work) it might get closer.

Upwey even more clearly dominant in ressies - percentage of 426 to 191. I hear on the grapevine that there aren't any players eligible to come back for Monnie from last week - so Upwey easily.

Upwey are deserved favourites in both senior games. Their records in each level has been little short of amazing, so they should carry it off. No disrespect to Woori, but Upwey are quite special and the home ground advantage will only serve to reduce the winning margin.
Monnie's reserves seem to have been Runner's Up for centuries! Their consistency has been something else, but there is always someone able to sour their day. Being rank outsiders may just be a help this time.
Monbulk's U18's have completed a remarkable season! Vin Dunstan accepted the role of coach of a side that didn't exist, cobbled together a motley bunch of mostly 1st year U18's who looked unlikely to make any impression for most of the year. They propelled themselves into fifth spot with some gritty late wins, but were not fashionable picks. Three amazing finals games against the best on offer sees them into a Grand Final. Can the fairy tale continue? Go Vinnie and the boys!

Upwey are deserved favourites in both senior games. Their records in each level has been little short of amazing, so they should carry it off. No disrespect to Woori, but Upwey are quite special and the home ground advantage will only serve to reduce the winning margin.
Monnie's reserves seem to have been Runner's Up for centuries! Their consistency has been something else, but there is always someone able to sour their day. Being rank outsiders may just be a help this time.
Monbulk's U18's have completed a remarkable season! Vin Dunstan accepted the role of coach of a side that didn't exist, cobbled together a motley bunch of mostly 1st year U18's who looked unlikely to make any impression for most of the year. They propelled themselves into fifth spot with some gritty late wins, but were not fashionable picks. Three amazing finals games against the best on offer sees them into a Grand Final. Can the fairy tale continue? Go Vinnie and the boys!

Hey MH/Cagga - was wondering if there were a few blokes running around in he 2's that have played in a fair few GF's but have never tasted victory? I would have thought that Bluey and Armin have played in lots of GF's. I'm fairly certain Sascha and Jez Ymer played in senior flags in the 90's.

It would be good to see the guys pinch one.

Just watched the Local Footy Show on channel 31 and what a great advertisement for the YVMDFL, Kinglake and Olinda. It's on again tomorrow morning from 9.30. Gee, the Frankston Bombers and Maribrynong Park certainly know how to celebrate. I wonder how much they would've made with a $20.00 entrance fee!!

Good luck to all teams tomorrow. If it is half as good as last week's Division 2 Grand Final it will be a ripper.

Dad' army with the umpire appointments and sorry Moin, from my watching this year your mate has been given a standard that he deserved.

Look fwd to Moin's review of the day as the preview is great - keep up the good work Moin.

My tips;

Under 18: Mount Evelyn. Fair effort from both these teams considering neither had an Under 18 team in 2008.

Reserves: Monbulk's experience will give them the edge.

Seniors: Should be a cracker. Woori at home may have the edge but Upwey have been the stand out team in 2009 so that makes them favorites in my opinion.

Umpires for the Upwey v Woori game:
McNiece
Shoebridge
Lemercier

Moin's little mate doing the 2s. Quite surprised at the umpires who finished above him!

Whys that Johnboy?

Have to say well done to the umpiring crew in 2009, the improvement from my observations has been massive in comparison to 2008. Having the doyen of umpiring John Edwards must be doing wonders for them.

Whys that Johnboy?

Have to say well done to the umpiring crew in 2009, the improvement from my observations has been massive in comparison to 2008. Having the doyen of umpiring John Edwards must be doing wonders for them.

You must be joking local.... I have never seen a lower standard of umpiring in my life. The year has been a disgrace. It is the one thing that is holding this league back. I can tell you that umpires in other comps see this league as the very bottom of the scale. We need to do something to attract better umpires. More pay? Improved education? Something......

RHT you are a tool. I dont know what you have been watching all year but but from my point of view and all the clubs I talk to they have been very happy with the standard and also the numbers. We are getting more umpires back and this will contine next year based on discussion the umpires have had with prospective new umpires. The last thing I can say to you is see you in February next year at umpires training as obviously you are a top class umpire who can share your knowledge and add value to the umpires

Graeme Tuplin
President YVMDFNL

RHT you are a tool. I dont know what you have been watching all year but but from my point of view and all the clubs I talk to they have been very happy with the standard and also the numbers. We are getting more umpires back and this will contine next year based on discussion the umpires have had with prospective new umpires. The last thing I can say to you is see you in February next year at umpires training as obviously you are a top class umpire who can share your knowledge and add value to the umpires

Graeme Tuplin
President YVMDFNL

Well said, Graeme. Bet he doesn't turn up at training as he is all talk and no actiion.

Hey MH/Cagga - was wondering if there were a few blokes running around in he 2's that have played in a fair few GF's but have never tasted victory? I would have thought that Bluey and Armin have played in lots of GF's. I'm fairly certain Sascha and Jez Ymer played in senior flags in the 90's.

It would be good to see the guys pinch one.
Yes would be nice

Upwey to win both, clearly the best side in the Seniors with only one loss and a massive percentage advantage over Woori - 270 to 166. Maybe because it is played at Woori (how does that work) it might get closer.

Upwey even more clearly dominant in ressies - percentage of 426 to 191. I hear on the grapevine that there aren't any players eligible to come back for Monnie from last week - so Upwey easily.

Sounds like you are on the money.

So unprofessional by the YVMDFL, surely Div 1 games should be scheduled on Div 2 grounds for finals, vice verca for Div 2. Then no team would have a "supposed" home ground advantage. Learn from the EFL boys:thumbsdown:

How sweet it is!!!:)

Yep! Well done, big D. Easily the best side all year and a deserved win over a gallant Woori. Two fine teams.
Monbulk Under 18s must be the story of the season, though. What a mighty effort to come from the bleachers and then take the flag. A fairytale ending and not enough can be said about the effort of Vin and the boys. A remarkable achievement from a bunch of mostly first year players.
Listened to the call on the web while recovering from pneumonia and I do enjoy Leo's clever repartee. Mind you, he has plenty of fertile ground to work with! The commentary from Fooey and Billy provides him with endless material!

Red Hot Tip, I can't agree with your comments on the umpires and I also can't see how it will help. Tuppo was robust in his defence of the maggots, so you did hit a nerve! When the Brookers hit their straps next year, I guess you will settle. John Edwards is a huge influence and has left his mark on this group. You should see the umpiring in other leagues such as the MPNFL, GFL, etc. before your comments can be taken seriously, but I will concede this point: many of our umps are a little rounder than most!

To all forum visitors, good luck to your clubs next year!

So unprofessional by the YVMDFL, surely Div 1 games should be scheduled on Div 2 grounds for finals, vice verca for Div 2. Then no team would have a "supposed" home ground advantage. Learn from the EFL boys:thumbsdown:
Even when Bayswater where in EFL division 1 the finals were at Bayswater, they even played in a few in 1998-2000 at home.