Yarra Valley-Mountain District FL Discussion Forum 3

I wouldnt be looking forward to it McCavity!

in my opinion its great that both clubs retain the players out of the season instead of loosing them elsewhere!
i know at our club we only have 14 genuine U18s with usually 5 or 6 U16s playing each week, its amazing to see the improvement in the kids from the start to finish.
and hopefully there have been a few senior footballers developed, which otherwise wouldnt have played footy this season if the club didnt get a team up.

which brings me to another well discussed point, how do you get more unders players?

Do we create 17s 15s 13s etc instead of the current 18s 16s 14s.??
common trends suggest that its the top age under 18 players that tend to drop off more so than the u17 age group...

Interesting point Cheeno and one that I too have thought about. It seems that as soon as some young kids get their licence their attention turns to other things. I know alot of young kids who are doing apprenticeships and work Saturdays. Those kids that continue playing on from the U/17, who perhaps are not as well developed physically, could then spend a year or 2 playing Reserves football before making the transition to the 1's.

In relation to discussions b/ween the great Rhino and Grego and the Wardsman, i think that it will be beneficial for that clarification on Woori Tiger to predict that the Woori seiors will have the flag in their up keep

Interesting point Cheeno and one that I too have thought about. It seems that as soon as some young kids get their licence their attention turns to other things. I know alot of young kids who are doing apprenticeships and work Saturdays. Those kids that continue playing on from the U/17, who perhaps are not as well developed physically, could then spend a year or 2 playing Reserves football before making the transition to the 1's.

i know at our club we lost 3 u18s throughout the season due to apprenticeships.
it needs to be addressed i think because some teams playing with 14 and 15 just doesn't look good.

Woori Tiger, i think you need to relax on the premiership claims, no flags are won yet matey.

Yes Humpa, 2 weeks in a row now it is starting to irk me.
Train 2 nights a week, and still no run
I may be growin old and smoke n drink to much just like yourself
(cept you dont smoke) but that shouldnt stop me for having a go
:mad:

A few fractions in the Woori camp? Reminds me a little of Garry Ablett Jnr. Could this harm Woori's flag chances? LOL :)

The key word was up not down.Could'nt care less what happens at that club.
Hahahaha you are a too, you claim you don't care yet every post you seem to make is somehow relating Gembrook to Emerald. Are you seriously still sooking on the internet over your old club moving forward? Mate, you're at Gembrook now and the Brookers are doing extremely well, stop crying about the past and hiding behind a screen name (though most people are pretty confident about who you are) when your club is going well you skirt. Emerald is a club very much on the rise (and before you play the card about where we are on the ladder, where were the Brookers last year?) and hope to be competing in first division as soon as possible. A lot of things have been put into place and there just might just be a few handy players coming back to the club that even you would be shocked about.

Spend more time appreciating the club that you're at and less about the one that you're no longer.

Hahahaha you are a too, you claim you don't care yet every post you seem to make is somehow relating Gembrook to Emerald. Are you seriously still sooking on the internet over your old club moving forward? Mate, you're at Gembrook now and the Brookers are doing extremely well, stop crying about the past and hiding behind a screen name (though most people are pretty confident about who you are) when your club is going well you skirt. Emerald is a club very much on the rise (and before you play the card about where we are on the ladder, where were the Brookers last year?) and hope to be competing in first division as soon as possible. A lot of things have been put into place and there just might just be a few handy players coming back to the club that even you would be shocked about.

Spend more time appreciating the club that you're at and less about the one that you're no longer.

Interesting rant there. I think you will find that Captiger was contributing to a discussion around some false statements by the Pres of Emerald in a state wide newspaper. He is not stoking the fire on this one - the only ones who need to move on are 'down the hill' in particular the big pres-o.

As much as in might hurt to hear - some players didnt want to be at your club and be involved in your culture. A lot like some players at Gembrook who also made the decision that they didn't want to be a part of the new culture and have moved to Emerald. Good luck to them - we hope they enjoy their footy. You do not see us crying in newspapers that they have moved on and there was about 6 of them, more than has moved the other way.

Captiger is well entitled to his opinion here (as is everyone).

Good luck for the rest of the year and next year J6shSC.

is it just us, or do most clubs find the home club that your playing away at, seem to have there bloody grand final, or past player reunions when you play them.

Hahaha I thought that last week over at upwey but then remembered they win the flag pretty much every year so quiet a few reunions to cover.

Any idea when the finals venues will be announced. Most other leagues have already announced theirs. I heard a rumor that they may be looking at div 1 finals in Alex. Although it is a great venue - I seriously hope it is just a rumour as it is just not practical for any team that is in the div 1 finals.

They played the Divvy 1 2nd Semi at Alex last year and it was a big success, I think the crowd was OK, and the condition of the ground made for good football. Netball inside complex as well. Big tick

I see that Powelltown are now equal 5th on the Ladder after their win on the weekend. Imagine if they were to sneak into 5th spot and Yarra Junction remained 4th. Now that would be an interesting final to watch. When was the last time Yarra Junction and Powelltown played against each other in a final?

Would be a fair game lets hope they play it up at Warby.

YVMDFNL Netball Wrap - 31 July

Division One

With finals looming, the girls from Upwey Tecoma defeated Olinda Ferny Creek 68 – 24 in a game where accurate shooting was the biggest difference between the two sides. Although the court was slippery, the overall weather was good for netball, with the Upwey girls proving that they can win in any conditions.

In a very one-sided match, the Warburton Millgrove girls played an excellent game against Woori Yallock, defeating their opponents 60 – 15. With a 45 goal win over the visiting side, the scoreboard difference will most definitely help the Warby girls’ percentage with September arriving shortly.

Playing at home this week, the Gembrook Cockatoo girls suffered a defeat at the hands of Monbulk, with the visiting team winning the match 54 – 19. Bouncing back from a loss against Mount Evelyn the previous week, the girls from Monbulk are now sitting in 4th position, where they need to be careful of Healesville, who are sitting only 2 points below them – I don’t think the bye next week could’ve come at a better time.

In a 2nd v 3rd clash, the Wandin girls held off a very competitive Healesville side to win the game 39 – 28. Wandin were very impressive and their skills were polished from the get-go, with their defenders relishing in the conditions. For Healesville, they will need to play at their very best if they still wish to continue with their finals campaign – their next opponent is the undefeated Mount Evelyn side.

Division Two

Bouncing back from a loss the previous week, Powelltown returned to being winners in style by defeating Alexandra at home, 45 – 16. Proving once again why they’re sitting on top of the ladder, the Powelltown girls are gearing up for finals, and with a win against Seville next week will surely secure their spot on top of the ladder.

Playing another week of great netball, the Emerald girls toppled another finals contender, with their latest victim being second-placed Seville. The two teams could hardly be separated for much of the game, where precise passing was crucial to the clubs’ success. However, Emerald managed to get on top in the end, winning the match 46 – 34.

After losing to Seville the previous week, the girls from Yea bounced back to defeat Yarra Junction, 53 – 19 in a very dominant game of netball. After having an inaccuracy problem in front of goals last week, the visiting team managed to overcome that problem this week, as displayed through their 34 goal win over Yarra Junction.

Belgrave, after a very long season, has finally celebrated their first win of 2010 with an excellent win over the Kinglake girls at the weekend. Playing at home, the Belgrave girls could do no wrong as they demonstrated their ability to change the game to suit their own style. With this being said, Belgrave won the match convincingly, 32 – 26.

Playing at home this weekend, the Thornton Eildon girls suffered a defeat at the hands of Yarra Glen at the weekend in a close match. Despite playing well, the home side was simply no match for the Yarra Glen girls, who went on to win the game 42 – 35 in a game where intercepts and accurate shooting was crucial

YVMDFNL Football Wrap - 31 July

Division One

Gembrook Cockatoo 21.11.137 defeated Monbulk 11.6.72. After an even first half, Gembrook dominated in the second to blow Monbulk away. At quarter time Gembrook held a narrow 1 point lead as both teams had 5 goals on the board. The second quarter saw Gembrook add a further 6 goals while Monbulk stayed right in touch booting five and at half time Gembrook held a 9 point lead. The 2nd half was all Gembrook as they added a further 10 goals while Monbulk could only add 1 more major for the game. Monbulk has now no chance of playing finals, the first time for many years. Gembrook Cockatoo’s best: Shane Williams (5 goals), Craig Clarke and Shannon Richardson. Monbulk’s best: Shannon Koole, Shaun Lucas and Benjamin Bedford-Lee.

Healesville 16.19.115 defeated Wandin 13.8.86. Healesville may have won the game but Wandin was always within striking distance for most of the day. Healesville did look in control for the majority of the match but their inaccuracy kept Wandin in the game. Healesville held a 1 point lead at the first change and extended that to 13 points at the half. Healesville outscored Wandin 4 goals to 3 in the 3rd to keep stretching their lead slightly. The last quarter was entertaining as there was 11 goals kicked, 6 by Healesville and 5 by Wandin which saw Healesville victorious by 29 points in an entertaining game. Healesville’s best: Matthew Fraraccio, Mark Gibb and Sam Turner. Wandin’s best: Matthew Lang, Tom Goodwin and Zachary King.

Woori Yallock 14.9.93 defeated Warburton Millgrove 14.6.90. A great game was put on by these 2 clubs with neither side deserving of a loss. After an even 1st quarter it looked as though Woori was about to take control as they kicked 4 goals to 1 to take a 26 point lead into the long break. Warby wasn’t going to roll over as they outscored Woori in the 3rd 6 goals to 4 and at the last change there was only 14 points in it. A great last quarter as Warby kept coming at Woori, Warby added a further 4 goals to their tally while Woori added 2 which was just enough to see Woori get home by 3 points in a classic. Woori Yallock’s best: Brendan Sneddon, Jesse Ridd and Benjamin Monkhorst. Warburton Millgrove’s best: Liam Barnard, Grant Newing and James Iacono.

Upwey Tecoma 19.13.127 defeated Olinda Ferny Creek 15.12.102. Olinda’s form has been nothing short of excellent of late and they took on the might of Upwey, yet another big test for the newcomers. Upwey had the better of it early as they jumped to a 3 goal lead at the first change. Upwey showed class in the 2nd quarter booting 6 goals while Olinda booted 3 to stay somewhat within striking distance at the half trailing by 38 points. As hard as Olinda tried to get back into the game in the 3rd , Upwey answered every challenge with both teams kicking 3 goals. Olinda did outscore Upwey in the last 5 goals to 3 but they never looked like overhauling Upwey’s lead. A great win by Upwey who now sit 2nd on the ladder while Olinda occupy 5th place. Upwey Tecoma’s best: Christopher Hayes, Ryan Van Hoorn and Joshua Kamoen. Olinda Ferny Creek’s best: Tom Millwood, Scott Tregoning and Patrick Rosier.

Mount Evelyn 21.22.148 defeated Silvan 8.14.62. Mount Evelyn made short work of Silvan as they cruised to an easy victory. Mount Evelyn jumped to a 27 point lead at the first change as Silvan couldn’t manage a major in the first quarter. The 2nd quarter was at least a more even affair with Mount Evelyn booting 3 goals while Silvan did manage 2. Mount Evelyn was solid in the 2nd half booting 7 goals in both the 3rd and last quarters while Silvan added just 3 in the 3rd and last quarters respectively to see Mount Evelyn run out big winners. Mount Evelyn’s best: Greg Polak (6 goals), Michael Smith and Keith Elliott.

Division Two

Powelltown 15.5.95 defeated Alexandra 10.12.72. Powelltown keep their finals hopes alive after a great win over Alexandra. Thanks to accurate kicking, Powelltown always looked in control and despite just 1 scoring shot apart; the difference at 3 quarter time was 31 points in favour of Powelltown. Alex did play their best football in the last quarter booting 5 goals but Powelltown managed to boot 4 majors themselves to win by an impressive 23 points. Powelltown’s best: Luke Darwall, Luke Kennelly and Sam Camilleri. Alexandra’s best: Corey Jack, Michael Bretherton and Neil Oakley.

Seville 13.13.91 defeated Emerald 9.12.66. Seville had to work hard to shake off a determined Emerald. Emerald went to the first break with a 4 point lead before Seville found some spark in the 2nd booting 6 goals to 3 to wrestle back the lead at half time. The 3rd quarter was an even affair with both teams scoring 3 majors and at the last change it was Seville by just 13 points. Goals were hard to come by in the final stanza as Seville only managed 2 but it was enough to keep Emerald at bay as they could only score the 1 goal for the quarter. Seville’s best: Brendan James, Paul Bailey and Matthew Crowle. Emerald’s best: Shaun Buhmann, Steven Wright and Jason Bova.

Kinglake 20.24.144 defeated Belgrave 13.12.90. Kinglake’s kicking efficiency was terrible in the first half which kept Belgrave in the game. At half time the score read Kinglake 7.16 to Belgrave’s 5.7. Belgrave kept coming at Kinglake in the 3rd and in fact outscored them 4 goals to 3 and at 3 quarter time the margin was just 18 points. Kinglake saved their best for last as they finished the day with a 10 goal final quarter to runaway with what looked like a comfortable, but scores can be deceiving. Kinglake’s best: Mathew Thomas, Kevin Smith and Jarrad Heal. Belgrave’s best: Peter Gough, Benjamin Dadswell and Matthew Jones-Bates.

Yarra Glen 32.9.201 defeated Thornton Eildon 10.5.65. A great 4 quarter effort by Yarra Glen who showed little mercy for their opponents. Yarra Glen started in great style booting 10 goals in the first quarter; Thornton wasn’t playing too bad as they managed to boot 5 majors themselves. A further 7 goals by Yarra Glen in the 2nd quarter to Thornton’s 3 and at half time the game was practically over with Yarra Glen leading by 55 points. The 2nd half was all Yarra Glen as they piled on another 15 goals and held Thornton to just 2 for the half which included a scoreless 3rd term. Yarra Glen will finish on top of the ladder and will look forward to a weeks break come round 1 of finals while Thornton’s finals aspirations are now looking shaky. Yarra Glen’s best: Mark Attard (7 goals), Leigh Hoffman and Peter Moate. Thornton Eildon’s best: Brendan Musgrove, David Cornish and Rhys Chapman.

Congratulations to 4 Yarra Valley Netballers

The YVMDFNL would like to congratulate Lauren Close (Wandin), Olivia Augton (Wandin), Ella Priestley (Mount Evelyn) and Gaby Duncan (Yea) on making it to the VNL Division 1 grand final with their team Boroondara Genesis.

The game will be played at the State Netball Hockey Centre on Saturday the 7th of August at 6.50pm, the girls will be playing Southern Saints in what is sure to be a great display of netball!

From everyone here at the YVMDFNL, we would like to wish the girls and the rest of their team good luck, for Saturday nights big game!

Slow forum...Where is Woori Tiger this week? Bit quiet for 3 weeks out from finals. Surely there must be some rumours out there???:footy: