Your favourite all time player never to play AFL / VFL

Without a doubt Phil Cleary. Coburg fans all loved him and opposition fans all loved to hate him. Add to that, he's a top bloke.

Without a doubt the best footballer I have ever seen was John Todd. To have won a Sandover Medal in your first year of seniors at 17 y.o. is quite something. Yet he may not have been so effective on the heavy Victorian grounds of the time e.g MCG mud pit.

I was also lucky enough to see John Todd's debut in the seconds grand final and how he absolutely blew everyone away. t was an absolute shame that his career was cut short by a knee injury.

Another vote for Stephen Michael. It was a terrible shame that he never played at the highest level.

Cost us big time. We neglected many possible gun recruits with the forlorn hope that Michael would finally come over.

The great Derek Chadwick from the Mighty Royals. I got his autograph EVERY week as a kid, later Ken (Noddy) McAullay. More recently Michael Swan and Devon Perry.

Please do not mention Michael Swan & Devon Perry in the same breath as Chaddy & Noddy !!!!!!. Wash your mouth out !!!.

Chadwick played umpteen State games, and I think holds the record for the most WAFL games without a premiership.

Noddy was very classy and won a Tassie Medal playing Full Back. He retired at about 25 due to injuries.

As for the best, TI, say no more

From a state league point of view, definitely MacIntosh, used to love watching him in SOO games.

I agree wholeheartedly. Only having access to TV footy...watching the Redlegs on the ABC was gold back in the day... Macca was a joy to watch. I recall Ron Joseph trying to lure him accross the border to North but he flat chat knocked it back.

Also Ron Joseph wanted to recruit Stephen Michael to North as well... I recall during the hot summers back in the day and the back of the Sunday Press read in bold headlines.. NORTH WANT MICHEAL with the Krakouer Brothers, Sandover Medalists, Peter Spencer & Phil Kelly along with Glendinning... North would of had it all.. who knows if Macca in the guts... definitely would of helped North in 1982... perhaps Russell Ebert should of stayed another two more years..

Gary McIntosh and Michael Aish from Norwood. Both would have flourished in the modern game. I didn't follow the VFL in those days so any Norwood man whose heart beat true for the red and the blue was considered a legend to us Legs' fans. I remember one game at Norwood one day and then Collingwood coach was walking around the outer and people were yelling out 'Get ya hands off our players Matthews' :)

Macca in particular would have been a good get for any VFL club and plenty were interested at the time.

brant chambers is mine.

from what my dad has told me, and seeing a few youtube highlights, paul bagshaw is one of the greatest players ever to play the game, forget just 'never to play vfl'.

Bagshaw was an absolute gun as was his teamate 'Flash' Graham. Sturt had some unbelievable players during the Oatey era.

Brant Chambers (sturt) was responsible for reviving my interest in the SANFL. It hasnt been the same without him!

The OP says "favourite" - not best. So mine would be Grenville Dietrich from North Adelaide. Not only did I like the Roosters, but I liked his name, his build and he could play!

As kids a mate and mine would play footy in my back yard and pretend to be real players. But we decided to be players who we'd noticed from State-of-Origin games. He was John Ironmonger (who did play VFL/AFL) and I was Michael Aish. We probably knew very little about them, but something made them stand out to us.

Barrie Robran. I think he signed with Carlton just to get them off his back.

The previous mention of Grenville Dietrich was a fine suggestion, finding out which pub he was in and getting him to the game would've been a lot harder though.... :)

Grenville Dietrich for mine. I remember growing up in the country and him returning home after his SANFL career with North Adelaide finished. Was truly worshiped by all that knew him, and his off field exploits were even greater than his on field performances. A ripping bloke, who had time for everyone. They dont make them like him anymore. Oh, and he could seriously play!

As a fossil:), Ive seen a lot of Tassie footy back when club footy was reasonably strong. I saw a lot of guys who I thought could have gone the next step. Things were different back then.
A guy who didnt even play for my club was Graeme Mackey. A tough, quick, beutiful kick, centreman for the great SandyBay teams of the 1970's. He played a lot of great footy for Tasmania at that time too. Their are others but he was special. He just played for the wrong club is all:p

Phil Costello. Played at Waverley in the 70's. Lightly framed CHF who took staging to new heights. Rumour has it he once collapsed to his knees at the pre-game handshake. We made all the jokes in the outer 'Costello's down! Must be a strong breeze in South America'. (And we were his fans). Lovely kick for goal. Could actually play a bit and was always rumoured to have had pre-season try-outs with VFL sides.

Had a great pr0n star 'tache as well.

Your favourite all time player never to play AFL / VFL