Smyth94

Oct 14, 2006
Arsenal, Oilers
G'day guys just wanted to know your favourite Essendon come backs of all time (dosn't matter what era)

Personally, it was Essendon vs Carlton (1997) we were down by 24-27 points with about 15min left and we looked gone... Mercuri streaming in from 50 and Silvagni marking it on the line (i almost died) and then shanking the kick to Scotty who blasted it through the sticks (i've never heard such a deafening roar)

Geez where do you start, with seen that many comebacks over the years especially in the 90's when you could just about guarantee if we were down that we'd come back and make a fist of it.

The Carlton come back was actually in '98.

Was sitting in the ponsford that day, I remember the blues supporters getting all cocky and arrogant (as they do) when they were up by about 4 goals after delulio I think had ripped a goal or 2 from his a**.

Everyone in the Ponsford thought Mercs had drilled it so we're all going nuts until we see the ball going back towards the 50m line then lucas drilling it through on the run, was an unbelievable atmosphere with the whole ground erupting.

Doesnt get much better than that.

Yeah that was a ripper - young Jason Johnson was good in that final qtr.
I would nominate 7 goals down vs the Crows in 93.
I was at that game seated just behind all the Carlton players.
Geez did they cop it after we won!
The roar that erupted after Mercuri goaled on the run in the 3rd term - to cut the lead to around 20 points - was amazing!!
Boris couldn't miss that day.

There was also the Anzac Day game against Melbourne in 1992.
40 odd points down at 3/4 time, Wanganeen kicked the winner from memory after a brilliant diving tackle.

Hard to pass the 1993 Prelim though, purely for the occassion.

40 odd points down at 3/4 time, Wanganeen kicked the winner from memory after a brilliant diving tackle.

Id kill for footage of that game, from memory, I think we were as far down as 49 points after Melbourne kicked the first of the final term.

It has to be the "COMEBACK" from 69 points down against the roos. It is the biggest comeback in league footy history, not to mention the greatest game of football i have ever watched.

The game had it all, Lloyd kicked 9, Hird was dominant and brilliant, Fletcher was awesome, but the thing that did it for me was the game from Jason JJ Johnson!

This was JJ at his finest and he was the reason we got back in the match. HIs running goal from 50 in the 2nd quarter is still one of my favourite passages of play in my lifetime! When he kicks the goaal you can see JJ celebrate and trying to fire the boys up for a comeback.

I never thought i would love a player as much as i love Jimmy, but on that afternoon, I fell in love with JJ!;)

40 odd points down at 3/4 time, Wanganeen kicked the winner from memory after a brilliant diving tackle..

oh man I forgot that one!

yep, oh yeh

my favorite comeback would have to be mal michael,all but gone for six weeks to rise out of nowhere......great comeback.

this one is easy for me.

1993 Preliminary final against the crows.

best comeback in my memory.

I do watch tapes of 1984 GF, that must have been great in the flesh

93 prelim against adelaide when mercs slotted that goal through and there would have been about 70,000 essendon supporters there the most deafening roar i have heard and meant so much more then that game against carlton in 98.

I was at both games and believe the 93 was the best, my best essendon game ever.

this one is easy for me.

1993 Preliminary final against the crows.

best comeback in my memory.

I do watch tapes of 1984 GF, that must have been great in the flesh

Being at the MCG on GF day in 1984 was the single best day of my life as a teenager. Brings tears to eyes just thinking about it:thumbsu: ;)

Id kill for footage of that game, from memory, I think we were as far down as 49 points after Melbourne kicked the first of the final term.

Just checked and I've got the whole match on VHS. Along with my other 500 hours of matches on video:D

84GF,but if u leave the greatest game in EFC history out of it.....

It has to be that North game in 2001.

This is how I watched it.

Living in Qld,no game on tele,put internet on and had 3AW thru the speakers.
Good transmission till half time and then......

Computer cracks it and only transmittes every 2 minutes for about 3minutes at a time!

Listened to whole game with gaps galore and every time the game came back on,we seemed to kick another goal. me and the next door nieghbour,an EFC supporter were huggin each other and jumpin around (p-ssed),couldn't believe we did it. Got tape sent up in 3 days (they replayed the game on tv that night in Melb)and watched it 87 times:thumbsu:

The great comebacks were many of the VFL games of the eighties with Salmon, van der Haar, Watson, Madden, Harvey, Daniher, etc. You know the ones.

The other team would be leading in the first quarter, second quarter, third quarter... and in typical Essendon fashion in those days, would be the greatest comeback in the final quarter.

It happened so often that it would have been an upset of Essendon didn't comeback in the final quarter.

Does anybody else remember, or is my memory a bit fuzzy? Mind you, I was young, but I do remember thinking that.

The great comebacks were many of the VFL games of the eighties with Salmon, van der Haar, Watson, Madden, Harvey, Daniher, etc. You know the ones.

The other team would be leading in the first quarter, second quarter, third quarter... and in typical Essendon fashion in those days, would be the greatest comeback in the final quarter.

It happened so often that it would have been an upset of Essendon didn't comeback in the final quarter.

Does anybody else remember, or is my memory a bit fuzzy? Mind you, I was young, but I do remember thinking that.

Jesus Christ,why don't u finally just give the lions the boot and become an Essendon supporter....your love for all things EFC can no longer be ignored.

You should have been at the 'G' in the 84 G/F when the Dodger took a mark in the goal square in the last quarter.

Was there in standing room at HFF in southern stand at the Leon Baker end in the last qu. Never heard so much noise. Also the 69 pt NM comeback, the Melb game in 92, 93 Prelim and don't forget the late 70s at Windy Hill pre Sheedy with Wayne Primmer, etc with those last qu comebacks! Yes I am old!

Do any of you people remember the come back against Carlton in the 80's?? Neale Daniher went ballistic in the last quarter and Essendon ended up winning being 4 goals down with around 10 minutes to go (along those lines)

Your favourite Essendon Comback