Your first SANFL game

Port vs Central in Whyalla was Round 2, Saturday, April 4, 1998. Have the budget from that day and Lockwood is named in that. Number 4. Port won 15.5.95 to 13.14.92.

My first game was Sturt vs Central at Unley(Round 9/10ish) as a 10 year old in 1981. Sturt won comfortably.

Port vs Central in Whyalla was Round 2, Saturday, April 4, 1998. Have the budget from that day and Lockwood is named in that. Number 4. Port won 15.5.95 to 13.14.92.

My first game was Sturt vs Central at Unley(Round 9/10ish) as a 10 year old in 1981. Sturt won comfortably.

here you go mate, round 9 1981
Sturt 20.17-137 defeated Central 16.15-111
goalkickers - Hollis 5, Howard 4, Heinrich 4, Whittlesea 3, Derrington 2, Graham 1, Wilson 1

I reckon my first game, at least the 1st I can remember, was against Centrals in about 1994. Back in the dark ages when we simply didnt win we knocked off the Doggies and all I can remember was the huge celebration both on and off the field after the game.

Well i would've been no older than 4 months old, so i can't remember a thing but my dad says it was at Alberton oval & we played & beat Norwood.

I think mine was around 1998-99, Port Adelaide vs. Central Districts at Elizabeth. I was 12-13 years old, and the only thing I remember from that game, I was wearing my Power scarf (I had no Magpies gear) and a Centrals supporter yelled at me saying it wasn't a Port Power game, this guy woulda been 40 odd year old and like 120kgs, and I yelled back at him saying 'It's still Port Adelaide!' :D

He shut up pretty quick.

I don't even remember if we won or lost that game.

However 1986 I will never forget, especially the 2nd half of that year will live with me forever. The 86 1st semi final against Port is still to this day the best game of football I have ever seen. I will never forget the sight of Port fans bailing me up in my Woodville scarf minutes after that game saying "I hope you thrash those Glenelg bastards next week". (I thought they were going to beat the shit of me !!!) I am a passionate WWTFC supporter to this day but nothing they have achieved will IMO better what the mighty Warriors achieved in 86.

Couldn't agree more Graham. '86 rocked big time. Got a clock radio for my 14th birthday, the first game i listened to was the 100+ point belting of Centrals that marked the first beginning of our turn around. The rest of that season was a magic carpet ride led by Blighty.

The win over the Legs in the elimination Final slightly edged for me, being our first ever finals win. Rate that season only just behind the '96 & '99 North Melbourne permierships for the greatest seasons in my life.

I too love WWT, '93 and '06 was something fantastic, but that euphoria of '86 still rides shotgun. Great to hear another old Warrior's joy. :thumbsu:

First game for me was Glenely vs South at the Bay in '83. Just moved back to SA and i was playing in the mini league. Remember it well and it was a huge thrill.

My 1st game SANFL game i attended was Port vs Sturt at Football Park 1985. Port won comfortably if i recall. I went to all of Port Adelaide's Finals & Grand Finals. I attended the Port vs Woodville 1 semi-final in 1986 which we lost after leading by about 8 goals in the 1st quarter? The 1st semi final vs Glenelg in 1987 was a total heartbreaker! Lost by 2 pts after hitting the post 5 or so times that game but we got Jack back & won 3 flags in a row 88, 89 & 90.

First game was in 1991 (Don't know which round), North Adelaide against Port at Prospect, I was only three and hence I don't remember much. Have hardly missed a game since.

I cant remember which one it was,but I suspect it was Sturt v South at Unley in the late 70's or Sturt v Port at Unley in the same season.I remember both games vividly.My dad argued with this old South supporter who had oiled hair,black framed glasses and a chronic ear wax issue.The Port game was memorable for all the wrong reasons because some Port Cheer Squead dick broke my Sturt flag pole.Some things never change.My sons first game was Sturt v North at Unley in 2004

First full game was first semi final at Adelaide Oval in 1971. Centrals vs Sturt. Final scores...Central 13 - 13 (91), Sturt 8 -16 (64). I can recall it being very warm, and the older Sturt champs making uncharacteristic errors (Shearman and Ottens missed sitters in front of goal) and it was Centrals first win in a final. I had to put up with the "Ceeennnntrallllssss" chant....a horrible experience....

I have a vivid memory of seeing legs and bottoms as a three or four-year old at a game at Alberton. It must have been about 1979. I could not tell you who Port were playing I didn't pay that much attention. I can remember that I got a little bored. Soon after, I was hooked.

Glenelg v North.
Played in the mini leauge that day:D
Stephen "Monkey arms" Copping kicked a bag from full forward. Graham Cornes was everywhere. Kym Hodgeman blitzed.
Cant remember too much more being 31 years ago:eek:

My first game was in 1964 at the Adelaide oval. I was 9 and came down from the country with my brother(11) and his friend(11). My dad dropped us off at the oval and we never saw him again for 6 days(he went on a bender):thumbsdown:

The game was between South and North and I remember thinking that it was "fake" cos the skills were so fantastic compared to the "A" graders at our country footy club. I remember seein David Kantilla and thinking wow look how black he was. I was used to Aboriginals but never that dark. He was just fantastic to watch. Cantr remember who won but remember we were stranded in Adelaide for a few hours till my grandparents collected us. The old man came home and my mother was too scared of him she never said a word.:mad:

Finally stumbled on this one tonight.

My first SANFL memories are something about Sturt, South, Adelaide Oval, Colin Casey having his jumper ripped, and a draw. I don't know if I'm melding memories of more than one game together.

Probably around 74 or 75. It was pre-77 at least.

Your first SANFL game

Write your reply...