Sorrento
Tirhatuan
U
Victoria
Waterford Valley
X
Yarrawonga
Z

Ask anyone that has fled from communist countries or brutal dictatorships what they think about this?

Have a friend from China. He's ok with it, bored cause he doesnt have anything to do. Asked the old man who fled communist china. Doesnt do anything now as he played at national 5 out of 7 days a week. He's in the stay at home camp, no golf. Encouraging extended family to do the same.
Also a friend from Nash who was a refugee. Fled in the dead of the night, walked across a number of SE asian countries to get away from pol pot. Ended up here. C'est la vie he said. I said speak english!!! haha nah i didnt say that.

Anyway, I know that's a small sample size (3 people), but it's all I have at the moment Lebbo73

Albert park, Australian (The)
Bonville
Cranbourne
Devilbend
Eastern
Flinders
Growling frog
Huntingdale
Indooroopilly
Joondoolup
Kingston Heath
Lakes (The)
Metropolitan
NSW, National (The)
Ocean Grove
Peninsula-Kingswood
Queensland (royal)
Riversdale
Sanctuary Lakes
Torquay
Ulverstone
Victoria
Warrnambool
X-golf mentone
Yarra Yarra
Zebra

How’s the theft of your civil liberties going for everyone down there in Victoria? I played 18 holes of golf yesterday at a nice course (Toowoomba Golf Club). I sent this text below to a mate:

Teed off at 2:30 and played from where the blue tees would have been (toughest tees). $20 because of late tee off. Normally $35. Course was in good nick. Greens are slow but they must’ve cored them last week. No markers, no flags, no sand buckets. The pins were in order of front, middle, back, front, middle, back, etc for holes 1 to 18. The buckets in the holes were upside down.
It was Par 70 and I shot 90 off the stick. I couldn’t putt to save myself but my tee shots were good on every hole except for holes 2 and 8.
Yes some people choose to go against the advice of staying home. We all want to get out and play, lucky to those who can but it gets to a point where you can either choose to do your bit, or choose to just do what you want and flaunt the advice. Although small, each time you leave the house it's increased risk of catching or spreading the virus. If half the country adopt that mentality, then it's a huge risk.

What news regarding subs Drofder Livonski from your clubs?

No word from National yet. PK subs to be paid in full.

Nothing yet, waiting to see the full extent. Acknowledge the issue, but members own the club and are responsible for the viability. No legal requirement to refund, whether there's a moral imperative, remains to be seen.
They've had enquiries on this but keeping options open at this point.
I reckon most members, like the footy club, will be happy enough to let it ride, understanding that if a call is required the members would be paying it back anyway. Whether there's a hardship criteria is another issue.

Well PK full subs - no discount in fact an increase.

YY hinting at the same but not confirmed.

Yes, I have the PK invoice and am considering options.

Nothing yet, waiting to see the full extent. Acknowledge the issue, but members own the club and are responsible for the viability. No legal requirement to refund, whether there's a moral imperative, remains to be seen.
They've had enquiries on this but keeping options open at this point.
I reckon most members, like the footy club, will be happy enough to let it ride, understanding that if a call is required the members would be paying it back anyway. Whether there's a hardship criteria is another issue.

You raise some good points. I dont think refunding is on the cards anywhere. PK has offered some free guest passes though as incentive to pay up front.

I’m ok with no refunds or not rolling an extra few months or whatever into next years subs. But because I’m a member of both PK and YY its sort of forced me to give up the PK membership. I had thought about keeping the two going but probably not now.

You thinking of the same Money Shot Pete ?

I’m ok with no refunds or not rolling an extra few months or whatever into next years subs. But because I’m a member of both PK and YY its sort of forced me to give up the PK membership. I had thought about keeping the two going but probably not now.

You thinking of the same Money Shot Pete ?

Clubs need members, members need the club. Its a beautiful relationship.

You were giving up PK i thought pre corona right? I think the covid simplifies your decision, as you said forced you to forgo PK.

Its a tough one, Ill definitely keep National. PK, something doesnt feel right but propbably will keep it. And hope to play it again in the nearish future

I paid my subs upfront at the start of the year. No word from my club as yet

Clubs need members, members need the club. Its a beautiful relationship.

You were giving up PK i thought pre corona right? I think the covid simplifies your decision, as you said forced you to forgo PK.

Its a tough one, Ill definitely keep National. PK, something doesnt feel right but propbably will keep it. And hope to play it again in the nearish future

Yeah. I totally agree with you. Something about PK just isn’t quite right. Good call. I can’t quite put my finger on it but you’re right.

Yeah I was gonna dice it but then thought ah gee maybe I’ll keep it going ...but obviously with cv it puts a different spin on things. I’ll make a decision in the next 3 weeks.

I reckon most members, like the footy club, will be happy enough to let it ride
Personally I find no similarities with AFL club membership when it comes to private golf club membership.

People are holding off on requesting refunds from their AFL clubs due to:

1) the average AFL club membership being very cheap compared to a private golf memberships (an AFL club CFO once told me that "AFL footy is perhaps the best value entertainment option on the market")

2) the AFL hopes to get somewhat close to a full season completed in 2020 by condensing the fixture

Private golf clubs don't share these traits. Every day a course is closed members are still paying to play! You can't refund time.

Personally I find no similarities with AFL club membership when it comes to private golf club membership.

People are holding off on requesting refunds from their AFL clubs due to:

1) the average AFL club membership being very cheap compared to a private golf memberships (an AFL club CFO once told me that "AFL footy is perhaps the best value entertainment option on the market")

2) the AFL hopes to get somewhat close to a full season completed in 2020 by condensing the fixture

Private golf clubs don't share these traits. Every day a course is closed members are still paying to play! You can't refund time.

The attitude of the members is the similarity, not the membership product. Read it again.
Every day the course is closed, the grass grows, the weeds grow, bunkers eroded in storms, pests invade etc etc.
No sponsors, no mega TV deals, no merchandise hanging off player popularity.
And no Tiger Army of 100,000 members to fund it. Probably 1500?
Golf club members are the primary funding mechanism (corporate days can help) and are responsible for the upkeep. Most understand this and choose to let it ride.
Give golf members a refund and the club will just make a call if funds run out.

The attitude of the members is the similarity, not the membership product. Read it again.
Every day the course is closed, the grass grows, the weeds grow, bunkers eroded in storms, pests invade etc etc.
Golf club members are the primary funding mechanism (corporate days can help) and are responsible for the upkeep. Most understand this and choose to let it ride.

Spot on.

Aren’t the maintenance team at Kingston using this time to cultivate and maintain the course? I know at National and PK they are.

*ive probably missed the point of the bold part*

Oh Tiger Army. What an army that is!

Golf has been on its knees for a while and I’m really fearing for some clubs. Clubs raising fees.. might as well put a fork in them.

That's why I said a few weeks ago when this cv disaster got going that it will push clubs who have been in merger talks with each other for years, to actually merge and merge quickly.

Yep that’ll happen I do worry some will just go broke though, many already were.

Most of the tier 1 and tier 2 sandbelt courses and places like PK and National should be ok for the shorter term, but a few will want to shore up their financial and operating positions with a merger or two maybe. Its the other clubs in tier 3 and 4 and so on that will have the bigger troubles I reckon.

Golf Your latest Round?