-​
78​
-​
Sorrento​
Cups WR​

Last edited by a moderator:
Tombstone final today.
2 shots up with 17,18 to play.
Had been playing conservatively all day.
17th par 3, dead into gale force wind, flushed a 3W pin high left of green (170mts), bunkers to hit over into wind, good lie, thought I’ll hit a nice SW up into the breeze, settle for a 2 putt.
What really happened….hit SW thin, flew over green, putted back up from back of green, wind blew ball right across green 30mts down other side, next shot, thinned SW again, back over green, putted up again, this time into a bunker…anyway walked off with a 9.
Was furious, lost ball off tee on 18, walked off with a 7, and ended up 6 shots behind the winner…..who shot a net par 72.
Conditions were almost unplayable at the end, but a couple of stupid brain farts ruined my day.
Walked into clubhouse with a dozen blokes saying wtf happened ….. 🤬🤬🤬
I reckon that par 3 has ruined a lot of good rounds

Hole 17​

/ Par 3​

Black Tees: 179m | Medal Tees: 179m | Red Tees: 146m
A great Par 3 that can make or break a good round of golf! A well guarded, heavily bunkered, elevated green does not give you many options here. The best shot is to hit it high and try to land it as soft as possible. Just hitting this green is an achievement in itself.
“This is an exquisite golf hole”Tom Watson (8 majors).
Need we say more – a spectacular par 3.
Dunes17thHole.jpg

Tom Watson...pfft...what would he know!

PS... pin was front centre yesterday

[emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="sideswipe" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
You should write horror movies. The first two lines locked me in. I knew the pain was coming.

This!

It had car crash written all over it and I couldn’t look away

Crisp 26pts yesterday at KH in what could only be described as the greatest conditions anyone could play golf in.

Started par, par...thinking "here we go" then 3rd (par 5 12th) pulled 7iron left and landed on the peninsula in the bunker, hanging in thick rough, on the edge. No stance so tried opening the face and play a high flop. Club face slices thru the grass under the ball, completely missing it. Wipe. That sort of day. Made doubles from wedge distance in, horseshoed a couple of times

After a PB 9 over 81 at Wembley Old Course last week, bettered that with a 7 over 77 on Tuart today.
1 over at half time with 5 pars and 2 birdies.
Bogey, par bogey to start the back 9. Then disaster, lost ball off the tee, and a disgruntled 3 putt for a quadruple. Next hole, sharp dog left left, overcooked the draw - lost ball off the tee. Salvaged the hole by dropping a 25 footer for a bogey, and 8 over and hopes of breaking 80 were fading fast.
Long downhill par 5, on in 2, dropped the eagle putt from about 30 feet. Back to 6 over. 16th, fairway hit green in reg, concentration lapse for 3 putt and a bogey. 17th, fairway, GIR, 1 putt for a birdie. Pressure off now, short par 3 over water, even a triple would keep me under 80. GIR; lazy 3 putt, 77.
Picked up a square to square putter last week, working well for me apart from the lazy 3 putts. Hands a bit forward/over the ball makes it feel a bit cricket battish

For anyone in SEQ today thoughts and prayers it’s tough going in this heat with no wind
So I had to give golf a miss for a few months for family reasons, finally back to a position where I can sneak away every other Sunday morning for a social club outing. Last round for the year was this morning so planned to go say G'day to everyone before Christmas.
Except Tuesday night was diagnosed with pnuemonia.
Haven't been eating properly for a week, bad cough, congested, all that jazz.

Woke up this morning thinking "yeah I reckon I'll be right I'll just take it easy".
Walked 13 and then packed it in and sat in the club house AC lol. It was oppressive. And because of the big rains the rough was sloppy and humid as heck.

26 points though through 13 so not bad considering how long I had off.

Wife was thoroughly unimpressed 🤣

Finally got out again today, been a while.

Shot a 47 from 9 at Spring Park, one of my better scores there. 2 birdies and a par, mixed in with some blow out holes. Played inconsistent golf, the holes I played well I played really well, the holes I didn't play well I played really bad.

I was about 2 feet off my first ever hole in one, on a long par 3 I flushed it, ran to the green cause I knew it would go close but just a bit short, was on the right line though, tapped in for the birdie.

So I had to give golf a miss for a few months for family reasons, finally back to a position where I can sneak away every other Sunday morning for a social club outing. Last round for the year was this morning so planned to go say G'day to everyone before Christmas.

Woke up this morning thinking "yeah I reckon I'll be right I'll just take it easy".
Walked 13 and then packed it in and sat in the club house AC lol. It was oppressive. And because of the big rains the rough was sloppy and humid as heck.

I had about 3hrs sleep and didn't drink much water last night and was almost blacking out on the last 2 holes. Was brutal today.

Hope all is ok with you mate. Great to see you back out swinging the club.

Played two rounds at golf club National yesterday. Weather was perfect for the golf. Actually chilly in the eeely morning requiring extra clothing. Then it rained and I was unimpressed. It was also so windy.

Found a really good plastic tee which I love. Happy about that because I lost mine a few rounds ago.

Morning gunamatta course round started meh with a bogey. Thought it’s gonna be a long day. And it was in terms of time.

Lost one ball for the day which was during round 2 on the eleventh Moonah. Big slice with a left to right wind wil not suffice. Gone.

Company in the morning and arvo was fantastic and couldn’t have asked for better.

Morning round took 3.40 hours. And shot o think 83. Back 9 4 over. Happy with that. Par 73. On average 7.5 m first putt.

Wanted to be creative and utilised low pitches considering the wind was tricky. It was fun. Something everyone should learn to use.

Arvo less impressive with 88

Finally got out again today, been a while.

Shot a 47 from 9 at Spring Park, one of my better scores there. 2 birdies and a par, mixed in with some blow out holes. Played inconsistent golf, the holes I played well I played really well, the holes I didn't play well I played really bad.

I was about 2 feet off my first ever hole in one, on a long par 3 I flushed it, ran to the green cause I knew it would go close but just a bit short, was on the right line though, tapped in for the birdie.

I almost thought you meant you shot 47 points off a 9 handicap..........

was about to call the police.

Go well
The course is in magnificent condition atm.
Saw Doc today

"Tennis Elbow"

****ing killing me

Anti inflam drugs now - taking double dose to get to Friday

Ultrasound booked in
Cortisone injection possibly coming

Cannot wait for Friday

Saw Doc today

"Tennis Elbow"

****ing killing me

Anti inflam drugs now - taking double dose to get to Friday

Ultrasound booked in
Cortisone injection possibly coming

Cannot wait for Friday
Could be gout….had it in my toe last week, couldn’t walk, but I’ve had it in my elbow before….worst pain ever

Golf Your latest Round?