Your own umpiring appointments

Happened in my old league.

Happened a few weeks ago, the story neglected to mention the goal umpire actually came running out onto the field and abused the field umpire (Who I'm mates with and have consumed numerous ales with).

Yeah the guy doesnt sound like the brightest of characters, sounds like something Suzi might do ;)

Haha I might just tell you get f***ed :D

Wouldn't be the first time!!! Goalies used to hate when I'd hide behind the point post and they're trying to find you for an all clear. Or when they'd give you a coin for the toss and you'd fling it away in the mud after the throw. Or cut the toes out of their socks when they weren't watching. Or spray their flags with a whole bottle of lavendar smelling room freshener when they were out of the changeroom. Or smear Deep Heat on the inside of their caps while they weren't watching.

Come to think of it, I'm not a very nice person am I... :cool:

Wouldn't be the first time!!! Goalies used to hate when I'd hide behind the point post and they're trying to find you for an all clear. Or when they'd give you a coin for the toss and you'd fling it away in the mud after the throw. Or cut the toes out of their socks when they weren't watching. Or spray their flags with a whole bottle of lavendar smelling room freshener when they were out of the changeroom. Or smear Deep Heat on the inside of their caps while they weren't watching.

hehe prick :)

I have knocked a couple of goalie's hats off in fun and the challenge is to knock one off in whichever grand final I get in my last game on Saturday this week!!!

lol That always happens in our local league. The pranks that the fieldies would get up to in the change rooms. We had one guy who used to deliberately stink out the rooms by eating foods that would make him fart heaps. So bad that we all had to get out of the rooms. :thumbsdown:

So, Dylza, what you are essentially saying is that Suzi is a flog who is trying to make out she is more important that she really is?

The only people who are flogs are spectators who like to make fools of themselves at the footy and on footy forums such as this one. Dylza is on my ignore list and look to be honest he's nothing but a trouble maker who probably would get stuck into you when you are umpiring.

Do people abuse you when you umpire Suzi?

How much does an umpire earn? I'm sure some volunteer in the lower leagues, but does it pay ok in general? Or do you guys do it more for the love of the game?

In the Black Diamond AFL in NSW, we get $90 for an A Grade game. I used to umpire in the WRFL in Melbourne and got $115. I think VFL is around the $300 for Seniors but the good maggot would clarify that one.

It all depends on how big your local league is and how well off they are. I know that Geelong umpires association are very well off and pay their umpires pretty well.

Ballarat are smaller and not that well off.

However, we still get paid. It can vary between as little as $18 for u/12's in finals to $150 for Ballarat Football League Seniors (field)

For the Goal umpires it is $20 for u/16.5 reserves and seniors, for u/18.5's it is $32, Reserves, $44, Seniors, $50

It all depends on how big your local league is and how well off they are. I know that Geelong umpires association are very well off and pay their umpires pretty well.

Ballarat are smaller and not that well off.

However, we still get paid. It can vary between as little as $18 for u/12's in finals to $150 for Ballarat Football League Seniors (field)

For the Goal umpires it is $20 for u/16.5 reserves and seniors, for u/18.5's it is $32, Reserves, $44, Seniors, $50

Another Stupid and Ill-educated post and why everyone should ignore this trot.

All country football leagues are given the same amount of funds to allocate to their umpires by the VCFL. It only varies to the degree of league, E.g an A-level league includes (Geelong Football League, West Gippsland, Goulbourn, Ovens and Murray, Ballarat and a few others.

The associations then decide what percentage of the allocated fees for match appointments to take away and put back into the association (usually around 20-25%)

It's a stupid call to say an Umpiring Association is "rich" and "Well off", The only way to do this, would be to take funds from their current umpires which means lower match fees for them.

In the Black Diamond AFL in NSW, we get $90 for an A Grade game. I used to umpire in the WRFL in Melbourne and got $115. I think VFL is around the $300 for Seniors but the good maggot would clarify that one.

Not a lot, but still not too bad for an afternoons work and being involved in a game of footy. The VFL guys/gals do ok.

I can tell you something about my umpiring association. We have got 200 members and 365 appointments each weekend. Most of the 200 members are Boundary umpires and field umpires. For the Goal umpires this year we had 31 people on our list.

So for finals you can expect to do 6 games.

We get a lot of double headers and some of us who are strong enough to do 3 games will do 3 games over the weekend.

Some of the Field umpires do 4 games a weekend. So we are pretty light on for numbers.

There are heaps of people out there who are too chicken to become umpires.

It's funny to see their reaction when they have a mate that umpires footy. Some of them join, some of them prefer to play.

We get a lot of double headers and some of us who are strong enough to do 3 games will do 3 games over the weekend.

And one VAFA goal ump at the end of 2007 was appointed to five - U19 on Fri night, reserves + seniors on Sat and ditto Sun. Fitness test or punishment?

How much does an umpire earn? I'm sure some volunteer in the lower leagues, but does it pay ok in general? Or do you guys do it more for the love of the game?

At Eastern a fieldie gets about 120 for a Div 1 match down to about 90 for Div 4. Money is handy but it's not the reason that I (or my mates) do it. Covers the petrol for the week but you're going to training from Jan - Sept but only getting paid from Easter. Throw in the beers and food you buy after a game, training clothing and other expenses, you don't really make any money out of it.

When I was at AFL in early 90's we'd get $160 for AFL U/19's. Country matches were better - we'd get $200 plus a meal allowance and an overnight allowance if we stayed the night in Swan Hill. Plus the taxi drove us there and back. Not bad money 18 years ago so would be interesting to see how it compares now.

For VFL Field:

TAC and Reserves ~ $190-200
Seniors - $300

I'll find out next year

Your own umpiring appointments