Game Day North intraclub blue vs pink 15/2/25 at 10am

Was quietly impressed by Cooper Harvey. Seem to have developed a bit of c*** about him and looks really competitive type, which is what you need as an annoying small forward. Much prefer that than if he went out quietly & without much noise, if this really is his do or die year.
It was interesting, I wonder if Coop is liked around the boys? Choms reaction to his mouthing off was way overboard, even Sheeze gave him a hard jab after that too high free. No players other than Lmac went to him while he was hurt with the shoulder, and I noticed post game he kinda stood around by himself while most boys were chatting in groups.

May be over reading things, but just got that vibe.

It was interesting, I wonder if Coop is liked around the boys? Choms reaction to his mouthing off was way overboard, even Sheeze gave him a hard jab after that too high free. No players other than Lmac went to him while he was hurt with the shoulder, and I noticed post game he kinda stood around by himself while most boys were chatting in groups.

As someone who has unfortunately been a nepo hire at one stage, I can tell you that the other employees know, and they ****ing hate it. I imagine that's doubly true at a footy club where others may have been delisted instead of the nepo hire. Wouldn't be surprised if the others harbour some resentment.

Who was delisted that shouldn’t have been?

Coop is good mates with chom 123FA099-1FF8-445C-A5BA-B7622EE3395E.jpeg

Big props to my good mate in Melb who was at the game :) here is his report:

Not a shock but Sheez easily best on I reckon, looks as good as ever.

Was pretty impressed with FOS, super quick, breaks tackles and gets out of traffic easily, looks like a gun already.

Tucker would have had to be one of the best on as well, got a fair bit of it and used it pretty well.

Colby looks unreal in the midfield, ridiculous leg speed and can run all day, his link up play with Sheez was fantastic.

As I said I see the fuss about Powell now, dominated early on, will be a tough job picking the starting midfield.

Larkey was pretty quiet early I thought but end up getting pretty active in the 3rd, kicked a few set shots and is as accurate as always.

Really happy with what I saw of Jack Darling, moved really well around the ground and looks to be a pretty big presence in contests, one play in particular he held a couple guys out from under the flight of the ball so Zurhaar could get a clean leap at it, exactly what we needed.

Comben intercepted everything in sight, him and Logue will be super solid. Archer was super competitive too as always, he hit every contest at 100%.

Read a bit about Zurhaar’s form maybe being a bit of a worry recently but he was one of the standouts today especially early, was everywhere.

Finbarr took a few really solid contested marks up forward later on, but gee his kicking is atrocious, don’t really know where his best role would be.

Bailey Scott was super solid again, got a fair bit of it. McDonald butchered it a couple times but overall looked pretty solid actually at half back.

Was keen to see Goad after the reports and he was really good in the ruck, especially later on I thought when he came to the blue team and rucked against Teakle.

Was really happy with what I saw of Duursma as well. Probably the best on for the Pink team early. He started at a few centre bounces when he went to the blue team and got a couple really clean clearances.

Urqhart was great as well. I reckon he sees some game time this season. Will Phillips was pretty fierce as well, really hope he gets a consistent run of games this year, can’t have done much more to earn it I don’t reckon.

To be honest though I was probably most impressed by Caleb Daniel. Super cool under pressure, always makes the right decision, he moved the ball out of defence brilliantly. I reckon he missed one target all day and he cursed himself out for it as well. Obviously frees up Colby to get into the midfield as well where he’s far more damaging. Super pickup I reckon, stoked to have him.

Would be a heap more that I’ve forgotten, I missed most of the 2nd quarter as well but yeah that’s most of what I noticed.

At times Daniel made it look like the blues had an extra player on the ground. Just really smart with his positioning and constantly involved. Completely different to how we’ve looked in the past few years.

I’ve been a huge fan from day one, I mean who hasn’t been lol, but could not be anymore impressed with Kerch. He’s a lot more than a one trick give’n’get pony. Noticed he was also very vocal when the young mids got together and clearly the other guys were giving him their full attention.

Well if they know about his... urm... pre-draft behaviour, they're well within their rights to be a bit cold towards him. I wouldn't read too much into it though. There have been posts with him socialising, and I don't think he's fracturing the group the way JHF did, but I do think he's a lone dickhead in a sea of fairly decent lads

At times Daniel made it look like the blues had an extra player on the ground. Just really smart with his positioning and constantly involved. Completely different to how we’ve looked in the past few years.
The thing that he has which almost nobody else at North has (except perhaps Sheez and Colby) is the ability to be in a good position to receive the ball from a teammate, even when under pressure and within no time at all he can be a couple of metres in the clear and therefore is able to dispose effectively. It doesn't even seem to be achieved with a sidestep - Daniel just seems to run in the opposite direction that his opponent thinks he's going to go.

I'm expecting that there will be a lot of players who we name as BoG week in / week out this season who are not named Caleb Daniel but when it's all said and done, we might reflect on the things he does to create outlets, relieve pressure and which make the blokes around him look better.

I wasn't a big fan of North being in the hunt for him but I'll be happy to eat my words if he plays games like he did today throughout the season. Starting from round one especially!!!!!!

Game Day North intraclub blue vs pink 15/2/25 at 10am

Write your reply...