Player Watch #46: Robert Hansen Jnr - Extends to End 2025

I think we might be making too much of his courage, or lack thereof in that incident. Liked that he seemed disappointed with himself after it.

Could have been a once off, because there was a moment in the first quarter where he put himself in the hole and got a big spoil in front of Van Rooyen. Loved his work ethic and defensive application all game. His disposal was a little off compared to last week (where he barely missed a kick), but he looks so silky and assured with the ball. Nothing wrong with that action, reminds me of (don't kill me) Brad McKenzie.

Biggest test of the team is players like RHJ backing it up on the road against tough opposition.

If he and others who performed well on the weekend don’t play to that level consistently (Konstanty, Pink etc), we’ll revert to more disappointing results.

Will be interesting to observe.

And I hope all the negative ‘I told you so’s’ don’t come flooding these threads for 11 gamers bagging them out.

I hope he and others perform. But we have to expect inconsistency in a maturing team.

His only issue is he can still run along side a contest and keep pace with it.
Needs to impact instead of spectate but I'm being picky.

So happy for him and us, give the youngster another 20-30 games and I think we will have a ripper.
I like that he doesn't get sucked in to the contest and expect that he's playing to instruction. Not sure why exactly, but he strikes me as very coachable.

I really enjoyed his massive hug he gave Clarko at the end of the game when Clarko came onto the field. 3 plays that stood out for me was the crumb, weave and handball to Larkey for his third, his collect from Sheezel on the forward flank where he was tackled but kept his feet and handballed to Curtis to set up Zurhaar and right at the end when he grabbed the ball on the wing sold candy, took a bounce and dished it off. Growing in confidence

I didn't think he looked that far off last year. There were plenty of little signs and he had a nice limited yet productive outing vs the dogs.

There we're hints at anticipation/smarts, skill, agility and pace. Finally a guy who at least had the tools to be the nippy type we've not had for years.

He's got a way to go but not surprised by his performance vs dees.

Most players can produce a moment here or there.

Most surprising thing for me is his production.

He’s averaging 1 disposal less than McKercher and 2 disposals less than Bailey Scott.

I would have offered you 100-1 odds for that about 4 months ago.

At the game I was with a couple of ex BF posters nn & TAO, and both were full of praise for RH Jnr.
They said , he be no shitmen. I did of course pull them both up on their choice of words.
To quote myself, I said in todays society one must consider the feelings of others and much damage can be caused by internet bullying.
They both told me to get ****ed!

I really enjoyed his massive hug he game Clarko at the end of the game when Clarko came onto the field. 3 plays that stood out for me was the crumb, weave and handball to Larkey for his third, his collect from Sheezel on the forward flank where he was tackled but kept his feet and handballed to Curtis to set up Zurhaar and right at the end when he grabbed the ball on the wing sold candy, took a bounce and dished it off. Growing in confidence
Yep, Hansen Jr and Clarko embrace really makes the Hawks allegations even more laughable.

Perhaps the difference is he’s a young Aboriginal man who took the opportunity in front of him.

Robert’s teammates are believing in him too, frequently looking for him , go Robert . Great watching him adapting to the rigours of AFL and getting better each week.
Said it before it’s up to Robert how far he takes this, keep working hard, listen to advice the sky is the limit.

There was zero indications he would be composed with the footy based on past performances. None. He has totally blown me away
There were in the last few weeks last year when everything else was going to shit.

Not like that. He is now an asset that can do some serious work forward of centre. He did it 2 weeks in a row. I like him
He now feels he belongs at the level. He's not afraid to take the game on, not afraid of being tackled. I reckon he has several more gears to go up to. Could be an absolute surprise packet

Not like that. He is now an asset that can do some serious work forward of centre. He did it 2 weeks in a row. I like him
No not like that. He was playing in a side that was a shit show.

But he showed he could do stuff like that with the little he had.

Agree ferball. Signs were luminous. But so many here just didn't want to believe.
He was timid around the footy and we were all justified in comparing the outcome of his career as one of Will Walker, Spicer etc.. however this year he has shown he can hold the pill and use the ball with poise. Thats an asset none have had

Player Watch #46: Robert Hansen Jnr - Extends to End 2025

Write your reply...