Western Bulldogs and their partnership with Ballarat a success

Prehaps the first game should always be on Anzac week. Just have it a bit later on when lights come in. Record crowd.
Can't be too much later so people can get home as the last trains are 7:20 and 9:20pm and it can get cool quickly. I love it for the two games. I got a bit of mountain biking in on Black Hill, had an exceptional lunch at Eclectic Tastes Cafe & Pantry and had the best brisket burger at Hop Temple post game. It's well worth the trip but not all days are going to be that weather friendly up there.

I don't have stats, maybe Oliver Gigacz does, but I think this game had less OOFs than other Mars games. One of the early games had an OOF, the player who took the kick then kicked OOF, and the next kick was in play, but to a team mate who also kicked OOF. So 3 out of 4 consecutive kicks

Edit: may have been one of our VFL games.
It was an easterly wind which has been our summer pattern this year but very rare for winter time in Victoria. It was very gentle but blowing from the least protected side of the ground. Hardly enough to affect suburban footballers let alone professionals.
Thanks for picking this up Roogal (and both detailed refreshing posts) and Freshwater. The number of out of bounds on the full by both teams was appalling. At Ballarat airport winds were ~20kph gusting 30kph from the south east but much lighter at the ground and I cannot fathom the lack of skill in a number of instances with limited pressure on the kicker. Any local team would have less howlers and perhaps the Doggies need to play some intraclub practice games in the country to hone their skills where grand stands are just aspirational.

Here are the wind speeds recorded at the nearest BOM station at the start of each of our matches at Eureka…

2017 R22: 22km/h
2018 R7: 26km/h
2018 R19: 43km/h
2019 R8: 20km/h
2019 R23: 15km/h
2021 R4: 26km/h
2021 R20: 30km/h
2022 R6: 19km/h

Since 2017 across all grounds there is on average 6.6 out on the fulls per match (both teams). At Eureka for our matches it is 7.25

2017 R22: 6
2018 R7: 10
2018 R19: 7
2019 R8: 5
2019 R23: 4
2021 R4: 5
2021 R20: 12
2022 R6: 9

VFL stats have been recorded since 2011 and across all grounds there is an overage 8.0 out on the fulls per match (both teams). At Eureka that average is 8.5 and here are the top 5 matches…

2016 R14: 17
2016 R21: 17
2017 R14: 16
2013 R4: 16
2012 R12: 14

Here are the wind speeds recorded at the nearest BOM station at the start of each of our matches at Eureka…

2017 R22: 22km/h
2018 R7: 26km/h
2018 R19: 43km/h
2019 R8: 20km/h
2019 R23: 15km/h
2021 R4: 26km/h
2021 R20: 30km/h
2022 R6: 19km/h

Since 2017 across all grounds there is on average 6.6 out on the fulls per match (both teams). At Eureka for our matches it is 7.25

2017 R22: 6
2018 R7: 10
2018 R19: 7
2019 R8: 5
2019 R23: 4
2021 R4: 5
2021 R20: 12
2022 R6: 9

VFL stats have been recorded since 2011 and across all grounds there is an overage 8.0 out on the fulls per match (both teams). At Eureka that average is 8.5 and here are the top 5 matches…

2016 R14: 17
2016 R21: 17
2017 R14: 16
2013 R4: 16
2012 R12: 14
What's the average at Kardinia Park OG?

Prehaps the first game should always be on Anzac week. Just have it a bit later on when lights come in. Record crowd.

Given we will always play interstate sides at Mars, doubt we will get late afternoon games as the AFL will want those teams to go home that night to save $.

I have said since the partnership started that I will never go to Ballarat for a game. I still haven't.
I'm not sure why I want to go basically to a suburban ground that is freezing cold, have none of the benefits that a coterie membership has to watch scrappy matches.
I understand the financial agreement is positive for the club but it undermines the supporters who pay $$$ for a decent stadium seat/area.
Maybe I have a selfish attitude but I've been a member for over 30 years and like what I like.
Our record at Ballarat isn't that great either, we would be in the black but far from unbeatable there.

I have said since the partnership started that I will never go to Ballarat for a game. I still haven't.
I'm not sure why I want to go basically to a suburban ground that is freezing cold, have none of the benefits that a coterie membership has to watch scrappy matches.
I understand the financial agreement is positive for the club but it undermines the supporters who pay $$$ for a decent stadium seat/area.
Maybe I have a selfish attitude but I've been a member for over 30 years and like what I like.
Our record at Ballarat isn't that great either, we would be in the black but far from unbeatable there.
Freezing cold - it was a beautiful day on Saturday
Our record isn't great - We have won our last 5 there before Saturday
Selfish attitude - yes

From yesterday's Ballarat Courier
APRIL 25 2022 - 4:30AM

'Dogs' boss open to 'bigger' AFL games

LOUD: Ballarat fans Zachary Mathews and Billy Drew get ready to cheer on Western Bulldogs. Picture: Luke Hemer

LOUD: Ballarat fans Zachary Mathews and Billy Drew get ready to cheer on Western Bulldogs. Picture: Luke Hemer​

THE Western Bulldogs would be open to playing bigger drawing Victorian clubs at Mars Stadium once capacity is increased for the 2026 Commonwealth Games. It is hoped the state government will in its budget next month sign off on a redevelopment of the stadium, increasing the permanent capacity up to 20,000 people.

Should that be the case, the Bulldogs chief executive Ameet Bains says the club would be open to holding discussions with the AFL and Marvel Stadium of the possibility of playing at least one larger drawing club in Ballarat. "The Western Bulldogs have clearly been a big part of that since 2017, with our Ballarat partnership allowing AFL games to be played at Mars Stadium, complemented by our range of community, schools and junior football programs," Bains exclusively told The Courier.

"The possibility of playing in front of larger crowds in future years is clearly an enticing prospect, given the opportunity for upgrades to Mars Stadium and other sporting infrastructure in Ballarat. "If that meant the possibility of playing a Victorian club at Mars Stadium, we would be open to exploring that option, working alongside the AFL and Marvel Stadium."

Western Bulldogs hosted a record AFL crowd at the ground of 10,412 for their clash against Adelaide Crows on Saturday afternoon. The previous AFL crowd record at Mars Stadium was 10,087 for the first AFL match for premiership points in Ballarat on August 19, 2017 in which Western Bulldogs took on Port Adelaide. Bains said the club was committed to both Ballarat and to its redevelopment work at Whitten Oval, which he says will not impact the deal in Ballarat. He said the club hoped to extend on its current agreement which expires in three years.

"Ballarat is our second home, and we are both proud and excited to have recently extended our formal partnership for at least a further three years and honour our long-term commitment to the region," he said. Bains added that he did not envisage the ongoing redevelopment at Whitten Oval affecting the Ballarat commitments going forward. "We're in the process of undertaking an exciting redevelopment of the Whitten Oval precinct, which will transform our football facilities and will provide modern amenities for our community to enjoy," he said.

"Despite the opportunity to host AFLW, VFL and VFLW games at VU Whitten Oval into the future once the redevelopment is complete, we don't see this impacting our commitment to bring men's and women's football to Ballarat through our partnership with the region. "We saw what a success it was to host our first ever AFLW game for premiership points at Mars Stadium this year, and we'd like to continue to explore those opportunities into the future." Mars Stadium is set to host athletics in the 2026 Commonwealth Games for regional Victoria with boxing likely to be in the same precinct at Selkirk Stadium.

My personal opinion: I see no reason why the Bulldogs shouldn't be playing teams like North Melbourne, St Kilda and Melbourne at Mars Stadium for the 2026 season.

Never mind, you're depriving yourself of a unique experience. Ballarat isn't always cold and wet and the matches played at Mars Stadium are played on a great surface which in no way promotes scrappy play. We all look at the world differently and you have a right to your opinion, evidently others disagree:

MS Article.PNG

I don't know if this was reported in any Melbourne papers, but it made the Sports Section of yesterday's Ballarat Courier:

TRAGIC WEEK FOR THE BULLDOGS

BD Article.PNG

Chalky it is not a selfish attitude and one I am not too dissimilar with.

Supporter on both here and on our supporter Facebook page are basically called fair weather supporters and bagged for not attending games.

A combination of timing of games, ticketing system, opposition supporters in our premium areas means I am yet to have all 5 of my premiership Gold/Social Club used to date this season with this Sunday being the first opportunity that it may happen. With our next home game being in Ballarat I think the next opportunity is in June.

I have always seen my memberships as a bit of a donation to the club, but after this season I will be reviewing my memberships. It is not a threat, just a reality, that is not all the issue of the Club itself. It is why growing the club with these games is a nonsense, however the money may be significantly higher than the opportunity cost of playing all games at Marvel so I can see why the club does this

From yesterday's Ballarat Courier
APRIL 25 2022 - 4:30AM

'Dogs' boss open to 'bigger' AFL games

LOUD: Ballarat fans Zachary Mathews and Billy Drew get ready to cheer on Western Bulldogs. Picture: Luke Hemer

LOUD: Ballarat fans Zachary Mathews and Billy Drew get ready to cheer on Western Bulldogs. Picture: Luke Hemer​

THE Western Bulldogs would be open to playing bigger drawing Victorian clubs at Mars Stadium once capacity is increased for the 2026 Commonwealth Games. It is hoped the state government will in its budget next month sign off on a redevelopment of the stadium, increasing the permanent capacity up to 20,000 people.

Should that be the case, the Bulldogs chief executive Ameet Bains says the club would be open to holding discussions with the AFL and Marvel Stadium of the possibility of playing at least one larger drawing club in Ballarat. "The Western Bulldogs have clearly been a big part of that since 2017, with our Ballarat partnership allowing AFL games to be played at Mars Stadium, complemented by our range of community, schools and junior football programs," Bains exclusively told The Courier.

"The possibility of playing in front of larger crowds in future years is clearly an enticing prospect, given the opportunity for upgrades to Mars Stadium and other sporting infrastructure in Ballarat. "If that meant the possibility of playing a Victorian club at Mars Stadium, we would be open to exploring that option, working alongside the AFL and Marvel Stadium."

Western Bulldogs hosted a record AFL crowd at the ground of 10,412 for their clash against Adelaide Crows on Saturday afternoon. The previous AFL crowd record at Mars Stadium was 10,087 for the first AFL match for premiership points in Ballarat on August 19, 2017 in which Western Bulldogs took on Port Adelaide. Bains said the club was committed to both Ballarat and to its redevelopment work at Whitten Oval, which he says will not impact the deal in Ballarat. He said the club hoped to extend on its current agreement which expires in three years.

"Ballarat is our second home, and we are both proud and excited to have recently extended our formal partnership for at least a further three years and honour our long-term commitment to the region," he said. Bains added that he did not envisage the ongoing redevelopment at Whitten Oval affecting the Ballarat commitments going forward. "We're in the process of undertaking an exciting redevelopment of the Whitten Oval precinct, which will transform our football facilities and will provide modern amenities for our community to enjoy," he said.

"Despite the opportunity to host AFLW, VFL and VFLW games at VU Whitten Oval into the future once the redevelopment is complete, we don't see this impacting our commitment to bring men's and women's football to Ballarat through our partnership with the region. "We saw what a success it was to host our first ever AFLW game for premiership points at Mars Stadium this year, and we'd like to continue to explore those opportunities into the future." Mars Stadium is set to host athletics in the 2026 Commonwealth Games for regional Victoria with boxing likely to be in the same precinct at Selkirk Stadium.

My personal opinion: I see no reason why the Bulldogs shouldn't be playing teams like North Melbourne, St Kilda and Melbourne at Mars Stadium for the 2026 season.
And Geeeelonnng.

Chalky it is not a selfish attitude and one I am not too dissimilar with.

Supporter on both here and on our supporter Facebook page are basically called fair weather supporters and bagged for not attending games.

A combination of timing of games, ticketing system, opposition supporters in our premium areas means I am yet to have all 5 of my premiership Gold/Social Club used to date this season with this Sunday being the first opportunity that it may happen. With our next home game being in Ballarat I think the next opportunity is in June.

I have always seen my memberships as a bit of a donation to the club, but after this season I will be reviewing my memberships. It is not a threat, just a reality, that is not all the issue of the Club itself. It is why growing the club with these games is a nonsense, however the money may be significantly higher than the opportunity cost of playing all games at Marvel so I can see why the club does this
Just curious - I get the other reasons, some of which apply to me too, but how does opposition supporters in our premium areas prevent you from attending games? It's not ideal, and I hate it too, but surely they only get access to unallocated seats, not reserved member seats, regardless of whether members attend or not?

Correct, the only reason there are non bulldog members in those seats is because members have no longer reserved them.

You can't expect them to sit there empty.

Given I have been a member and attended games for over 47 years, no it doesn't prevent me personally from attending up to date.

However, when you pay a premium amount you would at least like to enjoy the actual experience of attending the games, not be subject to listening to loud mouth opposition bogan supporters in your ear for an entire game. May as well just get much cheaper memberships.

The club does control the allocation of seating so surely of in those areas there has been a drop off of members they may contact you and ask if you would like to move your seats? communication 101 I would have thought

Correct, the only reason there are non bulldog members in those seats is because members have no longer reserved them.

You can't expect them to sit there empty.
Two parts to this. If this is the case surely the club could communicate to members in these areas to ask them if they would like to move. The club do control this.

The second do you not think this may be a warning to what Chalky talks about. If someone pays a premium you do want some value, otherwise why pay the premium, secondly the Ballarat games are no longer replacement games and the drop in prices for those memberships certainly did not reflect this, as well as paying for 2 years with very few games available.

A lot of goodwill was shown to the club by its Melbourne based supporters. The club needs to be careful not to take that for granted to try and attract a shiney new bauble of supporters, which could very well be at the expense of those who were supportive through the lockdowns. Evidence of which will come to late as people will firstly not attend which is already happening, and then will either not renew or downgrade their memberships.

BTW this is definitely not all on the club, it is also something the AFL needs to be very cognisant of

Two parts to this. If this is the case surely the club could communicate to members in these areas to ask them if they would like to move. The club do control this.

The second do you not think this may be a warning to what Chalky talks about. If someone pays a premium you do want some value, otherwise why pay the premium, secondly the Ballarat games are no longer replacement games and the drop in prices for those memberships certainly did not reflect this, as well as paying for 2 years with very few games available.

A lot of goodwill was shown to the club by its Melbourne based supporters. The club needs to be careful not to take that for granted to try and attract a shiney new bauble of supporters, which could very well be at the expense of those who were supportive through the lockdowns. Evidence of which will come to late as people will firstly not attend which is already happening, and then will either not renew or downgrade their memberships.

BTW this is definitely not all on the club, it is also something the AFL needs to be very cognisant of
You make a lot of good and valid points. While teams/clubs have a duty to attract new members and to grow their clubs in order to survive, they should never take the existing membership for granted. Something that clubs don't do well is reward members for long term support and loyalty. Evidently your club doesn't do it and mine certainly doesn't. :thumbsu:

Freezing cold - it was a beautiful day on Saturday
Our record isn't great - We have won our last 5 there before Saturday
Selfish attitude - yes

Are the days of deciding to go to the footy in the morning & going in the afternoon long gone ?

Not at all. It takes me 1hr 15min to get there , they same as it takes me to get to Geelong.

I can easily make up my mind on the morning of the game.

You make a lot of good and valid points. While teams/clubs have a duty to attract new members and to grow their clubs in order to survive, they should never take the existing membership for granted. Something that clubs don't do well is reward members for long term support and loyalty. Evidently your club doesn't do it and mine certainly doesn't. :thumbsu:

When clubs need opposition fans to come to games, they must accept some responsibility to ensure it happens.

Western Bulldogs and their partnership with Ballarat a success