Opposition Supporters say the darndest things.

This is darndest in a good way! A Saints supporter in their autopsy who has partly identified why we are in the black often with free kick discrepancies (was in reply to another poster of theirs suggesting mouthguards at training in the vein of beating each other up):

"The Dogs ping the ball around. Tackling would be like piggy in the middle. When they are on, sides get frees paid against them for holding the man because as soon as you run to a player he's handballed off."
That's a more eloquent version of what I've posted, which was that we get a lot of free kicks when we've already won the ball. And since we're running away with the ball, those extra frees have no impact on the game. It was in the umpiring royal commission thread. Yep, big waste of time :$

7 'advantage' frees in the GF.

Sydney fans yet to understand that...

They missed out on four free kicks that would have won them the flag 🙄. They fail to realise if they had got one of them the game would have unfolded in a different way and there’s no guarantee it wouldn’t have got worse for them.

They had one dominant stretch in the game.

The majority of the game they were pantsed and if we had a forward line it would have been a belting

I am stunned. An actual piece of rational thinking applied in a BigFooty.com post. FMD.
Is there a stat published for which free kicks are paid in our favour ? My observation is that more of our free kicks are earned when we are in possession or at the point of gaining possession so in the back / high rather than out of bounds on the full / tackles when not in possession.

I think it was 5, but I haven't watched the GF replay in over 3 years so my memory might be faulty!

Side note, apparently Hawthorn has kicked the most goals directly from free kicks this year.

This is darndest in a good way! A Saints supporter in their autopsy who has partly identified why we are in the black often with free kick discrepancies (was in reply to another poster of theirs suggesting mouthguards at training in the vein of beating each other up):

"The Dogs ping the ball around. Tackling would be like piggy in the middle. When they are on, sides get frees paid against them for holding the man because as soon as you run to a player he's handballed off."
Sounds nice but the numbers don't really back that up. Here's our stats across the first 18 rounds (17 games played).

The biggest stand outs are high contact and push in the back frees, which I think is down to the way our mids attack the football in close.

1658286955417.png

Is there a stat published for which free kicks are paid in our favour ? My observation is that more of our free kicks are earned when we are in possession or at the point of gaining possession so in the back / high rather than out of bounds on the full / tackles when not in possession.
Spot on.

Sounds nice but the numbers don't really back that up. Here's our stats across the first 18 rounds (17 games played).

The biggest stand outs are high contact and push in the back frees, which I think is down to the way our mids attack the football in close.

View attachment 1451120
Push in the back absolutely has to do with how our backline sets up by playing in front/always trying to have some one come in over the top. Not many wrestles where we have the back position to push anyone

View attachment 1451120
Where are those stats from ? They support what I observe. 3,7 % of our frees result from tackles on blokes not in possession. Our blokes are being coached to make the ball the object.

View attachment 1451120
I did say partly, plus the main point still stands - there are other supporters out there, even St Kilda ones, who understand that our frees are paid for a reason, and by inference, that free kick numbers do not need to be equal - well, except for old mate Plugger.

Thanks, for me, your stats are a good get. That's not to knock the pinging it around observation. Is there a stat that records how many times a player ties up his bootlaces (rhetorical question, please say no) ?
Pretty sure CD have a quarter by quarter breakdown of bootlace tying.

Overall I think we are -11 for the season.

View attachment 1451120
The most interesting thing for me is how few chopping the arm free kicks there are.
I reckon there'd be at least 6 each way per match not per season.
But rather than actually paying existing free kicks to increase scoring the AFL introduces zones and stand rules :p

The Melbourne bulldogs obsession thread. Lots of gold nuggets there without even digging
They’ve got a new troll contributor, possibly an alt of one of the existing Bulldog-hating flogs. Popping up on the royal commission thread, even put in a few comments here. Seems like an old hand at this game.

Most Melbourne "supporters" are trolls. They'll be back to the skii fields soon

From the Tiggers board tonight:
whats the point of making the 8 ?

only the doggies have won a flag or made a granny from 8th and thats cos umps hoovered them the whole season and in the finals

Opposition Supporters say the darndest things.