Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

You don’t know that until he coaches Essendon. He may be having flash backs of Lloyd’s hit on Sewell every night waking up in a sweat and remembering how much Monfries disgraced his proud and designated “tough guy” Brown by taking his slap with ease.

After Kennett’s antics, what if he takes a year break after realising that the Essendon coaching position is not open, brushing aside other big clubs like Collingwood and Carlton with ease. He only has one club in mind. Then GWS and North come knocking, but he sees that Essendon started poorly so holds off. He seduces the Essendon board by letting his manager contact them to register his interest and causes absolute chaos.

At last, the opportunity to destroy Essendon from within arises. There is his opportunity to finally get back at Lloyd by destabilising his favourite club and setting it back at least another 10 years.

Yeah, nah.

Occam's razor.

I do just want to say, regardless of whatever happens, I think it's been quite disgraceful of the media (and the Kangaroos) to keep hounding Clarko and pushing for answers and putting him in a state of feeling like he's negatively impacting others because of him wanting to decide his own path in life. From North constantly asking him if they're still a chance like a nervous guy 10 minutes into a date, or the media following him at every corner in public - it's just been sad to see. But I can only half-assert myself into that view because I'm guilty of watching said impromptu interviews.
Yep. God damned media nothing but scavenging vultures they don't care whose lives they ruin
Refreshes for latest updates

I mean at this point, if Clarko doesn't choose us, who in their right mind would actually WANT to coach us given this past week? I mean, yes there's some talent on our list but when you see the chaos around the team and there surely many of the quote "experienced" coaches who don't just want a retirement check ala Malthouse at Carlton would just think it's not worth the effort and a new coach literally puts us back in the same place we have been for 20 years.

And don't even get me started if Hird comes back. I swear if that happens I'll start barracking for Fremantle, at least they suck in general and not just because they don't have a clue.

You don’t know that until he coaches Essendon. He may be having flash backs of Lloyd’s hit on Sewell every night waking up in a sweat and remembering how much Monfries disgraced his proud and designated “tough guy” Brown by taking his slap with ease.

After Kennett’s antics, what if he takes a year break after realising that the Essendon coaching position is not open, brushing aside other big clubs like Collingwood and Carlton with ease. He only has one club in mind. Then GWS and North come knocking, but he sees that Essendon started poorly so holds off. He seduces the Essendon board by letting his manager contact them to register his interest and causes absolute chaos.

At last, the opportunity to destroy Essendon from within arises. There is his opportunity to finally get back at Lloyd by destabilising his favourite club and setting it back at least another 10 years.

Mate he’s not Doctor Doom.

He’ll follow the bag first and foremost and his next thing will probably be how much control he gets over the program.

AC is a different kettle of fish. You barely need to interview him, he's interviewing the clubs. If you miss him theres no one else with that profile. We'd need to interview multiple candidates, which is something we haven't done properly in 40+ years.
No, that's where problems start.
Would anyone have thought we needed to interview Hird and a triple-premiership winning Thompson?
Processes are what they are to ensure all will be well. For all we know, Clarkson's learned about some very cutting edge stuff watching the NBA that might be really dodgy, but he's keen to try it out. As soon as you start making concessions, you invite further concessions and the potential for trouble emerges.
Barham's hypocrisy is already apparent.

I mean at this point, if Clarko doesn't choose us, who in their right mind would actually WANT to coach us given this past week? I mean, yes there's some talent on our list but when you see the chaos around the team and there surely many of the quote "experienced" coaches who don't just want a retirement check ala Malthouse at Carlton would just think it's not worth the effort and a new coach literally puts us back in the same place we have been for 20 years.

And don't even get me started if Hird comes back. I swear if that happens I'll start barracking for Fremantle, at least they suck in general and not just because they don't have a clue.
Anyone that wants to be a senior coach. There’s only 18 jobs in the land, they aren’t easy to get. The idea that people don’t want to put their hands up when a job is on the market is misguided. You don’t think a guy like Adam Kingsley desperately wants a chance. Some wait decades, look how long macrae was in the system before he got the job, they aren’t just going to turn the down the potential opportunity.

I categorically didn’t want anything to do with Clarkson before Monday. I just didn’t realise Essendon would proceed to self destruct over the following 72 hours that would make Clarkson the least worst option.

So I don’t want Clarkson, but he is the least worst option now that they’ve gone ahead and made Rutten’s position untenable through foolishness.
Same here.

Would anyone have thought we needed to interview Hird and a triple-premiership winning Thompson?
Processes are what they are to ensure all will be well. For all we know, Clarkson's learned about some very cutting edge stuff watching the NBA that might be really dodgy, but he's keen to try it out. As soon as you start making concessions, you invite further concessions and the potential for trouble emerges.
Hird had never coached before, totally different to clarko.
You don’t put a guy like clarko through a process.

He’ll follow the bag first and foremost and his next thing will probably be how much control he gets over the program.

Drax1.gif

Please account for Thompson.
Thompson was only handed the role for a single year. It was moreorless a 1 year caretaker role. Who was coming in from the outside to do the job for 1 year. The club always wanted hird back at that point. Thompson also went the closest to winning a final in the last 20 years and also had the most consistent brand of footy.

Rutten seems like the sort of guy that if offered the chance to coach the last match he'd just go for it even though he knew it was the end. One thing is for sure - he's handled himself very well in all of this and I reckon he would have impressed a fair few other clubs so I got no doubt he'll have a lot of interest in his services

Pretty much the only thing I’m confident about is he’ll simply choose the club he thinks he can most likely win a flag with.

That’s what would drive him.

It’d be a Herculean effort if he did it. There’s very, very few coaches who win flags at two clubs. More than most things it’s probably the mark of a truly great coach.

Pretty much the only thing I’m confident about is he’ll simply choose the club he thinks he can most likely win a flag with.

That’s what would drive him.

It’d be a Herculean effort if he did it. There’s very, very few coaches who win flags at two clubs. More than most things it’s probably the mark of a truly great coach.
I doubt it'd be an accident of history if he got either of these ridiculous clubs off their knees and up to the point of realistically contending tbh.

Im not saying its right, im just saying AC is not going to sit in a waiting room with Adam Yze, Ashley Hanson and Jaime Grayham and go through the same process of presenting to the club. You can see that right? Im not saying you dont interview him at all.

Thompson was only handed the role for a single year. It was moreorless a 1 year caretaker role. Who was coming in from the outside to do the job for 1 year. The club always wanted hird back at that point. Thompson also went the closest to winning a final in the last 20 years and also had the most consistent brand of footy.
The bottomline is we had a coach with no experience and a triple premiership coach parachuted in, and the rest is history. That Thompson was handed the role is what matters here - note the damage that was done in that year by our unvetted candidates. All that does is justifies having appropriate processes in place.

Then we parachuted Worsfold in, who had brought his group to two GFs for one premiership, but he didn't end up being the right fit. So then we parachute Rutten in, also inadequate for many. And now here we are doing the same thing again.

Clarkson is not a panacaea. Our context is entirely different to what he had at the HFC.

Im not saying its right, im just saying AC is not going to sit in a waiting room with Adam Yze, Ashley Hanson and Jaime Grayham and go through the same process of presenting to the club. You can see that right? Im not saying you dont interview him at all.
It's not right.
I'm happy that Barham wants to implement an external review, but we had one with Switkowski. Do you reckon one of his concerns might have been that we didn't interview for Hird and Thompson's roles? Who would've thought that those two, of all people, would f*** up so badly? It happens.
We could well ask ourselves, who could predict that Clarkson might f*** up so badly?
The EFC is a deadset joke.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

Write your reply...