Training Pre-Season 2023 (First game 18/3 v North)

Training ramped up another notch today. Some ball movement drills included tackling (not full on but a few take to ground tackles laid) and contested possession (air and ground). Kickers were put under more pressure when disposing the ball

Overall there was a bit more urgency and physical contact which meant some players sat out parts of the session

• Naitanui and Shuey didn’t train
• Darling was more involved than last week and did most of the running and some skills work. No contact drills
• Yeo also did more without doing everything and was moving nicely
• Gaff continues to build but did some fitness/agility work with a trainer during when the main group was doing contact work
• Chesser was there at the start but disappeared early
• O’Neill only did laps and fitness work
• Petruccelle walked laps and didn’t train as such
• Ryan walked off slowly near the end of the session. Looked to be limping slightly but could have just been knackered
• Barnett did some running and nothing else
• Dewar I didn’t see early but was out there at the end. Wasn’t involved in much though
• The other draftees did a bit more than last week but sat out all the contact stuff
• Allen looking good. Strong and fit
• Hunt settling in nicely
• Still couldn’t find LEdwards ffs
• Bazzo and Foley did some of the skills work for the first time
• Waterman is still doing fitness work only.
• His brother trained with the seniors for most of the session. He’s a bit of a tank physically

Not sure when they started but I arrived just before 9.30 and they were well into the running. Was 11.15 when they wrapped up although by then several players had left or were watching from the dugout

Training ramped up another notch today. Some ball movement drills included tackling (not full on but a few take to ground tackles laid) and contested possession (air and ground). Kickers were put under more pressure when disposing the ball

Overall there was a bit more urgency and physical contact which meant some players sat out parts of the session

• Darling was more involved than last week and did most of the running and some skills work. No contact drills
• Gaff continues to build but did some fitness/agility work with a trainer during when the main group was doing contact work
• Ryan walked off slowly near the end of the session. Looked to be limping slightly but could have just been knackered
• Dewar I didn’t see early but was out there at the end. Wasn’t involved in much though
• The other draftees did a bit more than last week but sat out all the contact stuff
• His brother trained with the seniors for most of the session. He’s a bit of a tank physically

Not sure when they started but I arrived just before 9.30 and they were well into the running. Was 11.15 when they wrapped up although by then several players had left or were watching from the dugout
Was also trying to find LEdwards, thought i may spotted him at one stage but he just has no stand out anything that he's so hard to spot. Reckon his mum would have trouble finding him.
Chesser needs a lot of kicking practice if todays session is anything to go by. Couldn't hit Darling or Jamo on almost any of those inside 50 kicking drill he did. Really hope he was just having a bad day.
Hunt does look very settled, like he's been here a while already. Get the feeling he's more comfortable with the possible new game style than a lot of the others are, as seems to know when to go quicker.
Couldnt pick who the little nugget was until you mentioned Waterman and yep, surprised he can get off the ground with those tree trunks.

Still couldn’t find LEdwards ffs

Can someone ask him to dye his hair or something?

Haha can’t blame you. He may have had a day off today but even when he’s there, he has such a nondescript look. Tends to wear a hat too which makes him even harder to spot
He’s like a ****ing mirage. Every time I think I’ve picked him up he disappears and I can’t spot him again to confirm if it was him

NicNat still sick?

Was also trying to find LEdwards, thought i may spotted him at one stage but he just has no stand out anything that he's so hard to spot. Reckon his mum would have trouble finding him.
Chesser needs a lot of kicking practice if todays session is anything to go by. Couldn't hit Darling or Jamo on almost any of those inside 50 kicking drill he did. Really hope he was just having a bad day.
Hunt does look very settled, like he's been here a while already. Get the feeling he's more comfortable with the possible new game style than a lot of the others are, as seems to know when to go quicker.
Couldnt pick who the little nugget was until you mentioned Waterman and yep, surprised he can get off the ground with those tree trunks.
Just on Chesser’s kicking I thought across the board it was down on other sessions. Made sense when there was more pressure on but just the straight drills with no pressure players were not hitting targets as often

The running looked a bit more intense today (that’s a guess as it’s often been finished when I get there) so perhaps a bit more fatigue?

My favourite part

Not overly concerned. Simpson did say last week that they’d be bringing some players through conservatively since many had missed so much footy this year. Made a point of saying some wouldn’t be involved in every drill

He’s like a ******* mirage. Every time I think I’ve picked him up he disappears and I can’t spot him again to confirm if it was him
He's one of my personal favs after that Richmond game, so I looked out for him at training. I watched him training with Yeoy for about 10 minutes before turning around and seeing him on the other side of the oval. It was f*****g Luke Foley that I had watched.

Not overly concerned. Simpson did say last week that they’d be bringing some players through conservatively since many had missed so much footy this year. Made a point of saying some wouldn’t be involved in every drill

It does seem like they are taking a far more cautious approach this off season. Fair enough I guess given the disaster of 2022.

He's one of my personal favs after that Richmond game, so I looked out for him at training. I watched him training with Yeoy for about 10 minutes before turning around and seeing him on the other side of the oval. It was f*****g Luke Foley that I had watched.

Nah mate Foley wasn't at training. Beau Waters was there to help out though.

True. Will be out of his weight division against Petracca, Oliver, Wines and Cripps etc. Looks fit though

He's been sick.

Yes, but sick with what? Covid? Glandular fever? There's been no info out of the club as far as I know.
I understand that it's personal, but if it was nothing serious, surely we would have heard something - 'Oh, it's just a bit of flu.' or suchlike. That's why I said I don't like the look of this. 🥺

I’d be surprised if Edwards will be on the list in 12 months time for bh. As a good as it’s been to get some high end young mids in over the last 12 months it also means that a lot of fringe mids are in the firing line next year. Guys like Xon, Trew, Edwards and Clark essentially fighting for their careers this season