Training Training Thread 2023

"Griff's going well, he ended his season with a little bit of OP (osteitis pubis) in his groin so in the off-season it was very much about trying to strip his program back and rebuild him," White said.

"Pre-Christmas he was on stringent training loads at that point - controlled running loads and controlled gym work to build up that strength - but he's had a really good Christmas block (over) the last three weeks that should see him join the main group in two weeks' time.

Two weeks!
OP (osteitis pubis) in his groin…
Not sure where else you’d get it.

Just a local ground connected to a school, artificial grass footy field 🥴

I think we should have an annual BigFooty NMFC lap running/walking/BBQ fundraiser day, at Arden st. If not there, then somewhere else. Ligma can lead the way.

I reckon everyone will be spewing up their snags after the session 😃

But great idea

Powell looks great, but hard to say whether he has lifted his involvement, which is what we've been calling for.
Perez: didn't notice him much. but didn't see any mistakes or poor play either.
Taylor: was involved a lot both forward and back. Two way runner, on today's showing. Disposed of it well when he had it. Will surprise a few this year I think.
Dawson: yeah looks great. While Logue is doing rehab, will be able to hold down CHB I think. Or at least give it a shot. Seems to have grown in confidence compared to last year.
I’m officially on the Dawson train.
He wasn’t the sexy choice at the time, but he may be a steal for a mid-season draft selection.

I’m officially on the Dawson train.
He wasn’t the sexy choice at the time, but he may be a steal for a mid-season draft selection.
Our backline is quickly becoming our most stacked position on field.
Hope there's somewhere else for him to play.

• Drury to play BP
  • Powell could well be our most improved of course him and Noble didn't like each other. NFI why Noble didn't like Powell. Can understand Powell not liking Knobs. The "K" is silent
  • TT still has sore ribs
  • Comben is fine, will go better against an opponent rather than a mate
  • Our fitness is greatly improved, this time it actually is true.
  • al clarko happy with how the back half is coming together
* Fwd line needs work, not gelling as yet
  • Wardlaw is miles off, there are reasons of course. So don't expect him anytime soon ffs ( yep a few BF posters called that- well played)
  • CCJ is still CCJ- I still have hope.
  • It might take all year to "get there".
  • Get there means playing regular finals from 2024
  • al clarko does think we'll get there
Cunners & LDU to spend time fwd this season.

Oh happy with Bonar and Perez, but both need to make an impression this year.

• Drury to play BP
  • Powell could well be our most improved of course him and Noble didn't like each other. NFI why Noble didn't like Powell. Can understand Powell not liking Knobs. The "K" is silent
  • TT still has sore ribs
  • Wardlaw is miles off, there are reasons of course. So don't expect him anytime soon ffs ( yep a few BF posters called that- well played)
Cunners & LDU op spend time fwd this season.

TT still has sore ribs? Bloody hell, that's coming up to a 12 month injury.

Kudos to Kevin White for turning around our fitness, you never know after another preseason we might actually be on level pegging with the rest of the comp.

Great news that the defence is looking good, they way we've bled goals over these last few seasons has been one of our biggest issues. Of course you still need to outscore the opposition but if we can limit their scoring at least we give ourselves a fighting chance.

Don't see any issue with the Warlord being miles off we can afford to give him all the time he needs.

• Drury to play BP
  • TT still has sore ribs
Cunners & LDU op spend time fwd this season.

Any word on The Bull? To my eye he looks in fine fettle early on. He may get amongst it in the first 6 weeks for a change.

Oh and good to see that LDU and Tommy have removed any potential distractions from their off field lives. al Clarko would approve.

Training Training Thread 2023