Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

Long term I still think Norf will regret not taking the cash to move to the Gold Coast or Tassie.
That was the AFL’s fault for being impatient. There was a plan in place to ease North up to Gold Coast gradually but Vlad forced the issue by giving them an ultimatum before their supporters had been conditioned properly

Long term I still think Norf will regret not taking the cash to move to the Gold Coast or Tassie.
Yeah, the more teams that join, the more irrelevant the broke arse tiny clubs like North and Saints become. Take North's Tassie sponsorship away and they're making a several hundred thousand dollar loss each year.

Will be interesting to see what happens to them and the Hawks when the Tassie team does come in and that money goes away.

Hawks should be more financially stable but Norf will need to scramble to fill that gap

I don't get this pining for "poor Fitzroy " that still exists. The 90s AFL didn't go far enough in my opinion. If they'd actually merged a couple more clubs (eg melb/hawks) we'd have a much stronger comp. There would be 16 teams and only 8 in Victoria, which probably works.
I only started following footy and the Lions in 2014.

We’re a merged club that should honour the history of both clubs.

Personally I like seeing us wear a Fitzroy inspired guernsey when we play in Melbourne.

I’m glad we have a significant base of fans in Melbourne.

I don't get this pining for "poor Fitzroy " that still exists. The 90s AFL didn't go far enough in my opinion. If they'd actually merged a couple more clubs (eg melb/hawks) we'd have a much stronger comp. There would be 16 teams and only 8 in Victoria, which probably works.
A bunch of fans effectively lost their team because the league treated a 100 year old team disgracefully.

And if ourselves and brisbane hadn't entered the competition it would have been broke within 2-3 years and we'd be looking at a completely different situation. Almost all the current Victorian teams would be in the VFL.

Sure but doesn't make it any less shit for the fans that lost their team.

The club was shockingly managed for decades and was bust arse broke. If it was actually popular then it would never have been in that situation.

Imagine how cooked the league would be if we had another minnow Vic club parasite sucking up the prosperity of the league. It had to go and the merger at least kept it alive (technically).

Unfortunately, now we can only dream...

Whatever your opinion of Victorian clubs may be, it’s still sad to see a club die like Fitzroy did. There’s no doubt a lot of it was their own fault and they were poorly run but at the end of the day the supporters are the ones that lose out, through no fault of their own.
We’re all supporters and we love the rivalries and banter. We love going every weekend, but (put yourself in a Fitzroy supporters’ shoes) it’s a big ask to completely detach yourself from a club and start over with following a team based in Brisbane who (as a token gesture) play a few away games in the colours of your old team.

Whatever your opinion of Victorian clubs may be, it’s still sad to see a club die like Fitzroy did. There’s no doubt a lot of it was their own fault and they were poorly run but at the end of the day the supporters are the ones that lose out, through no fault of their own.
We’re all supporters and we love the rivalries and banter. We love going every weekend, but (put yourself in a Fitzroy supporters’ shoes) it’s a big ask to completely detach yourself from a club and start over with following a team based in Brisbane who (as a token gesture) play a few away games in the colours of your old team.

Financial mismanagement is financial mismanagement. As far as im concerned all clubs should get equal distributions from the afl in regards to the TV rights deal yet our club gets continually shafted despite facing obstacles (along with the dockers) that eastern states sides don't face.

That may be true however the point I’m making is that there’s sympathy for Fitzroy supporters because it’s not their fault their club was badly run.

We the supporters are always the ones that cop the fallout from decisions made by HQ, whether it be price hikes on tickets/memberships, TV subscriptions, food and drink prices, terrible fixture scheduling…we are the ones that always pay.

Will be interesting to see what happens to them and the Hawks when the Tassie team does come in and that money goes away.

Hawks should be more financially stable but Norf will need to scramble to fill that gap
Lets see how they go with a few more years of crap performances. Those premiership years will be forgotten pretty quickly.

93ADF567-2304-4274-A366-80ADD9D4F198.jpeg

It’s hard to convey just how pissed off I get each time I see the funding list from the AFL each year. We are routinely at the bottom of this list and in our worst ever year on field we received $800k less than the next closest club (Hawthorn) who received ~$40m net after the sale of their pokies venues last year

Last years premiers got $4m more
Fremantle who made finals received $2.5m more
Richmond and Collingwood who both boast >100k membership based received $1.8m and $2.8m more respectively
St Kilda were about $1m shy of doubling our funding. The northern beggars both got over double
Every club other than Hawthorn and Richmond were in excess of $2m better off than us. Over half (10) clubs received in excess of $5m more

Our club memberships are among the highest, if not the highest, in the league
Compared to the big Victorian clubs we rarely get favourable fixturing in terms of prime time exposure (Fair enough this year but even when we’re doing well it doesn’t happen)
We fund the WAFL to the tune of at least $3-4m per year, often more. Other than Fremantle and possibly the two SA clubs, no other clubs make a contribution to their relevant state leagues that I’m aware of
To the best of my knowledge Sydney’s cost of running their academy (~$1m a year) are outside the soft cap whilst the costs of our standalone WAFL side are in the cap

It would be extremely difficult to make the case we aren’t systematically penalised by the AFL for being successful or that we are held back by clubs that are poorly run - St Kilda sacked Rutten 3 months after extending their contract. North Melbourne have their 4th senior coach since Brad Scott was shown the door in 2019

/Rant

To the best of my knowledge Sydney’s cost of running their academy (~$1m a year) are outside the soft cap whilst the costs of our standalone WAFL side are.
Didn't quite understand this, are you saying the cost of running the Beagles must be paid WITHIN our soft cap? If so that sucks.

I stand to be corrected but my understanding is the cost of running the Beagles is part of the soft cap

I’m setting myself up for a major cliff jumping moment but do the VFL programs count towards their clubs soft cap? Or Freo given it’s an alignment with Peel not a standalone club?

Hard to know what or how much Freo contributes to Peel in terms of dollars or resources

I expect Peel pay for their head coach which wouldn’t be a Freo cost whereas WCE pay for Wiley so he’d be in the soft cap for example

You could go through all the other costs and Freo might provide an extra trainer at their cost or Freo might subsidise Peel for an extra one etc etc

I wouldn’t think match payments to our WAFL only players would get included

Overall, Freo would have an advantage as Peel have an existing club structure the Beagles don’t

Adelaide are likely the same us as whilst Port with their prison bars are probably closer to Fremantle

Don’t really know how the Vic clubs operate to be certain but I think most of them are more alignment type models than actual reserves.

The northern clubs are closer to reserves sides I think

Like with travel costs these things are uneven and I have my doubts the dollar value of each clubs soft cap take such variables into account accurately. (Non- Vic clubs do get extra in the cap for travel I think even though those costs would be better if they were left out of it altogether)

Hard to know what or how much Freo contributes to Peel in terms of dollars or resources

I expect Peel pay for their head coach which wouldn’t be a Freo cost whereas WCE pay for Wiley so he’d be in the soft cap for example

You could go through all the other costs and Freo might provide an extra trainer at their cost or Freo might subsidise Peel for an extra one etc etc

I wouldn’t think match payments to our WAFL only players would get included

Overall, Freo would have an advantage as Peel have an existing club structure the Beagles don’t

Adelaide are likely the same us as whilst Port with their prison bars are probably closer to Fremantle

Don’t really know how the Vic clubs operate to be certain but I think most of them are more alignment type models than actual reserves.

The northern clubs are closer to reserves sides I think

Like with travel costs these things are uneven and I have my doubts the dollar value of each clubs soft cap take such variables into account accurately. (Non- Vic clubs do get extra in the cap for travel I think even though those costs would be better if they were left out of it altogether)
The majority of Vic clubs have reserves. I believe there’s only two or three aligned clubs. Definitely the Box Hill Hawks.

The 4 northern clubs have reserve teams.

Each afl reserve or aligned club team has a budget of $110k. This is counted in the soft cap. There are a couple of stand alone clubs, they have a $220k salary cap.

We at the Lions usually have 10 players on our VFL top up list.

Gold Coast have no VFL top up players. But they have an extra 5 rookie listed players, and call up academy players if need be.

We rarely play academy players in our VFL team. If we do, you can bet we’re planning on drafting them.