joey_jo_jo
- Jun 25, 2020
- AFL Club
- Essendon
Lol happy 200th libba you dog
Great last qtr.How many disposals HF
From what SA Premier Malinauskas was saying on the fox footy postmatch coverage, they had to bid for it and they’re trying to get it again next year but the AFL really wants to put it in NSW.No way it would have the carnival feel about it in Sydney. It could work in Queensland as Magic round in the NRL is a massive hit. Have to say that it is Adelaide's round to lose now and going forward they could probably manipulate the ticketing a bit. If our game was the early game and the game at Norwood was the middle game they could have sold tickets to both Adelaide Oval games with maybe a discount for those purchasing double header tickets. Would have given them time to clear out the ground between games.
Kern’s status has been upgraded from ‘untenable’ to ‘slightly tenable but not really’
I’d probably hang out with the wine flies for a bubblyCoopers
Pirate life
Mismatch
Plus heaps heaps more if west end isn't your thing.
I get that’s it’s good, just amusing to hear the dribble accompanying it.I like it, it’s a good concept. A thousand times better than AFLX.
Has a carnival type thing going on with players from all clubs doing stuff in the community, clinics for kids, comps, etc. heaps of local tourism s**t and lots of sponsorship money as well.
It’s like the stuff they do in grand final week but it’s all 18 teams taking over a random town, loads of people flying in from out of state.
Imagine putting that show in NSW and importing all the AFL fans, take over all the hotels, local grounds, and all the parks and close a couple of streets
They need to sort out the fixturing/venues so they’re individually ticketed though. Shouldn’t have prime seats sitting empty just because someone wanted to go to the second game in a double header. So in a way it’s a good thing they cut their teeth in South Australia.
And I reckon I’d put it in the second half of the year with a floating fixture, so that they’re all return fixtures from close games earlier in the year. Like maybe just after the byes are done, before too many clubs are out of the finals race.
Will be interesting to see what NSW does. With a new government spending on sports was not one of their big ticket items leading into the election. V'Landys is already putting pressure on them to stump up for the NRL GF as there was some sort of deal that is now off due to the development of Homebush not going ahead. The project to build a new stadium at Penrith is now not 100% certain and it looks like Shark Park and Leichardt Oval will totally miss out.From what SA Premier Malinauskas was saying on the fox footy postmatch coverage, they had to bid for it and they’re trying to get it again next year but the AFL really wants to put it in NSW.
What we’re seeing is the product of 5 months planning, but normally a big event like this would be in planning 12 months in advance, so if they get it again it’ll be a lot better according to him.
I think it will rotate to the highest bidder each year though. Massive boon for local tourism, local footy fans, the clubs will extend their reach in those states too. Kind of like they were all fighting over the grand final in the covid years.
Queensland seems to be a better target than NSW I agree, making big inroads there with junior pathways apparently, but even just forcing the closure of half the town for a weekend in Sydney would get some attention on the evening news. And you could make it Sydney/Canberra co-hosting as well.
Would be interesting but would be tricky for interstate clubs and their fans that don’t have a direct flight to Hobarthear me out, gather round in tasmania, and introduce the tasmanian side then.
it's genius!
I think the GABBA gets knocked over in 2025 so if it is to go to Queensland it needs to be next year or they can’t have it until ‘29 (I think that’s what I heard)From what SA Premier Malinauskas was saying on the fox footy postmatch coverage, they had to bid for it and they’re trying to get it again next year but the AFL really wants to put it in NSW.
What we’re seeing is the product of 5 months planning, but normally a big event like this would be in planning 12 months in advance, so if they get it again it’ll be a lot better according to him.
I think it will rotate to the highest bidder each year though. Massive boon for local tourism, local footy fans, the clubs will extend their reach in those states too. Kind of like they were all fighting over the grand final in the covid years.
Queensland seems to be a better target than NSW I agree, making big inroads there with junior pathways apparently, but even just forcing the closure of half the town for a weekend in Sydney would get some attention on the evening news. And you could make it Sydney/Canberra co-hosting as well.
It’s easier to set the match ups if they’re all return fixtures, you can put Carlton/Collingwood in there and then replay the same matchup at a different point in the season so there’s still an MCG game. I think they missed a trick there.I think Adelaide is where it should stay.
Part of the charm is the state is footy mad.
I'd originally thought it would be a boon for qld and nsw to try grow the footprint but I'd give Adelaide another crack with a nicer lead in to really put on a show.
I'd also be tempted to merge the gathering round and try and get all rivals playing each other.
It could never happen as It would be tough to lose the revenue, like a pies Carlton game at the mcg,
But having that at Adelaide oval with the showdown as the crown Jewel of the weekend is pretty exciting.
Also I want to drive over next year so one more year would be preferable.
Doesn’t just have to be the Gabba, SA had it across Norwood and Adelaide Hills as a three venue pitch. Qld has a few spots that can host, Gold Coast has their ground, Saints sometimes play in Cairns and they’d surely have a third cricket field somewhere that can hold 10kI think the GABBA gets knocked over in 2025 so if it is to go to Queensland it needs to be next year or they can’t have it until ‘29 (I think that’s what I heard)
SA deserves another shot next year.
It would be interesting to do a pre-season comp in areas close to the “Barassi Line” like Wagga, Albury, Canberra, Woolongong
That's certainly fair tooI’d probably hang out with the wine flies for a bubbly
As a side note there has been some talk (nothing official) that the Queen Elizabeth Stadium (ANZ Stadium) may get a bit of a revamp to host Brisbane home games during the Gabba redevelopment . It is currently the Queensland Sports and athletics Center and still has the basic stands in place and is an oval with the athletics track. The Broncos played there before moving to Suncorp after it was redeveloped.Doesn’t just have to be the Gabba, SA had it across Norwood and Adelaide Hills as a three venue pitch. Qld has a few spots that can host, Gold Coast has their ground, Saints sometimes play in Cairns and they’d surely have a third cricket field somewhere that can hold 10k
I live in Adelaide and they've done it well. The Adelaide Oval looked great as usual but the grounds at Mount barker and Norwood they put a lot of work into and they came up great.I think Adelaide is where it should stay.
I'd originally thought it would be a boon for qld and nsw to try grow the footprint but I'd give Adelaide another crack with a nicer lead in to really put on a show.
I'd also be tempted to merge the gathering round and try and get all rivals playing each other.
It could never happen as It would be tough to lose the revenue, like a pies Carlton game at the mcg,
But having that at Adelaide oval with the showdown as the crown Jewel of the weekend is pretty exciting.
Had a good chat to some random ppl on the bus about the dons last night. They knew quite a bit for non-fans. Esp the port fan. Made me see some reason that we may actually be a good side now (chinks appearing in my coping mechanisms now).I think Adelaide is where it should stay.
I've found Port fans to be mostly ok. It's the Crows fans that are a bit specialHad a good chat to some random ppl on the bus about the dons last night. They knew quite a bit for non-fans. Esp the port fan. Made me see some reason that we may actually be a good side now (chinks appearing in my coping mechanisms now).
And i have to say, port fans are quite nice. All my crows supporting mates have been lying to me.