Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Hey George I still can’t use my reacts mate. I’m going to need that to change because there’s some fire being posted in here lately.
Cheers orse.
Counting down to 10:00pm…apparently that’s the witching hour 🤞🏼

Hey George I still can’t use my reacts mate. I’m going to need that to change because there’s some fire being posted in here lately.
Cheers orse.
45 minutes to go, Sheriff.

Give credit where it's due. No team would've withstood that Pies last quarter onslaught. They willed themselves to every contest and had two guys tackling with a third ready to pick up the loose ball. At three quarter time I had no idea where their goals were going to come from. They ended up with seven with sustained pressure and gut running. Super impressive even if they were shite for three quarters.

I just watched the speech from Darcy Moore today. It was bloody amazing TBH. Shivers down spine type stuff.

The thing is that he's an elite ball user and sees the play unfolding better than most, he's an architect of most of Collingwood's attacking. Hodge had the hard leader in the trenches thing. I think Daicos has silk and skills way above Hodge and looks like he does it all effortlessly. Hodge worked hard for his respect. This little campaigner looks like he's going in second gear and no-one else is on his level.

Honestly reckon his ceiling is the best player in history. That's not even hyperbole. Second year player that looks peak Gary Ablett Jnr level.

Gonna be a joy to watch his career unfold seems like a good egg too which is a positive. Let's just hope we don't come up against him too often in September...

Can talk all we want about how "Oh he's a half back who gets easy touches." He's also kicking goals and dragging his team over the line when it matters most. Natural leader and has the team following him.
I also find it funny the easy touches criticism is comparing him to inside mids (just due to how many touches he gets) but really he's more like Jack Sinclair who also gets very similar numbers (due to role)

mostly uncontested touches and impacts with score involvments and metres gained.

he's collingwood's version of jack sinclair or nasiah

Give credit where it's due. No team would've withstood that Pies last quarter onslaught. They willed themselves to every contest and had two guys tackling with a third ready to pick up the loose ball. At three quarter time I had no idea where their goals were going to come from. They ended up with seven with sustained pressure and gut running. Super impressive even if they were shite for three quarters.
Sure they could have. Essendon's major issue in that final term is they didnt have the fitness to make any sort of seperation on opponents in the center. Essendon got more then a few clearances from defensive 50 but everytime they kicked to a one on one contest up the middle which is just insane if its not an open man. Their forwards needed to be able to get that seperation to then generate inside 50s which would have wiped Collingwoods ability to score as easily as they did.

Word from Canberra is Albo has approved funding needed to build the Hobart stadium.

So it now looks like the Tassie AFL team is coming.

Interesting choice. Seems pretty wild to build a ~710 million dollar stadium in a state with only half a million people. And you just know that cost will blowout even further like every tier 1 construction group...
and the stadium will only be used for AFL and cricket, maybe the occasional soccer or rugby match

Also not sold on diluting the talent pool further and 19 teams will turn into 20 most likely.

And like last time no drafts for 2 -3 years. Don't get your drafting right pre Tasmania, might as well give up

Greens withdrew support for the new stadium, but Albo is ignoring that and going ahead with funding.

Tasmania will win a premiership before GWS and Fremantle.

IMO, its a disgrace that they don't have a side in the league. Tasmania has been a heartland for Aussie Rules for as long as we have played the game. Norf and Hawks can start looking for a new place to play.

Will make the competition so much more interesting.

Surely the AFL can have some common sense, admit Gold Coast hasn't worked and just move the Suns to Tasmania.

Saves any draft issues, one team not having a game every week etc....

I'd be interested in hearing from any Tasmania born / based Saints fans on this question.

If Tasmania get's their own team, would they be your number 1 team or would it still be Saints?

I've spoken to a couple of Tasmanians who support other clubs and they said that they would essentially become Tassie members immediately and support that team primarily. Who are the Tassie supporters on here? Verdun?

Surely the AFL can have some common sense, admit Gold Coast hasn't worked and just move the Suns to Tasmania.

Saves any draft issues, one team not having a game every week etc....

Premier has already declared Tasmania won't be taking a relocated team under any circumstances.

Its going to be their own side....

South Australia were marketing to have a third side over the Gather round, so its going to get to 20 teams quicker than anyone expects.

Premier has already declared Tasmania won't be taking a relocated team under any circumstances.

Its going to be their own side....

South Australia were marketing to have a third side over the Gather round, so it's going to get to 20 teams quicker than anyone expects.

What so 2 teams in SA with a historical rivalry and a third team that nobody really cares about?

Seems a bit mad, I don't know the SA demographics though, if any SANFL team has a strong enough supporter base to form an AFL team and maybe historically would be a bigger rival of Port than the Crows are?