Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

For complete clarity here, I love Tassie. As a whisky man it’s an Aussie mecca, Salamanca is awesome, it has some of australias best bushwalks and scenery and is an arts and food hub.

Also Sicily is an idiot, to go with the hawks proud tradition of making their dumbest blokes captains, just saying, he’s not wrong here.

While in Melbourne indulged in quite a few Japenese whisky's loved em. Love my Tasmanian whisky, love whisky this one especiallly

s-l500.jpg

Yeah acknowledge that Tassie may not be the mecca for young blokes, my 15 year reckons he is out of here as soon as possible, I took off overseas when I was a youngun and lived OS for years and my daughter is at Uni at the black skivvy wearing capital.

Have been a lot of defensive responses to an innocuous comment from a captain of a team who has received millions after millions from Tas - just dumb,
but I am not going to add to them.

Damn my home state will be getting it's own state...pleased, it has grown up a fair bit over the last 10 -20 years and Dark Mofo etc is part of it....place to be proud of. Even if I have a scar on my shoulder

I'm off to WA next week for some work, I know I will hear a s**t load about the 'Eastern States' who do not give a s**t about WA. It happens everywhere.

Funny enough having a stadium will probably contribute to Tassie getting international touring acts and big events. It will make it more attractive to people wanting to move there and build momentum. Hobart as gone from a quaint country town to a little city in the last 20 years and it has energy and a vibe now. I know I'm not young but I'd prefer to live there than the Gold Coast. Goldy is a soulless tourist hole.

While in Melbourne indulged in quite a few Japenese whisky's loved em. Love my Tasmanian whisky, love whisky this one especiallly

s-l500.jpg

Japanese whisky is very good generally. I'll have to give the Overeem a go.

s-l500.jpg
Yeh good gear that. Whisky live in Melbourne this weekend, I’ll have quite a few new obsessions by Sunday I’m sure.

Funny enough having a stadium will probably contribute to Tassie getting international touring acts and big events. It will make it more attractive to people wanting to move there and build momentum. Hobart as gone from a quaint country town to a little city in the last 20 years and it has energy and a vibe now. I know I'm not young but I'd prefer to live there than the Gold Coast. Goldy is a soulless tourist hole.
Yeah I really don't get the attraction of the Gold Coast. If you wanna go to nice beaches, there are much nicer beaches not too far away. If you wanna go to restaurants and bars, much better elsewhere. What is it that makes people want to go there for a holiday?

It reminds me a bit of the original Mad Max movie where they're all trying to get to the promised land, imagined through the postcard of Surfers Paradise.

Now to think back to what it would've been like before the whiteys came, well it would've been a paradise. White sandy beaches, crystal clear waterways, no bogan Victorians surfing in footy shorts and a lot harder to get meth.

There are some better areas to live on the Goldy, mainly on the southern end. Some areas there are a bit less on the chintzy tourist vibe and there's a little more sense of community, but they're few and far between. The area as a whole lacks any sort of soul, much like tourist traps everywhere, and is part of the reason the Sun's struggle to attract/keep players in my opinion.

I knew a few musos from Tassie back in my Melbourne days, great fellas even if most of them were Carlton fans for some weird reason. Never went there myself but seemed like a lovely place. I think it's brilliant that the state is finally getting their own team, and I totally agree with Clarkson and Lewis - Tassie is a massive draw for players who like the quiet country life. It's weird that only Geelong had really capitalised on that lifestyle so far.

I don't think it will dilute the talent pool enough to have a negative effect - so many draftees and rookies get cut early because they're not given a chance to develop and teams are obliged to churn their lists. If that means a few more Dunstans and Clavarinos on lists, games open up a bit more, the imperfections create interest.

I hope they go with the Mariners rather than the Devils name and really lean into the island ID.

Yeah I really don't get the attraction of the Gold Coast. If you wanna go to nice beaches, there are much nicer beaches not too far away. If you wanna go to restaurants and bars, much better elsewhere. What is it that makes people want to go there for a holiday?

It reminds me a bit of the original Mad Max movie where they're all trying to get to the promised land, imagined through the postcard of Surfers Paradise.

Now to think back to what it would've been like before the whiteys came, well it would've been a paradise. White sandy beaches, crystal clear waterways, no bogan Victorians surfing in footy shorts and a lot harder to get meth.

There are some better areas to live on the Goldy, mainly on the southern end. Some areas there are a bit less on the chintzy tourist vibe and there's a little more sense of community, but they're few and far between. The area as a whole lacks any sort of soul, much like tourist traps everywhere, and is part of the reason the Sun's struggle to attract/keep players in my opinion.
The goldy would be great for holidays with kids.

Everything is easily accessible (beach being 2 minute walk from a hotel), it has the theme parks a short drive away also.

We did a boys trip there a few years ago and honestly had a better time in Adelaide and in Sydney, we were supposed to do Geelong the year COVID hit and I assume we would have enjoyed that more as well.

I'd be interested in hearing from any Tasmania born / based Saints fans on this question.

If Tasmania get's their own team, would they be your number 1 team or would it still be Saints?

I've spoken to a couple of Tasmanians who support other clubs and they said that they would essentially become Tassie members immediately and support that team primarily. Who are the Tassie supporters on here? Verdun?
Yes Saints forever.

I knew a few musos from Tassie back in my Melbourne days, great fellas even if most of them were Carlton fans for some weird reason. Never went there myself but seemed like a lovely place. I think it's brilliant that the state is finally getting their own team, and I totally agree with Clarkson and Lewis - Tassie is a massive draw for players who like the quiet country life. It's weird that only Geelong had really capitalised on that lifestyle so far.

I don't think it will dilute the talent pool enough to have a negative effect - so many draftees and rookies get cut early because they're not given a chance to develop and teams are obliged to churn their lists. If that means a few more Dunstans and Clavarinos on lists, games open up a bit more, the imperfections create interest.

I hope they go with the Mariners rather than the Devils name and really lean into the island ID.

I joke around a lot with it, but yeah your Cats comment is spot on, the Tassie bit would be heaven for guys like that who is wholly introverted in social circles as Gold Coast is more everything screaming "go outside, meet sun" and Tassie is almost the exact opposite, or if you do go out it's not to social WOW it's to earth and fam and nature things, so space and ability to breathe.

Itll be interesting cause lets not forget that there is also a go (mild) home factor with most of the boys who have gone to Geelong (Jez Cameron, Patty Dangerfield) that Tassie isnt going to have as much of.

Would those guys have gone to play for a team in the WA bush or Townsville? I doubt it.

Sicily isn't wrong, but he's an idiot for saying it out loud.

Nah, Hobart isn't as as quiet as most people think... the night life is pretty reasonable. Probably like having a bit of King St & an inner suburb like Richmond in terms of the variety of places to go.

Plenty of old money around the traps too... which usually means some well bred young ladies looking for a footballer or two to shack up with.

What's also been glossed over a bit is that not all footballers are niteclub pigs like old mate JDG... a lot of blokes are happy at a pub, going fishing or having their walk spoilt by a little white ball. All pursuits that Tassie (and Hobart) has in spades. They'll just have to be smart with their recruiting.

Toby Green and Lachie Whitfield

What a finish in the Battle of the Bridge, couldn't have scripted that much better with Toby Greene kicking the winner with less than a minute to go.

They are building a proper rivalry the Sydney teams, just a pity GWS don't have more supporters, seemed like mostly Swans supporters there as usual.