Opinion Non-Crows AFL 7

I'm all for a Tasmanian team but I think it will be very difficult for them to be successful.

They need to produce far more AFL level players than they do as a state.

They will need draft concessions, which always sucks for all the other teams.

They'll probably need some sort of COLA or retention allowance. They will be the least attractive club to play for from a location perspective.

If Fremantle can't win one in nearly 30 years, it's a long road ahead for Tasmania.

But hopefully it will bring greater equalization and a more national focus to the game, which will make the AFL better
100% correct.
Look at us. Big club, great Oval, great support and yet we have had trouble retaining players and have had to revert to drafting/recruiting SA lads. Tasmania don't have enough of their own talent to do that and be successful.

I'm all for a Tasmanian team but I think it will be very difficult for them to be successful.

They need to produce far more AFL level players than they do as a state.

They will need draft concessions, which always sucks for all the other teams.

They'll probably need some sort of COLA or retention allowance. They will be the least attractive club to play for from a location perspective.

If Fremantle can't win one in nearly 30 years, it's a long road ahead for Tasmania.

But hopefully it will bring greater equalization and a more national focus to the game, which will make the AFL better
They showed stats last night, **** all players drafted from Tassie over recent years and there’s only 23 Tassie players in the afl at the moment.

Glad we’ve gone through our rebuild before they come on board!

He does have a fair point when he’s given pricing comparisons. The AO redevelopment was $600M and that’s only a redevelopment years ago. Perth’s stadium over $1BN and Gabba is going over $1BN.

Given building costs keep rising how confident are you for them being able to build it within budget? Who will pick up the tab? You’d also hope it’s not built on the cheap.
It is nothing like any of those.

What's your solution ... double the budget? Build it smaller? Don't build it?

EVERY project that is ever put on paper is a guess - and they usually go over budget. I'm not sure why all of a sudden THIS project needs to be more careful than every other project under the AFL banner? THIS project needs to shot-down by the likes of Eddie. Is it based on some ethic driven worry about doing the right thing? Was Eddie worried about the Lexus Centre ethics way back when (Collingwood secretly lobbied for park How about the Geelong stadium upgrade - should we be canning that one? Could it be something to do with where it is being built?

Yeah let's learn from past stadium mistakes - now. Let's punish Tasmania for everyone else's blow outs. Let's not build something in Hobart for fear of it "not going to plan". Whatever.

Maybe you all need to head down to Thebarton and get your placards out?

1682550403026.jpeg

I think in order for Tassie to be successful in the long term the AFL will most probably have to give them to have exclusive access to every talented junior in Tassie via an academy system.

Hopefully with an exclusive zone that gives them the ability to develop local players from a young age via an academy it hopefully will give them a core group of Tassie players to help build a culture and will hopefully help build football in Tassie back to where it used to be.

* off.

You know the feeling you get when Victorians tell you why SA is crap?

You know how SA loves batting out of its weight class?

That’s what we all feel about posts like yours down here in Tassie.

You obviously know nothing about the place, nothing at all. You quote urban fallacies as fact, and pull numbers out your arse to back up your bullshit.

Tasmania is a massive AFL state. Tasmanians will embrace the club and players like not many others. There is pride down here for the Tassie team and it hasn’t even begun

If a player doesn’t wanna come here, fine … step aside and let someone who wants it come down and join our mob.

Again, when you say “who would want to live there?” You sound like a Victorian with no idea talking about Adelaide.

So pull your head in, get some knowledge up ya … and stop bleating about Tasmania.
Holy ####

have I hit a nerve here. you could have replied to a number of posters who made the same points as me but I am happy to seek further discourse and debate.

You are right despite only been a visitor, a best mate who lives down there and a detailed understanding of state economics my understanding is genuinely very limited overall of Tassie. But let’s break down my points and which ones so ****** upset you are not correct?

- And Freo HAS money and a proud local history of 2 teams in the WAFL (Traditional support for 2 WAFL teams and WA being a VERY rich state is an advantage vs Tassie. Can this be argued with?)

- Unfortunately I can see Tassie becoming a GC type situation. (opinion, time will tell. This is based on lack of critical pop mass and retention issues)

- Marginal economics (at best) for the club therefore needing ongoing heavy subsidies (AFL, state Govt). (Opinion, time will tell but all media has surrounded in recent years is “will it work financially”. Also hence the massive delays in making a decision, it’s certainly not a fait accompli otherwise it wouldn’t have taken years)

- Decentralised population base on island with Hobart popn of 200k a third as low as the next smaller pops base (GC 600k ish). (Surely this point can’t be argued can it and many Taswegians have a north/south mentality so with such a small Hobart popn can they rely on other bigger cities up north to travel to games? Doubtful IMO)

- Traditionally poorest state but they have turned this around with tourism, agri and influx of cashed up interstate migrants in recent years (Factual. Has always been poorest state u til recent years for a GDP per person perspective)

- However with crap weather (most people, don’t enjoy colder, more miserable weather relative to all other cities so this in my opinion but a widely held one) , the least appealing AFL city to live in (Hobart is pretty and good to tour for a few days. You can only go to MONA so many times. I have often said ADL along with Gac for different reasons and reaffirm Hobart will be the least appealing city for successful highly paid young men in their 20’s) I can see retention VERY difficult, same if not worse than GC and GWS.

- It’s a hard one as it is a traditional footy state and many people are footy tragica. It’s just I don’t think the numbers and business case stacks up…(notice I give you a nice couple of compliments before summarising my fears with the last sentence)

what exact points are either blatantly wrong or have offended you? Media commentators are expressing concerns currently - Jonathon Brown asking where are all the supporters now and why aren’t they showing up? - at a crucial juncture before a final decision is made.

personally I hope the team is successful but don’t back down from any of my points above so not sure why you are so pi$$ed off esp as I didn’t roll out the well worn and offensive tropes of “2 heads, in breeding and poor cousins“ which would be totally inappropriate (and that others are using for a joke in this thread)

Holy ####

have I hit a nerve here. you could have replied to a number of posters who made the same points as me but I am happy to seek further discourse and debate.

You are right despite only been a visitor, a best mate who lives down there and a detailed understanding of state economics my understanding is genuinely very limited overall of Tassie. But let’s break down my points and which ones so ****** upset you are not correct?

- And Freo HAS money and a proud local history of 2 teams in the WAFL (Traditional support for 2 WAFL teams and WA being a VERY rich state is an advantage vs Tassie. Can this be argued with?)

- Unfortunately I can see Tassie becoming a GC type situation. (opinion, time will tell. This is based on lack of critical pop mass and retention issues)

- Marginal economics (at best) for the club therefore needing ongoing heavy subsidies (AFL, state Govt). (Opinion, time will tell but all media has surrounded in recent years is “will it work financially”. Also hence the massive delays in making a decision, it’s certainly not a fait accompli otherwise it wouldn’t have taken years)

- Decentralised population base on island with Hobart popn of 200k a third as low as the next smaller pops base (GC 600k ish). (Surely this point can’t be argued can it and many Taswegians have a north/south mentality so with such a small Hobart popn can they rely on other bigger cities up north to travel to games? Doubtful IMO)

- Traditionally poorest state but they have turned this around with tourism, agri and influx of cashed up interstate migrants in recent years (Factual. Has always been poorest state u til recent years for a GDP per person perspective)

- However with crap weather (most people, don’t enjoy colder, more miserable weather relative to all other cities so this in my opinion but a widely held one) , the least appealing AFL city to live in (Hobart is pretty and good to tour for a few days. You can only go to MONA so many times. I have often said ADL along with Gac for different reasons and reaffirm Hobart will be the least appealing city for successful highly paid young men in their 20’s) I can see retention VERY difficult, same if not worse than GC and GWS.

- It’s a hard one as it is a traditional footy state and many people are footy tragica. It’s just I don’t think the numbers and business case stacks up…(notice I give you a nice couple of compliments before summarising my fears with the last sentence)

what exact points are either blatantly wrong or have offended you? Media commentators are expressing concerns currently - Jonathon Brown asking where are all the supporters now and why aren’t they showing up? - at a crucial juncture before a final decision is made.

personally I hope the team is successful but don’t back down from any of my points above so not sure why you are so pi$$ed off esp as I didn’t roll out the well worn and offensive tropes of “2 heads, in breeding and poor cousins“ which would be totally inappropriate (and that others are using for a joke in this thread)
Bet their State debt isn't at the anything like the eye watering level of Victoria's ever burgeoning debt

mate I am not saying it is - no others states state debt is certainly in absolute terms to Dictator Dans - but the crux of my sentiments involve retention issues and relatively marginal economics in a small state with a decentralised popn base,

do you agree with either of these points?

EVERY project that is ever put on paper is a guess - and they usually go over budget. I'm not sure why all of a sudden THIS project needs to be more careful than every other project under the AFL banner? THIS project needs to shot-down by the likes of Eddie. Is it based on some ethic driven worry about doing the right thing? Was Eddie worried about the Lexus Centre ethics way back when (Collingwood secretly lobbied for park How about the Geelong stadium upgrade - should we be canning that one? Could it be something to do with where it is being built?

Yeah let's learn from past stadium mistakes - now. Let's punish Tasmania for everyone else's blow outs. Let's not build something in Hobart for fear of it "not going to plan". Whatever.

View attachment 1671443

Genuine question for a Tasmanian - but my understanding on the Tassie football scene has always been that there is a huge divide between the "North" and "South"..I just wonder then if building this new stadium is going to result in half the state not barracking for the Tassie team, effectivelyon the basis that if you build a 750m stadium in Hobart, you sure as hell arent going to play half your games up in Launceston?

mate I am not saying it is - no others states state debt is certainly in absolute terms to Dictator Dans - but the crux of my sentiments involve retention issues and relatively marginal economics in a small state with a decentralised popn base,

do you agree with either of these points?
Personally I have very little interest in the matter and nothing said here will stop it happening. There will be at least 3 Tassie lads drafted this year and all look decent AFL prospects, McKercher could be really special, reminds me a lot of a quicker McCluggage.

Genuine question for a Tasmanian - but my understanding on the Tassie football scene has always been that there is a huge divide between the "North" and "South"..I just wonder then if building this new stadium is going to result in half the state not barracking for the Tassie team, effectivelyon the basis that if you build a 750m stadium in Hobart, you sure as hell arent going to play half your games up in Launceston?
Perfect result would be to play their 11 home games in Hobart but have a couple of opposition clubs sell their home game vs Tassie to Launceston. Either clubs who already have a presence there (Hawks) or clubs who need the money (Port).

Add in their preseason matches, base a northern Academy (and perhaps the Tassie U18 team?) and they'd at least have a bit of a footprint there.

This is a key issue. A good mate who lives near one of the “bigger” northern cities (towns) has said nobody he knows, and expects not many overall, would travel down the Midlands Highway south to Hobart for a game. In effect, he also said many up north will be jealous if Hobart ends up monopolising all AFL Tassie teams games

On the positive side, with Tassie such a stunningly beautiful state to visit, perhaps the % of opposition fans attending will be one of the highest in the league and many will take a week off visiting world class Freycinet, Cradle Mountain, Franklin and the east coast in general (rated one of Aussies top tourist spots in last years Lonely Planet update),2 travelling between Port Arthur and the Bay of Fires and the many attractions in between (personally loved Maria Island, thought Bruny somewhat over rated and didn’t get to visit the very cutely named “Bacon and Egg Bay” down south. There’s always next time..)

Has anyone heard what Trigg is doing these days?

I just ask because I note that the AFL is about to appoint the Gill the Dill successor. And they just happened to find the right bloke sitting in the office next door.
How incredible is that? A Billion dollar organisation and the very best person in the World to run it just happens to already be sitting next door.
AND it's the second time in a row the successor was already there! How incredible. The AFL must be the best run organisation in the World. It's not insular at all...

Adelaide, Port, WC, Freo, Sydney, Brisbane, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, Melbourne, Hawthorn, Geelong, Tassie. If you were being brutal and just trying to improve the comp as a whole, these would be the 14 teams.
I get that argument but the quality of footy is at a decade high IMO currently. We all love to smash the AFL but rules tweaking has certainly had positive effects, opening up the game overall, less congestion and higher scoring in recent years. Going back 3-4 years for the first time ever I was starting to struggle to stay engaged with the game with chipping ball movement sideways, dominant defensive mindset, lower scoring and huge amt of congestion. The “stand” rule, longer kick out after behind distance, clamping down on deliberate OO Bounds, 6/6/6 reset after each goal and encouraging ball to be in play as much as possible all have been incremental but excellent collectively as a spectacle IMO

plus less teams = less revenue so just a isnt likely to happen

This is a key issue. A good mate who lives near one of the “bigger” northern cities (towns) has said nobody he knows, and expects not many overall, would travel down the Midlands Highway south to Hobart for a game. In effect, he also said many up north will be jealous if Hobart ends up monopolising all AFL Tassie teams games

On the positive side, with Tassie such a stunningly beautiful state to visit, perhaps the % of opposition fans attending will be one of the highest in the league and many will take a week off visiting world class Freycinet, Cradle Mountain, Franklin and the east coast in general (rated one of Aussies top tourist spots in last years Lonely Planet update),2 travelling between Port Arthur and the Bay of Fires and the many attractions in between (personally loved Maria Island, thought Bruny somewhat over rated and didn’t get to visit the very cutely named “Bacon and Egg Bay” down south. There’s always next time..)

I was under the impression that Launceston was going to host 2-3 games a season against lower drawing sides ie Freo, GC, GWS, Bris etc

I could be wrong, but I am sure that I remember seeing that somewhere?

I’d far rather be located in Hobart and play for the Tassie team than for Western Sydney. So 18th out of 19.

I much rather spend my own time as a travelling footy fan in Hobart than Geelong, Ballarat, Alice Springs or Canberra. Not so much Launceston.

The combination of a Crows game against a parochial Tassie crowd in an undercover stadium and an extended stay at the The Henry Jones Art Hotel, both at Mac Point, would be expensive but hard to resist when we play there every second year or so.
Good post but only one of these locations has a permanent team. Agree lots of fans will visit Hobart and Tassie when the team ultimately gets up which is a major benefit to the states tourism industry. Anyone visiting Hobart try and stay in Battery Point, my gosh it’s to die for and 5 mins walk to waterfront in main part of town. Started looking at properties but was seemingly 20 years too late with a decent house costing well north of 1.5-2m

I was under the impression that Launceston was going to host 2-3 games a season against lower drawing sides ie Freo, GC, GWS, Bris etc

I could be wrong, but I am sure that I remember seeing that somewhere?
You may well be right, probably makes sense.

Do you have any concerns on the overall economics and player retention issues relapse?

Has anyone heard what Trigg is doing these days?

I just ask because I note that the AFL is about to appoint the Gill the Dill successor. And they just happened to find the right bloke sitting in the office next door.
How incredible is that? A Billion dollar organisation and the very best person in the World to run it just happens to already be sitting next door.
AND it's the second time in a row the successor was already there! How incredible. The AFL must be the best run organisation in the World. It's not insular at all...
Don’t forget the 1m consultancy fee paid to the NYC based global headhunters also who had to walk from one AFL office to the one next door to find the best candidate in the world..

Will never ever happen as means much less TV dollars and player pay cuts
Same number of games per year with 16 players a side, and effectively bigger list if they keep the same size squad so no individual player pay cut.

Should happen but agree it won’t

I’d far rather be located in Hobart and play for the Tassie team than for Western Sydney. So 18th out of 19.

I much rather spend my own time as a travelling footy fan in Hobart than Geelong, Ballarat, Alice Springs or Canberra. Not so much Launceston.

The combination of a Crows game against a parochial Tassie crowd in an undercover stadium and an extended stay at the The Henry Jones Art Hotel, both at Mac Point, would be expensive but hard to resist when we play there every second year or so.
Every second year? Funny.
We will be booked in there every year. Without doubt.