Review Round 7, 2023 - Brisbane Lions vs. Fremantle

Who were your five best players against Fremantle?

Really hard to be critical of that performance. Kicked a massive score, dominated the midfield and probably put in our best defensive effort of the year to date.
Really starting to track along nicely and build our season here.

Only downside were the two injuries - Rich in particular makes a difference. When he’s out I think we really miss that exiting kick from D50.

Fab 5- Neale, Dunkley, Ashcroft, Andrews, McCarthy.

Strange to say but it felt like a really flat 50 point win.... pretty good if that is all I have to complain about.

So much room for improvement with Clugga and Bailey still down on form, Kiddy looked a lot better today though. Froggy not up to it, needs to make way for some youth IMO. Big O looked like he went pretty well against Darcy.

Freo were atrocious, we really should have blown them away because a lot of what Freo were able to produce looked more like an accident live at the game. None of it really looked as though it was a solid plan.
They are in all sorts

Important to state they kicked 8.1.49 after starting 2.6.18 through most of the first half. Would’ve been a lot less close if they actually missed some.

Still won all four quarters so not complaining.

Hard to only vote for 5. Rich, Payne and Starce all good down back. Neale huge, Dunkley, Oscar and Ashcroft all quite good. Charlie, Linc, Bailey, Hippy and Joe all quite good as well and Gunston and Rayner were ok. Zorko huge in the first half

Skill the biggest issue and hard to see us going far in finals unless a midfielder outside of Neale, Dunkley and Ashcroft actually steps up

My 12 year old son and his best mate got the opportunity to yell out "no way, get ****ed, **** off"....twice. It was a good day at the footy. Thank you, Eric Hipwood.

Positive - we won and never in doubt ... and currently (if temporarily) second on the ladder and with 120%

Negative - the two injuries

Always Supicious - no replays of Dunkley's 'throw'

Awesome - Ashcroft's goal (of course the fact that I had him picked in the goal kicking comp for this week is completely irrelevant ;) )

Stats - Squiggle anticipated 93 - 67 ... actual 115 - 67 do defence was expected but offense better (I can live with that but exceeding expectations in defense would be nice too)

Some players have really worked into the season well. Still not firing at 100% but I'm liking Starc recently, Kiddy looking much better, there was one or 2 pretty bad misses but McCluggage is still improving, and Bailey was a force today.

Special mention to Hippy putting in some good pressure in the last 5 mins, sprinting for a run down tackle. (nothing beats McKenna and his run down pressure which affected the kick, great gut running)
Coleman was absolutely terrible today, out of position often and looked lazy and disinterested for most the game.

Starc and Rich were both very good today, Hugh had some classy moments and looked much better.

Had a great pass to Joe for a goal and a few other great touches

Coleman was absolutely terrible today, out of position often and looked lazy and disinterested for most the game.
Shows how it is in the eye of the beholder, I haven't looked at the stats or watched any replays yet but live at the game I thought Coleman had a pretty decent game, showed a fair bit of desperation to my eye.

BRISBANE 3.5 8.7 13.10 17.13 (115)
FREMANTLE 1.3 3.6 8.6 10.7 (67)

GOALS
Brisbane:
McCarthy 3, Daniher 3, Ashcroft 2, Bailey 2, Hipwood 2, Cameron 2, Gunston, McKenna, Rayner
Fremantle: O'Meara 2, Brayshaw 2, Switkowski 2, Jackson, O'Driscoll, Walters, Amiss

BEST
Brisbane:
Ashcroft, Zorko, Neale, Rich, Lester, Starcevich
Fremantle: O'Meara, Serong, Jackson, Darcy, Young

INJURIES
Brisbane:
Zorko (hamstring), Rich (calf)
Fremantle: Nil

Lethal Lions tame Dockers to notch fourth-straight win

Was there much mention in the TV coverage of the couple of blatant high head contact tackles? A Docker nearly took Clugga's head off at one stage, also think Rayner copped a blatant head high, at the ground people couldn't believe it. Umpire must have called ducked into them.

I commented in the match day thread that the umpiring was atrocious today. Not for any one team in particular it was just crap all round. It was almost as if the AFL said alright 2 interstate teams, off broadway etc, let’s send our worst of the worst for this match. Was laughable at times what they were letting go and then randomly just pulled a soft one out of nowhere. Actually quite bizarre.

Was there much mention in the TV coverage of the couple of blatant high head contact tackles? A Docker nearly took Clugga's head off at one stage, also think Rayner copped a blatant head high, at the ground people couldn't believe it. Umpire must have called ducked into them.
If you bent over to pick up the ball your head was fair game

Adjudication was totally inconsistent .

One minute soft frees were being plucked from nowhere and the next , blatant head highs, throws and other incorrect disposals were being ignored.

Elini had a shocker. On a few occasions she looked like a deer in the headlights. Just seemed incapable of making a decision and then when she did, she was wrong half the time.

One of her centre bounces went comprehensively out of the circle and straight to the Freo ruckman.....but oh well, can't be bothered reaclling it so "play on".

Then she had the ignominy of calling "play on" deep in our defensive line, only for one of her colleagues to overrule her and give a free to Freo.

I see no advantage in this four umpire system at all anyway. Confusion reigns

I commented in the match day thread that the umpiring was atrocious today. Not for any one team in particular it was just crap all round. It was almost as if the AFL said alright 2 interstate teams, off broadway etc, let’s send our worst of the worst for this match. Was laughable at times what they were letting go and then randomly just pulled a soft one out of nowhere. Actually quite bizarre.
Agree, I am not a fan of the number 12 umpire or Eleni.

Fages brought it up in the presser.

Never heard him have a crack at the umps before.

The young lady may as well not have been out there.

Wonder how we are going in terms of pressure rating through the first 6 rounds. Must be at the lower end of the scale apart from Collingwood and Melbourne game. Either its Clever player management or players managing themselves depending on in-game status, not sure how to summarize it. Or this new intercept game style mean we shouldn't expect a manic press across the ground and players will spend their energy when they are closer to the intercept chain ? Aaarrghh I give up.

Good game from a lot of them but not our best game. Looked messy on tv, may be we were less messy than Freo. Felt like we did this gif below to Freo whenever we pleased, without getting out of stroll.

face foot GIF by SLUTEVER

Solid win, good percentage booster. Very brave in the contest, pressure becoming consistent. Reverted to more of a kicking game, would like to see a bit more overlapping run at times. Getting a roll on now, no reason it shouldn't continue.

Injuries only real concern. Rich probably gone up to 4 weeks. I didn't see ice on Zorko's calf after the game , I could be wrong tho, and I reckon they'll be cautious, maybe a week or two. Linc will be sore, he's a tough bloke that one, but I reckon he'll be right for next week.

Lester was adequate, not good or bad, but man he's slow. Gotta be better options going fwd v smaller opposition forwards. Back to the 3 talls v Carlton. Gunston still not overly impressive, nearly as slow as Lester, but I can't see Fages dropping him.

Payne very good, getting better with every game. Neale, Dunkley and Ashcroft combining much better. Outside those mentioned, the rest of the team went pretty well.

If you bent over to pick up the ball your head was fair game
I thought Fagan was really impressive in his presser. He called this out. I suggest the lady umpire and Umpire Number 12 should be dropped.

Shows how it is in the eye of the beholder, I haven't looked at the stats or watched any replays yet but live at the game I thought Coleman had a pretty decent game, showed a fair bit of desperation to my eye.
Didn’t have much of it but that doesn’t phase me, stats don’t tell the true story.

Has just a general lack of urgency and has been poor all season yet seems to get a pass others don’t

Review Round 7, 2023 - Brisbane Lions vs. Fremantle