Bluemour 'Silly Season' Edition XXXIV

At the age of 22 Dustin Martin was shopped around by Richmond. Attracted little interest at level of negotiation. He went on to win them 3 Premierships.

Collingwood list management was in shambles 2 years ago. They are fortunate that father sons have turned out that good and that Pendlebury & Sidebottom recruited in another era are still playing that good. A lot to play out. let's see how they are going at the pointy end of the season.

In the past 5 years, if Brisbane had their best 5-7 players out consistently like us and we the opposite like them? Is this a coaching issue?

Sydney made the Grand Final last year. Now they have fallen off the cliff. Melbourne made a prelim, finished near the bottom the following year, then won the premiership.

Let's not get carried away by clubs knowing what they are doing? There is a lot of luck as shown above. We are doing ok off field.

This time last year we were 8 & 2. What we did in the last 2 games of last season was remarkable given the outs.

A lot to play out this year. Things can turn around quickly. So many players not playing to their best and this will change soon. There have been positive signs the past 2 weeks against very good opposition. We need to keep the faith as supporters. Things will get better.
Great post mate.

Rumor time. Paraphrasing what I was told.

If Hardwick comes across to Carlton it will not be to replace Voss.

Despite the disappointing start to the season the club itself is still locked in on Voss. What Sayers published on Monday is how he and others at the club actually feel. It wasn't just smoke.

Dimma is completely burnt out. It took some encouragement from those at Richmond for him not to walk away at the end of last year. He was excited by their recruiting and that helped persuade him to stay. The decision that he made was not sudden despite Morris breaking it early.

If we get Hardwick to the club it will be in the form of "director of coaching." There is interest in Hardwick assessing how our club currently operates and improving standards to support Voss. A big part of this will be in identifying prospects to join the club as assistant coaches.

If Dimma eventually finds the want to coach again and the opportunity presents itself at the right club he'd be able to pursue it. My contact says it is highly unlikely that he will coach in 2024.

My contact compared it to what Roos did for Melbourne without him coaching them while Goodwin served his apprenticeship.

Despite the disappointing start to the season the club itself is still locked in on Voss. What Sayers published on Monday is how he and others at the club actually feel. It wasn't just smoke.

Dimma is completely burnt out. It took some encouragement from those at Richmond for him not to walk away at the end of last year. He was excited by their recruiting and that helped persuade him to stay. The decision that he made was not sudden despite Morris breaking it early.

If we get Hardwick to the club it will be in the form of "director of coaching." There is interest in Hardwick assessing how our club currently operates and improving standards to support Voss. A big part of this will be in identifying prospects to join the club as an assistant coaches.

If Dimma eventually finds the want to coach again and the opportunity presents itself at the right club he'd be able to pursue it. My contact says it is highly unlikely that he will coach in 2024.

My contact compared it to what Roos did for Melbourne without him coaching them while Goodwin served his apprenticeship.
Effective immediately wick??

No clue in that aspect but I don't think we're that disrespectful as a club. I'd imagine after this season

If we get Hardwick to the club it will be in the form of "director of coaching." There is interest in Hardwick assessing how our club currently operates and improving standards to support Voss. A big part of this will be in identifying prospects to join the club as an assistant coaches.

This I would be behind 100%. I am not a Hardwick fan, but he knows the recipe. Vossy is a good bloke, a little lost in the paradigms of the past.

I doubt Voss is oblivious to our needs, I just don’t think it is in his skill set or that of his current assistants to add the necessary layers and mindset. People often misconstrue the role of a head coach these days. Gone are the times where they have to tick every box.

Reckon Voss, Dimma and a couple of strategic appointments a assistants would turn things around very quickly, with little addition to our playing ranks.

If we get Hardwick to the club it will be in the form of "director of coaching." There is interest in Hardwick assessing how our club currently operates and improving standards to support Voss. A big part of this will be in identifying prospects to join the club as assistant coaches.

Exactly what we need.

Thanks for the info. So that info seems to be from Carlton's perspective and what he can do for us. Was there any info on whether Hardwick is actually interested in this at all - or that bridge hasn't even been crossed yet?

Exactly what we need.
Perhaps, just not convinced that Hardwick is the right man for the role. It'll be a constant shadow hanging over Voss and the club and the media will have a field day. Worked with Roos as he had no aspirations of coaching again.

Would love a strong head of football ala Balme (re-unite the Geelong dream team) to replace Lloyd.

Perhaps, just not convinced that Hardwick is the right man for the role. It'll be a constant shadow hanging over Voss and the club and the media will have a field day. Worked with Roos as he had no aspirations of coaching again.

Would love a strong head of football ala Balme (re-unite the Geelong dream team) to replace Lloyd.

Head of Football and Director of Coaching are two distinct roles. The head of football is not necessarily going to be able to provide coaching advice or recognise who the best assistants might be.

We should do both.

Thanks for the info. So that info seems to be from Carlton's perspective and what he can do for us. Was there any info on whether Hardwick is actually interested in this at all - or that bridge hasn't even been crossed yet?

No idea. It was a Carlton person who shared this with me hence the perspective.

Make this happen please Carlton

Another point is that he was contracted to the Tigers for 2024... I would suggest as part of his contract it would have a clause that should he rescind his contract prior to completion he will not be able to be a senior coach at any other club till November 2024.

I know their break up was mutual and Hardwick is clearly cooked at the moment, but if he pops up fresh suddenly in 3-4 months time contacts Richmond and says he is being hired as head coach of another club I don't think Richmond will be too pleased.

l bet Clarko & Hardwicks record was no better than Voss's in their 2nd year of Coaching.
We complain about not beating top teams whom took 5 years to get there
In fairness they didn't take over teams with immediate finals ambition, sacking the previous coach for not making finals.

They took over rebuild teams.

Voss having a comparable record to them in 2 yrs is actually a negative, hence the the pressure.

Remember, we specifically went after a coach with senior coaching experience as we didn't want a coach that needs training wheels...
shane-reyes-let-it-rain.gif

Another slam dunk by the club

Imagine a 2nd time coach serving an apprenticeship....🤣:rolleyes:

They can call it whatever they want, but Hardwick has a far better resume than Voss as far as coaching goes. It's not as though he can't offer something to Vossy, and he won't be classed as Vossy's boss so not ego issues there.

Remember, we specifically went after a coach with senior coaching experience as we didn't want a coach that needs training wheels...

There's a difference between training wheels and having a director of coaching.

The idea would be that the club would be covering for current short falls in skills and enabling the present and incoming skills to shine

Leave him alone, he focused on footy as a kid and his dad and mum never got the chance to teach him how to ride a bike. Better now than never.

1684893013124.png

I think the biggest firm takeaway for me is that the club has identified this and if not Dimma then I'd expect movement on this front
Well the upside is we know the club isn’t sitting on its hands and genuinely wants to do everything possible to get the best people around Voss … that can only be good …

There's a difference between training wheels and having a director of coaching.

The idea would be that the club would be covering for current short falls in skills and enabling the present and incoming skills to shine
I'm not opposed to the move and agree he'd be a big asset. I'm just pointing out the fairly comedic line that can be drawn from the early messaging to the rumours of a more experienced, and let's be honest better, coach coming and helping him out after making such public statements about wanting a coach that doesn't need that kind of help.