Player Watch #23 Judson Clarke

I like how he goes back and drop punts it straight through, no hops, sidesteps etc the kid can kick.and is confident in that ability, just what we need up forward.
The blokes that spin the ball in their hands as they move in to kick bemuse me. The best set shots at goal that I can recall - Lockett, Roach, Dunstall, Lloyd etc didn't see the need for it, yet the likes of Castagna did. There might be something in that for our prospective "spinners".

With 2-3 years of development & experience and 50-70 games under his belt
he could be playing the Kane Lambert role

Think this kid is more than just a small foward

It is so good watching someone with Clarke's skills. His kick to Baker in the first quarter was superb.

He's still getting the pace of the game. He still needs a couple of years in the gym. He still has a lot to learn, But I am very, very impressed so far.

We definitely keep him stationed wide almost all the time, but he is quite clever in his 1 v 1 contests, as well as his speed and skill.

Give this kid 50 games and he will be a beauty
He just needs one more preseason. Well ahead of Edwards at the same time. Seems to have got bigger overnight which is great. Now The argument about Edwards showing Elite skills early over being called Shank. Edwards definitely showed heaps of A grade talent early in winning his own footy, hand balling and evasiveness. His problem was he lacked strength and his kicking was atrocious bc he lacked strength, hence Shank. He was just poorly developed and our fitness programs were pathetic back then. He really took a long time to burst onto the scene, but Clarke won’t have that issue bc our programs are in the 21st century nowadays. I’ve seen the growth in him already and his strength in his legs is excellent.
Has surprised me already and should be an A grader quicker than we think.

He just needs one more preseason. Well ahead of Edwards at the same time. Seems to have got bigger overnight which is great. Now The argument about Edwards showing Elite skills early over being called Shank. Edwards definitely showed heaps of A grade talent early in winning his own footy, hand balling and evasiveness. His problem was he lacked strength and his kicking was atrocious bc he lacked strength, hence Shank. He was just poorly developed and our fitness programs were pathetic back then. He really took a long time to burst onto the scene, but Clarke won’t have that issue bc our programs are in the 21st century nowadays. I’ve seen the growth in him already and his strength in his legs is excellent.

You can really see that in the way he keeps his feet in those 1 v 1's out on the wing area, even against much more mature players. I recall in one game he also kept his feet in a goal line tussle that saw him get a tap in while a more experienced opponent was sprawled on the ground.

He has just played 15 games and some as a sub and also wont turn 20 until October
Showing a good understanding of the game and has the speed and tank to play midfield role similar to Lambert in 2 years

But lets just dream for 1 moment and pray at the same time
Judson Clarke - 180cm 73kgs
Zak Butters - 181cm - 78 kgs

How good would that be

He has just played 15 games and some as a sub and also wont turn 20 until October
Showing a good understanding of the game and has the speed and tank to play midfield role similar to Lambert in 2 years

How good would that be
One preseason away and a Maccas diet over Summer. Lol.

How good would that be
That'd be great but it's a fantasy. Judson will never have the inside game Butters does.

Its a pipe dream and not many achieve what butter has done this year with how small he is and the game he plays
Im always expecting him to be crunched and taken off.

Juddy is way more outside but for a 15 game player thats 19 years old he shows all the signs of making it at the level

jizz worthy

plays so much like browny its not funny

most excited over clarke out of any of the youngens. he is gonna have games where he kicks bags

The blokes that spin the ball in their hands as they move in to kick bemuse me. The best set shots at goal that I can recall - Lockett, Roach, Dunstall, Lloyd etc didn't see the need for it, yet the likes of Castagna did. There might be something in that for our prospective "spinners".
I remember those blokes too , and they never faced the opposition goals when having shots either

Player Watch #23 Judson Clarke