Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

Agree that’s valuable and better than just staying at hawthorn for life but some of the assistants we had during the 3peat era and either side had no real links to the club and were a a huge part of our success. Guys like Viney, Hardwick, Cameron, Simpson, Beveridge, Macrae, Burns etc.
do we even have a slot for another full-time coach? and Roughy was working as a list manager (or recruiting or smthn similar) so if it's him he'd be likely coming back in that capacity

Aside from the March 2nd game in Tassie against the Dogs any word on a scratch match prior? word is there will be one!

Anyone....Anyone....Bueller.....Beuller?

The Bulldogs game is a 6 quarter sim-type game as I understand it. It's at Whitten Oval on Feb 23rd

The actual pre-season game, again against the Dogs is in Launceston Mar 2nd @6.10pm

Why both are against the Doggies, I have no idea.

Will it be open though? Looking on Google Maps it's all fenced off.

Also looking at the street view images from within the Hocking St car park... I wonder if the Google driver was nervous.

I live down the road.
Main entrance is a building site currently, but car park should be clear for the match sim (according to a tradie I spoke to)
Entrance off Barkley St will be open.

Should be able to easily park in Bunnings (walk over West Footscray train station overpass to get to ground - 2 hr free parking) or station itself if quiet (doubtful at 11am)

Capture.JPG

Failing that - there is very limited free on street parking northwards, best bet might be alongside Western PRIVATE Hospital (not public) in the council run car park - enter off ELEANOR ST About 5 mins walk to Whitten Oval.

Capture.JPG

Best way, is of course, just getting the train - 1 mins walk to ground.

I understand it's open to the public, and limited concessions facilities will be open.

It was often said about our gun players in the threepeat, and in other sports particularly MJ & Kobe in the NBA, that we trained so hard against each other and tested each other so well that we were mentally and physically prepared for any game.

I've always felt that it's a massive advantage to have a gun player, and a gun player in the complete opposite spot from a training perspective. For guys like Day and Newc to be able to go toe-to-toe with Finn is a massive advantage, the hardest opponent they'll have all year is a guy they line up against every week at training. It's definitely something that helped drive both Rance and Riewoldt to new heights.
The best example of this is probably Daniel "Rudy" Ruettiger, (his book is an amazing read) a young kid who wanted to play for Notre Dame in the US college grid iron system. Trouble was he was built like Nick Watson. When he tried out for the team, the coach told him, "you bring that energy to training every week and you can train with the boys". During one training session he hit a bloke hard enough to concuss himself, and the player said "This arseh*le thinks it's the super bowl." Not the right thing to say at training when you yourself are supposed to put in effort.

In his last week of college the team wanted him to actually play. The coach refused so the captain threatened to quit. The coach said "You're the captain of the finest college football team in the nation, act like it." "I believe I am sir".

The fans knew of Rudy because they came and watched training every week. The coach finally acquiesced and said he could "dress" meaning wear the uniform and be in the numbers but sit on the sidelines for the entire match.

His father never believed he actually was on the training squad let alone the team. but came to the match because he was a ND fan. With a few minutes to go some people in the crowd started chanting "Rudy" wanting him to get out on the field. The chant spread throughout the crowd. The father couldn't believe it. The entire crowd chanting out his son's name.
The coach finally caved and let him go out on the field for the final minute of the game.

To this day he remains the only player in Notre Dame's history to be chaired from the field by his team mates.

The best example of this is probably Daniel "Rudy" Ruettiger, (his book is an amazing read) a young kid who wanted to play for Notre Dame in the US college grid iron system. Trouble was he was built like Nick Watson. When he tried out for the team, the coach told him, "you bring that energy to training every week and you can train with the boys". During one training session he hit a bloke hard enough to concuss himself, and the player said "This arseh*le thinks it's the super bowl." Not the right thing to say at training when you yourself are supposed to put in effort.

In his last week of college the team wanted him to actually play. The coach refused so the captain threatened to quit. The coach said "You're the captain of the finest college football team in the nation, act like it." "I believe I am sir".

The fans knew of Rudy because they came and watched training every week. The coach finally acquiesced and said he could "dress" meaning wear the uniform and be in the numbers but sit on the sidelines for the entire match.

His father never believed he actually was on the training squad let alone the team. but came to the match because he was a ND fan. With a few minutes to go some people in the crowd started chanting "Rudy" wanting him to get out on the field. The chant spread throughout the crowd. The father couldn't believe it. The entire crowd chanting out his son's name.
The coach finally caved and let him go out on the field for the final minute of the game.

To this day he remains the only player in Notre Dame's history to be chaired from the field by his team mates.
Yep love that movie.

It was often said about our gun players in the threepeat, and in other sports particularly MJ & Kobe in the NBA, that we trained so hard against each other and tested each other so well that we were mentally and physically prepared for any game.

I've always felt that it's a massive advantage...
West Indies is the best example I can think of.

Roberts, Holding, Garner, Marshall, Walsh, Ambrose, et al bowling to Lloyd, Richards, ... , Lara. Best nets ever, for twenty? years.

West Indies is the best example I can think of.

Roberts, Holding, Garner, Marshall, Walsh, Ambrose, et al bowling to Lloyd, Richards, ... , Lara. Best nets ever, for twenty? years.

Best side ever.

Aussies weren't bad either in terms of competing against each other... our batters having to face McGrath and Warne... bowlers having all sorts of quality batters, right and left handed.

I remember watching McGrath bowl to S. Waugh in the nets at Bellerive Oval before a test... Was awesome. McGrath got him twice faintly edging to the back net, and then grinning and chirping saying "wobbling about a bit isn't it Tugger?". Waugh threw the ball back in distain not smiling.

FWIW ... I am just watching the A-League and Andrew Nabbout is playing again, only 5 months after snapping his achilles. He was expected to miss the entire season. Perhaps Wingard is also tracking ahead of schedule?
Fair call , soccer players seem to get back quicker than most. I know a player in a European league that did his ACL in April and came back in late December! There's something in this to look at by AFL clubs imo.

FWIW ... I am just watching the A-League and Andrew Nabbout is playing again, only 5 months after snapping his achilles. He was expected to miss the entire season. Perhaps Wingard is also tracking ahead of schedule?
It’s already been 5 1/2 months since Chad’s rupture. Different sport with different requirements.

Sounds like Chad is doing all the right things and is up to doing straight line run through.

Fingers crossed he can continue without setbacks and be back playing footy again by May / June?

For Nabbout was it a full or partial rupture? It's possible for partial tears to heal on their own. Partial ruptures take around 9-10 weeks to heal but the chances of re-injury will always be there. I teammate of mine partially ruptured his with which he didn't require surgery but he always said it never felt quite right. I always wondered wether it was best that he just fully ruptured it so he could get it surgically repaired. Another mate of mine who I used to play basketball with fully ruptured his and the scar from the surgery looked so gross.

Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion