Opinion Commentary & Media VII

Best game I’ve ever seen, so good it is the only time I genuinely didn’t mind losing to a better team on the day, even them.
I might be bitter and twisted and my memory is blurry but was it in this game where Michael Long had two free kicks near the 50 at the Punt Road end and each time, just as Lloyd was standing near him, suddenly grabbed at his leg like he was cramping so that Lloyd had to take the kicks?

As I said, I am bitter and twisted. But I am convinced that the fake cramps were a set play.

Call me ungracious.

Anyway, that's football.

I was never a fan of Sheedy.

Zeebs doing pressers in tigers gear.

Vomit

I hope he's sharing his wealth of experience with them.

"Now Gibcus, when you take a mark, I want you to face in the direction of your target, stare at your team mate who you're going to kick the ball to for about 5 seconds and then kick it to them. No one will ever be able to read you".

I thought I’d start tuning into SEN again now that the footy is almost back, and then Whateley started off by doing a segment on the bloody Taylor Swift concert he went to last night. Ffs.
Hutchy probably paid $1M to Swift Inc for Gerard to commentate on it. Audience of 6 listeners in another SEN/Hutchy epic fail.

I thought I’d start tuning into SEN again now that the footy is almost back, and then Whateley started off by doing a segment on the bloody Taylor Swift concert he went to last night. Ffs.
As a Geelong fan, I imagine his least favourite TS album is 1989.

******* lol. Are you really gonna out yourself as someone who objects to anti-Nazi content?
that's your takeway? :rolleyes:

i'm saying posters should stop posting political shite on here. it's got nothing to do with anything footy. the poster has gone out of their way to find a nazi and post their content, it's pathetic.

shall i go on the look out for someone who supports bashing women and denounce them on here too? it's self righteous w***ery.

that's your takeway? :rolleyes:

i'm saying posters should stop posting political shite on here. it's got nothing to do with anything footy. the poster has gone out of their way to find a nazi and post their content, it's pathetic.

shall i go on the look out for someone who supports bashing women and denounce them on here too? it's self righteous w***ery.
I hate to break it to you but we're a football club. We operate essentially as a charity in this country with a huge part of the Government largesse contingent upon being a positive contribution to the community. If you don't like that fine, but it's just good business and good business is what puts money in the bank to hopefully actually win more than 2 games of football per year.

If we play our cards right maybe we can actually have something resembling a full home season of games in Melbourne as well. Personally I don't care what amount of wishes and rainbows we have to spruik to make that happen.

Yeah but they removed it due to the young ones not getting it
The Young Ones Sobriety GIF

I always say it is the best game I have ever seen despite the loss.

Defending was terrible by both sides, but from a goal scoring endeavour it was entertaining.

Best game I’ve ever seen, so good it is the only time I genuinely didn’t mind losing to a better team on the day, even them.
Just one of about 3 or 4 games against "them" from the Pagan/Sheedy era that could be considered an all-time great game, and as much as I hate "them", I looked forward to playing "them" more than any other club.

Is there any chance that the AFL brings forward the start of the season by a few weeks?
I have a sudden longing for the mad reactions to one game of footy after reading the last few pages. Even for the strange anointing of new champions after a few good bits of play. Plus all the amusing and strange tangents like: Does Paul Curtis’ lack of a right foot have something to do with the Fall of Constantinople?

I remember when I used to see this thread at the top of the list and think ‘goody, Giant Roo has posted another gem’.
I don’t think that now 😢
Couldn't agree more. In fact you could say the same for 80% of all our threads nowadays.

Back on the commentary and media topic, I saw Maffew Lloyd go into Arden Street yesterday ... and then lo and behold he ran a sympathetic story urging the AFL not make Tarryn anotyher "lost to footy" case like Harley Bennell.

Tom Morris was also there and he ran the story about 18 match suspension.

Certainly a concerted and coordinated media offensive coming out of Arden Street yesterday.

I would be fairly disappointed in the club if they attempt to go on the offensive on this topic.

Yes, the full details aren't public yet. But anyone with hooks into the club has heard enough to know that we have given Tarryn multiple 'last chances' and he has continued to squander them.